OpenRice Index
  
This is jasline92 .
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review161 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2125 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos287 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲63 Follower(s)
jasline92  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 91 to 95 of 161 Reviews in Singapore
Soy Sweet! OK Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

Walked around this huge hawker centre around noon time and it was so deserted! ): I wonder where everyone went!
Chanced upon this vegetarian soya bean stall and decided to try it!

I'm not sure why they classify themselves as vegetarian but I felt that the soybean curd was no different from other bean curd. Except that this was really really extremely sweet! Theirs is the pudding form (like many other soybean curd that was sucked into this frenzy). Personally, i prefer the traditional ones. But this one kind of melts in my mouth.

 

 
Drink was pretty much the same taste since it's made from the same thing. It wasn't as sweet as the bean curd though (luckily.)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  bean curd
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious! Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Headed down to the prawn noodles as i was visiting my cousin whose workplace was close by.
Parking was not that troublesome as we were pretty lucky that day! Got a packing spot the moment we arrive!
Prior to that, we were going around the area looking for the stall as the surrounding land seem to be undergoing some major renovation and we thought the place has moved away as it looked like a ghost town.

Firstly, let me introduce the prices of the different dishes they offer.
Signature dish: Big Prawn Noodle - $4, $5, $7
Abalone Clam Prawn Noodle - $5, $7, $8
Pork Ribs Prawn Noodle - $5, $7, $7
Misc: Handmade Fish Cake - $1.20 ea., Extra noodles/ fried onions - $0.50, Extra Soup - $1, Packet of cut chilies - $0.20
All the prices were laid out clearly around the stall front.

Waiting time was not very long, less than 5 minutes. We stood infront of the stall for awhile and they called us over (was given the LED disc thing also).
Environment was pretty breezy and it was a nice place to chill although most patrons were office workers and tend to eat and go quickly.
The cleaners were quite efficient as well, clearing the leftover dishes almost immediately after someone leaves.

Food! :

 
Big Prawn Noodle - $4
Soup - Light and flavorful! The prawn taste was very rich and the fried onions which were soaked inside enriched the taste.
Noodle - I ordered the thick bee hoon. Every strand of the noodle was very distinct but soft at the same time.
Prawns - Fresh and juicy! I like to suck the stuff out from the head (cholesterol and saturated fats - unhealthy!! oops) so i'm glad they left the head on. It was pretty easy to peel too, due to the freshness of the prawn, so the shell doesn't stick to the meat.

 
The fish cake was cut into roughly 3-4 pieces if i'm not wrong, pretty big pieces. It was very bouncy and the skin was nice too. Although it turned cold very quickly and was not that hot to start with.

 
My cousin ordered the dry prawn noodles with pork ribs. I think i prefer the dry noodles instead as it was more flavourful! She added chili to hers, making it more delicious! And i felt that there was more soup given since it was separated. The pork ribs were soft, and there was also some soft bones in some parts of it.

Lastly, there was a container of dry chili flakes on the table (can see in the 2nd pic). I added the chili flakes to my bowl of soup and it didn't even taste any different. The chili itself didn't taste spicy at all! I wonder what they use to make it.
Tip: If you really need the extra kick, i suggest that you ask the stall owners to add chili to your noodles instead!

Overall, I think this is one of the best prawn noodles around and i hope they don't close down even though her neighbors probably moved away!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  dry big prawn noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

3rd time lucky! Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

Ventured to causeway point the other day and decided to drop by this paradise dynasty 2 branch! The waiting time was a little bit longer as perhaps causeway point was a bigger place and there were more people, especially since it was a sunday.

Food ordered:

 
Radish Pastry (3 pieces) - $4.80

A must try everytime i come to paradise dynasty! (: I love how this pastry is made, soft and hot on the inside and crispy on the outside. Luckily for me, nothing went wrong this time! So i was able to enjoy this dish! (: I went to a restaurant elsewhere to other time and learnt that this pastry is difficult to make as they have to do it on the spot, making the waiting time longer (and some customers can't wait that time). The skin has to be very crispy and there were many different layers, so it's a very tedious dish to make. BUT YAY!! I get to eat it this time!

 
Ma Po Tofu - $9.00

The Ma Po tofu wasn't that spicy even though there were many chili bits in it. Tofu was cut up in uniform sizes and it was soft and bouncy. Nice to sink your teeth into. The portion of minced meat was very generous too. Pretty good dish.

 
Sauteed Australian Lettuce - $11.80

Funny how this vegetable is so expensive for a few strands! My mom wanted to order this for us to try as it was suppose to have a tinge of bitterness. But it didn't at all. It was quite sweet in fact, although i felt it was a little oily. ):

Overall, the dishes were pretty good! I enjoyed this branch a lot as the waiters were not so vocal, so they dont shout at the top of their voices everytime a customer comes in, keeping it relatively peaceful.
Service was very fast as usual and dishes were served very promptly not long after we ordered (other than the pastry, which was understandable)

Tip: Go to the restaurant earlier so that you don't have to wait very long for a table as it gets pretty busy during peak hours.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Radish pastry
 
Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Back here again!  Smile Jan 25, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles

2nd trip here!
This time, for a simple meal.

Food ordered:

 
Japanese Cucumber in Garlic - $4.80

Started with this appetizer. The japanese cucumber was crunchy and the garlic and salt with the cucumber was a very good complement. I like this dish as it was refreshing and it's quite appetizing. They were very generous in the amount of garlic they added, thus making the dish very delicious. Price was a little steep for this simple dish though.

 
Steamed Sliced Fish with Black Fungus - $14.80

Simple and healthy dish. The fish, like previous time, was very smooth and soft. They was a coating of starch(?) making it very different from other fish. The black fungus was not too bad, crunchy, although they gave very little of it. Small ginger slices were added to the cooking, which gets rid of the fishy smell.

 
Sautéed Spinach with Minced Garlic - $10.80

I love spinach! So i can't find any fault with this dish. I think that out of the few vegetable dishes they have, this one looks like they gave the most as it comes in a bunch instead of a few strands. As usual, the garlic added to the dish makes it very aromatic.

I like this place for it's ambience. This time round, the restaurant was not as crowded so it was more quiet as compared to the last time.
However, i didn't like that they quite asking if we wanted to order drinks. (plain water and tea was $1 each, so expensive!)

Overall, this is a good dining place for a quick lunch as the food is served pretty fast and the abundance of staff makes the service really fast too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  japanese cucumber
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not too shabby Smile Jan 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

 
Fresh Fish XO Bee Hoon
(Added milk + XO)

The Foodclique at Ngee Ann Polytechnic serves cheap and good food! One of which is the fish bee hoon. Healthy choice for the health conscious!
I tried the fresh fish one although the rumor was that the fried fish one taste nicer. Fresh fish taste quite good, although frozen, it was pretty fresh and there wasn't any fishy smell.
The bee hoon was very slippery! I think they added something to make it very smooth.

I love the soup! The XO and milk gave the soup a good kick to the taste buds!

Dish was served quite fast although the store was only manned by one uncle and he does everything from cooking to collecting the money. The cash drawer never closes. lol

Environment was peaceful if it wasn't the lunch hours and the poly kids are having classes. Cleaners were also very quick in clearing the leftover trays.

If you're close by, this will be a good store to try from. Furthermore, the uncle at the store was indeed very friendly (as the previous reviewer mentioned), he'll definitely perk you up if you're having a bad day!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  fresh fish bee hoon
 
Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0