OpenRice Index
  
This is jasline92 .
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review161 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2129 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos287 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲63 Follower(s)
jasline92  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 86 to 90 of 161 Reviews in Singapore
POOF Smile Jun 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Rice | Kids-Friendly

My lovely mother braved the haze to packet lim seng lee's duck rice for the family today! (:
I'm guessing that due to the haze, many chose their health over trying out food which they may never get to try ever again after it closes tomorrow. There were only 2 people queuing before my mom when she went to queue at the line for takeaway.The restaurant was also not extremely packed as some other reviewers' photos had shown. There was still some parking problem due to the secluded area where the shop resides.

Onto the food!

 
Like many had said, the duck was indeed very soft but it was not really to my liking as maybe I'm too used to the normal texture of duck meat and prefer that now? Nonetheless, the thick gravy that was generously given by the uncle was really delicious!!! There was a strong taste of herbs that immediately hits you and makes you crave for more as it feels really homely (i kept one more packet to add to my rice later on! HAHA!)
Sad to say, I felt that the amount of meat was too little for an amount of $20. My parents also mentioned that for the price, one would usually get more meat. My mom also told us that uncle Lim just roughly grabbed a chuck of meat from his pre-cut stack of duck meat pile so as to serve his customers quickly. Granted his 45 years of experience and maybe as it's boneless meat, half a duck looks way lesser than normal.

 
Surprisingly, I really like this combination of tofu and taupok! It was a unique mix that I have never seen before and I must say it matched really well! Not sure if it's due to my love for tofu and taupok but I really like it! It cost $6 and was a hit with the family! The sauce was not extremely starchy and was consistent enough as some was absorbed by the taupok itself.

I would most likely drop by (not that i can anymore ):, but on hindsight) to the store as it's not too out of the way for me. Also, I realized that we should have visited the stall before the closing date was reported in the newspaper which caused many to swarm to the place. Perhaps the quality might have suffered a little as the human traffic volume was too high to handle.
Regardless, I'm really glad to have tried this popular eatery before it closes. Now, we need to find another braised duck stall to match up with uncle Lim's cooking!

[food was transferred to our own bowls, hence it's not in the styrofoam box]
 
Recommended Dish(es):  tofu and taupok
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Gem Smile Jan 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup | Claypot Rice

YAY! So glad to discover this hawker centre @ buona vista!

I went there around 12-1pm on a saturday afternoon for lunch and lucky for my group of friends and I, we didn't have to wait that long as the waiting time had stated to.
The signboard said that during off peak hour, waiting time is 20-30mins while during peak hour, it's 45-90 mins! So be prepared to wait for this good food!
Claypot rice is sold at 4 different prices - $10 for 2 person, $15 for 3, $20 for 4 and $25 for 5. Extra ingredients will be charged at a minimum of $5. They have 3 different types of claypot rice: Claypot wu wei rice, Claypot chinese sausage rice and claypot chicken rice.
They also sell a wide array of soup (eg. black chicken soup) and vegetables (i think they only have xiao bai cai in oyster sauce). The store situated at a corner of the hawker centre, near a public toilet. It's land space is quite huge so they have a few stoves for cooking. On the right side of the store, they also sell some ducks, and also the innards/intestines/parts of the duck.

Onto the food!
We ordered: 1 claypot wu wei rice, 1 claypot chicken rice and 1 vege in oyster sauce ($25 for 5 pax)
Claypot wu wei rice had chinese sausages, chicken and some black stuff, which i can't identify (think it's some part of the duck)
I love the guo ba (bottom of the claypot rice)! It doesn't get charred very quickly so it's not black and still edible without sticking to your teeth! They also have black sauce and sesame oil at the side for you to add in, to enrich the flavor of the dishes! Most of the chicken were those without bones but a few of it had, it was relatively easy to eat! The rice also had a certain kind of sauce, not sure what it is, but it makes the rice smell really fragrant!

The claypot chicken rice is basically chicken rice with the clay pot, similar to the wu wei claypot rice, just without the other stuff (chinese sausage and black stuff)

The vege was a little bit too oily for my liking, but nonetheless, it was a complement to the rice and chicken!

I like that this store retain the traditional way of cooking over the charcoal, which brings out a certain flavor that seems to be missing in food nowadays! bowl
 
Recommended Dish(es):  claypot chicken rice
 
Date of Visit: Jan 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

2nd time here OK Jan 25, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

I realize that business at this stall is very good. There always seem to have a queue of 4-5 people every time i'm there. People in choa chu kang are very health conscious!
lol

 
Ordered 6 pieces - $2.70 (O.P $3, 30cents discount for ntuc card holders)
Chose ladyfingers, cabbage, crabmeat, fried tofu (they dont have the non-fried ones), fish cake and tau pok.

Soup was light and delicious as usual. Less favourful, maybe because of the items i chose. The fried tofu was a little over-fried and the skin was difficult to chew off. Cabbage was cooked nicely, the soft kind that i like. Ladyfingers were a bit old, and difficult to chew. The rest of the items were okay.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cabbage
 
Date of Visit: Jan 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Watercress Soup OK Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Food Court | Chinese Soup

 
Soup of the day: Watercress Soup

I think the soup of the day is actually soup of the everyday as it seems to be there every time i visit Foodfare. They might have forgotten to add it into the menu and didn't want to reprint it.

Soup was pretty good. Very flavourful. And it was very hot when they served it, since it seems to be brewing away constantly. They were generous amount of the peanut-looking thing and watercress and also a few pieces of pork ribs.

As it was chinese new year period, they will give hongbao packs for every $3.50 (can't remember) spent!
Delicious! (:
 
Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

(: Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

Craving for teh tarik satisfied! (:

 
The teh tarik was made traditionally with the pulling action; leaving it with a nice amount of froth at the top.
I like this teh tarik as it had a rich aromatic flavor and the sweetness was just nice.
It was a nice cup of teh to drink on a cool day.

 
Teh Halia (Ginger tea)
I couldn't really taste any ginger at all; and it tasted like the teh tarik. LOL. I think the uncle might have forgot my order. Oh well!

Both were nice cups of drinks to have on a breezy day (:
 
Recommended Dish(es):  teh tarik
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0