OpenRice Index
  
This is jasline92 .
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review161 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity546 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos287 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲63 Follower(s)
jasline92  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 161 Reviews in Singapore
Tea Special Smile Jan 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

My mom and I for a late lunch to MOF the other day as i wanted to try their member's lunch menu but the waitress told me that promotion was over! ): BUT! she told us they have a tea special for students/members/senior citizens(?)! So there's 30% off of all set menu and ala carte items! YAY!

I got a free green tea for flashing my member's card:

 
Tea is left to remain hot on a little stove when a small candle holder at the bottom. I like the tea was it becomes very dense after awhile and it cleans the taste off so you won't have a breath that's reek of the lunch you just ate.

As we were there at an unearthly lunch hour, the restaurant was pretty quiet and there was only 1 waitress working. I guess it's still manageable because most of the people there were either sitting alone or with just 1 other person, sipping their tea and chatting away. Decor of the place was quite simple, minimal jap decorations around. The place is quite big and they have booths as well as individual tables. It is able to manage large crowds as the tables can be easily shifted to make space for bigger groups.

I didn't really like the waitress that day as she was showing an attitude, as though we offended her by being there. My mom was asking about the member's lunch menu and she said they don't have it and told us about the tea special. When we enquired further she gave an exasperated sigh and said "i told you already" blahblahblah. Plus, she just gave this face :l the whole time. So annoying!

So anyway, after much deliberation over what to eat as the menu was SOOOOOO thick and filled with goodies, I ordered the seafood curry udon:

 
It was piping hot when she served it! I like it like that. But i'm a bit disappointed as the curry was a bit more spicy than normal. I always thought japanese curry had a certain sweet taste to it, but this just was pure spicy. Ingredients in it included prawns, squid, carrots, onions and spring onions. The udon was thick and nice, i was happily slurping up all the strands of it! Prawn was crunchy, the way i like it. I felt that they could've given more carrots as i thought it was too little. The only qualm i have about this dish is that the chef had made it to spicy, not sure if it's to cater to us singaporeans, who like most of our dishes spicy. I thought that they should preserve the authentic jap taste. I wouldn't say it's exceptional as I think this curry might have been from those curry boxes that can be purchased at the supermarket. Yet, I must say it's still quite well done.
Seafood curry udon - $13.60 - 30% = $9.52! (even cheaper than the members' lunch menu that i was enquiring about!)

Tip: Member's gets discount off of some items and there are daily set menu for them. Also get to enjoy rebates and many other privileges! smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  seafood curry udon
 
Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious! Smile Jan 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

Went for lunch with a couple of friends to this japanese eatery as it was the first one along the Tokyo Walker (few japanese stores next to each other. You can order from one store and bring it to the other!) and we were really hungry! Got attracted into the store by the tantalizing set menu that they were advertising outside the store. The tables were lined in such a way that it felt a little cramp if given the normal tables instead of the booth, but the environment was still quite good as the interior had some japanese related drawings and paintings.

 
I ordered the tofu burger set - $8.90 (?). It was soooooo yummy! The omu rice made me feel like i was in a korean (rooftop prince) drama (i know it's not jap, but i love it!!!!)! It was not the normal white rice but the rice was mixed with tomato which gave it a stronger taste. Coupled with the tofu burger (tofu + beef), it was a match made in heaven! I love it!! Plus, the egg omelette was a little runny and not overcooked! PERFECTION! lollollolThe fries that was given was ok, nothing special. But it was piping hot! Fresh out of the frying stove (plus point!).
I felt the broccoli and tomato was only for aesthetic purposes.
Soup served along was minestrone soup, a bit too sour for me but it was still delicious! There were huge chunks of carrots and onions floating around!

The whole set was very worthwhile of the cost.
Plus, the service was quite good as well. Although some of them do not know english very well, they try their best to explain and understand what we were asking. Service was also very prompt and they served water without us asking! (free-of-charge!)

I will definitely come back and try the other items as i heard that they are more well-know for the ramen!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  tofu burger set meal
 
Date of Visit: Dec 14, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Flavourful food! Smile Jan 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Restaurant | Seafood | Kids-Friendly

I had lunch here when it wasn't really a lunch period so the restaurant was quite empty. There was only 2 other tables occupied throughout the entire time i was there.

The exterior looked pretty grand for a place in orchard central, the interior was however, very simple and neat. Just chairs and tables around in an orderly fashion. A little disappointing as I was expecting it to have a more Indonesia decor feel.

Upon entering the restaurant, the food can be seen presented like the "cai fan" store (economical rice store), with the dishes laid out and one can just point and order whatever you want. We got seated quickly and went off to order the food, literally just pointing and asking for the food. haha! Hawker concept in restaurant setting!

As it was not the lunch hour, our food was served pretty quickly. Also, the dishes weren't cold (unlike some cai fan stores, after lunch hour the food starts to turn cold). Anyhow, the staff were also very prompt in service (but maybe because it felt like there were more waiters/waitresses than customers). One of the staff kept pushing us to order the drinks too! (Dont like this ): ), but i guess it may be because she felt that the food may be too spicy for us (told her when ordering that i cant take extremely spicy food!) So, i guess, customer service? lol.

Onto the food!

We ordered
1. Sambal udang petai (praws and exotic beans in sambal) - $9.50

I like the prawns! It was very crunchy. The sambal was kind of overwhelming for me. Low threshold for spice ): Luckily, the rice they serve was there to buffer the spiciness.

2. Sambal terong (eggplants in sambal & anchovies) - $7

My love for eggplants didn't die here! yay! I like the squishy, melt in mouth kind of eggplants, and it was perfect for me! However, there was no anchovies taste at all, neither were there any bits of anchovies. I suspect they grind the anchovies into powder form and the sambal had overpowered the taste of anchovies.

3. Rendang daging sapi (beef redang (or cattle meat rendang) - $8

This was one of the chef's recommendation and i can see why. The beef was soft and tender enough and the flavour of the rendang came out nicely. One of the best beef rendang i've eaten before!! lol

4. Kari Kambing (mutton curry) - $9.50

OK dish. I used the curry for the rice! haha! it was delightful (:

The prawns, eggplant and beef rendang were all chef's recommendation and it was not disappointing at all!

The only gripe i have for this place is that it's a little costly! But if you're willing to pay for good food, this is one of the place to try padang cuisine!
YUMMY!

YUMMY!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sambal prawns,eggplant,beef rendang
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $19

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

simple and easy! Smile Dec 05, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Curries

bowlbowl

The concept of this restaurant is fairly simple. Rice + japanese curry + some main ingredients.
You get to customize the level of spiciness for the curry, ranging from mildly spicy (perfect for kids!) to extreme spicy (5-6 chilli labels)
Also, if you're not a big rice eater, ordering less rice saves you $1! You may also add rice at different price ranges.
Add 2-3 extra ingredients at $2-$4, and they also have the set meal option - salad +/or dessert.

I tried the seafood curry rice and added $2 worth of spinach! I like how the curry is not extremely thick and not too sweet nor spicy. Their seafood had a mix of squid, prawns, clams, scallops which i feel were cooked to perfection! the prawns were quite crunchy!

My friend tried the pork cutlet with rice wrapped in omelette (recommended by the server), and she loves it! I'm not a fan of pork but she claims that the pork cutlet was juicy and rice in omelette was a good addition to the curry! omelette was not too runny or anything.
(NOTE: there's no customization(adding ingredients/rice/etc.) for the rice wrapped in omelette selections)

The service is very good too, refills water promptly and attends to us efficiently when we asked questions!
Btw, the bottle of red things on the table are pickles! (i didn't try it cause i dont like pickles, but i think it should be a nice touch to the curry!)

I would recommend this restaurant if you're looking for something simple and easy!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  seafood curry rice,omelette rice
 
Date of Visit: Dec 04, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Superb Food! Smile Dec 03, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing | Roasted Meat

Service is pretty fast, and most of the stuff that served my family were very courteous and friendly. Furthermore, i like that the setting of the restaurant fits the theme of the restaurant completely.

Food:
They have a selection of healthy food, with a healthy food pyramid label! Very useful for someone who is health conscious.

I especially like the jackfruit chicken (Boxer Chicken?) under the new items. It taste sweet and special!

Order the famous duck if you're making a trip down! Duck is roasted to perfection and the sauce matches it nicely.
For vege, i would recommend the spinach in superior stock. It has wolfberries, garlic and gan bei (scallops?). I feel that the stock is different from other places, nice tinge of sweetness and it's not very salty too.

Take note that the chrysanthemum tea is non-refillable (we mistook the fact the all tea will be free flow), only the pu er and zhong guo cha is refillable.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Spinach with Superior Stock,Ten Herbs Roasted Duck
 
Date of Visit: Dec 02, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $14(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0