OpenRice Index
  
This is jasline92 .
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review161 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity548 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos287 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲63 Follower(s)
jasline92  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 161 Reviews in Singapore
Delicious! Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Headed down to the prawn noodles as i was visiting my cousin whose workplace was close by.
Parking was not that troublesome as we were pretty lucky that day! Got a packing spot the moment we arrive!
Prior to that, we were going around the area looking for the stall as the surrounding land seem to be undergoing some major renovation and we thought the place has moved away as it looked like a ghost town.

Firstly, let me introduce the prices of the different dishes they offer.
Signature dish: Big Prawn Noodle - $4, $5, $7
Abalone Clam Prawn Noodle - $5, $7, $8
Pork Ribs Prawn Noodle - $5, $7, $7
Misc: Handmade Fish Cake - $1.20 ea., Extra noodles/ fried onions - $0.50, Extra Soup - $1, Packet of cut chilies - $0.20
All the prices were laid out clearly around the stall front.

Waiting time was not very long, less than 5 minutes. We stood infront of the stall for awhile and they called us over (was given the LED disc thing also).
Environment was pretty breezy and it was a nice place to chill although most patrons were office workers and tend to eat and go quickly.
The cleaners were quite efficient as well, clearing the leftover dishes almost immediately after someone leaves.

Food! :

 
Big Prawn Noodle - $4
Soup - Light and flavorful! The prawn taste was very rich and the fried onions which were soaked inside enriched the taste.
Noodle - I ordered the thick bee hoon. Every strand of the noodle was very distinct but soft at the same time.
Prawns - Fresh and juicy! I like to suck the stuff out from the head (cholesterol and saturated fats - unhealthy!! oops) so i'm glad they left the head on. It was pretty easy to peel too, due to the freshness of the prawn, so the shell doesn't stick to the meat.

 
The fish cake was cut into roughly 3-4 pieces if i'm not wrong, pretty big pieces. It was very bouncy and the skin was nice too. Although it turned cold very quickly and was not that hot to start with.

 
My cousin ordered the dry prawn noodles with pork ribs. I think i prefer the dry noodles instead as it was more flavourful! She added chili to hers, making it more delicious! And i felt that there was more soup given since it was separated. The pork ribs were soft, and there was also some soft bones in some parts of it.

Lastly, there was a container of dry chili flakes on the table (can see in the 2nd pic). I added the chili flakes to my bowl of soup and it didn't even taste any different. The chili itself didn't taste spicy at all! I wonder what they use to make it.
Tip: If you really need the extra kick, i suggest that you ask the stall owners to add chili to your noodles instead!

Overall, I think this is one of the best prawn noodles around and i hope they don't close down even though her neighbors probably moved away!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  dry big prawn noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

3rd time lucky! Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

Ventured to causeway point the other day and decided to drop by this paradise dynasty 2 branch! The waiting time was a little bit longer as perhaps causeway point was a bigger place and there were more people, especially since it was a sunday.

Food ordered:

 
Radish Pastry (3 pieces) - $4.80

A must try everytime i come to paradise dynasty! (: I love how this pastry is made, soft and hot on the inside and crispy on the outside. Luckily for me, nothing went wrong this time! So i was able to enjoy this dish! (: I went to a restaurant elsewhere to other time and learnt that this pastry is difficult to make as they have to do it on the spot, making the waiting time longer (and some customers can't wait that time). The skin has to be very crispy and there were many different layers, so it's a very tedious dish to make. BUT YAY!! I get to eat it this time!

 
Ma Po Tofu - $9.00

The Ma Po tofu wasn't that spicy even though there were many chili bits in it. Tofu was cut up in uniform sizes and it was soft and bouncy. Nice to sink your teeth into. The portion of minced meat was very generous too. Pretty good dish.

 
Sauteed Australian Lettuce - $11.80

Funny how this vegetable is so expensive for a few strands! My mom wanted to order this for us to try as it was suppose to have a tinge of bitterness. But it didn't at all. It was quite sweet in fact, although i felt it was a little oily. ):

Overall, the dishes were pretty good! I enjoyed this branch a lot as the waiters were not so vocal, so they dont shout at the top of their voices everytime a customer comes in, keeping it relatively peaceful.
Service was very fast as usual and dishes were served very promptly not long after we ordered (other than the pastry, which was understandable)

Tip: Go to the restaurant earlier so that you don't have to wait very long for a table as it gets pretty busy during peak hours.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Radish pastry
 
Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Back here again!  Smile Jan 25, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

2nd trip here!
This time, for a simple meal.

Food ordered:

 
Japanese Cucumber in Garlic - $4.80

Started with this appetizer. The japanese cucumber was crunchy and the garlic and salt with the cucumber was a very good complement. I like this dish as it was refreshing and it's quite appetizing. They were very generous in the amount of garlic they added, thus making the dish very delicious. Price was a little steep for this simple dish though.

 
Steamed Sliced Fish with Black Fungus - $14.80

Simple and healthy dish. The fish, like previous time, was very smooth and soft. They was a coating of starch(?) making it very different from other fish. The black fungus was not too bad, crunchy, although they gave very little of it. Small ginger slices were added to the cooking, which gets rid of the fishy smell.

 
Sautéed Spinach with Minced Garlic - $10.80

I love spinach! So i can't find any fault with this dish. I think that out of the few vegetable dishes they have, this one looks like they gave the most as it comes in a bunch instead of a few strands. As usual, the garlic added to the dish makes it very aromatic.

I like this place for it's ambience. This time round, the restaurant was not as crowded so it was more quiet as compared to the last time.
However, i didn't like that they quite asking if we wanted to order drinks. (plain water and tea was $1 each, so expensive!)

Overall, this is a good dining place for a quick lunch as the food is served pretty fast and the abundance of staff makes the service really fast too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  japanese cucumber
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food for the Sick Soul Smile Jan 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

I was under the weather the other day and decided to walk over to the nearest source of food from my house - wang cafe.
I saw their menu before and was intrigued by the chicken macaroni as i always thought that this place was more well-known for their toast, coffee, tea and some local favourites (laksa, etc.), but macaroni had a western feel for me.

Ordered the chicken macaroni to go as i didn't want to spread my germs around the eatery.
Service was quite fast but i felt that the staff were more like in their own world, chatting away so loudly and didn't even bother serving me properly. sad

 
Chicken macaroni soup - $3.90
Macaroni was soft and easily broken down, perfect for someone who is sick and doesn't feel like moving a.k.a me. There were some bean-sprouts inside, felt it was juicy, although it was thin and long. Chicken was also very soft and tender. I think this dish is quite appropriate for the sick as the soup isn't laden with oil but was still palatable. I would like to add that there were quite a lot of bean sprouts and green garnishes; v. healthy!

Recommended for those who want a simple meal (and the sick - comfort food!) smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken macaroni soup
 
Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Cool Curry Smile Jan 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Food Court

Oops, ate halfway before i realized i forgot to take a snapshot! tongue

 
Fu Xiang is the first stall you'll see once you come up the escalator which leads directly to food junction. There's always a queue at the stall due to their aromatic curry smell. Once you reach that floor, the curry smell will hit you before you know it, hence the long queue!
They serve it pretty fast and there's a few to choose from. But the one that is the most popular is the curry chicken rice set (shown above)
Curry was extremely thick so i guess they used a very large amount of coconut milk in it. (TIME TO HIT THE GYM!). It taste really good when mixed together with the rice. The chicken was very soft and tender; i was given a drumstick and 2 other pieces of meat. There's also 1 or 2 pieces of potato in it. The chicken will be covered in the thick coating of curry gravy, making it really delicious.
The soup which was served with it felt a little bland to me and it was cold after awhile, didn't really enjoy it.

I love this dish! But I think we should only eat it once it awhile so that our cholesterol level doesn't go shooting through the roof!
There are other less fattening items on the menu such as the mushroom chicken rice set, will try it next time!
 
Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0