OpenRice Index
  
Choo Yao Chuen
This is Choo Yao Chuen living in Holland. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity91 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos5 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow12 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
Choo Yao Chuen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
Best prawn noodles in Singapore Smile Nov 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Was introduced to this place after a morning run at ECP with friends.

As I was already hungry, I went for the Large pork rib prawn soup noodle which goes at $10 per bowl. Quite expensive for prawn noodles but they were generous with the fresh prawns (BIG) and ribs.

Honestly, the first bite blew me away. This was simply the best prawn noodles I've had. The broth was simply awesome, rich in prawn fragrant taste. The broth is so good, everything else from the noodles to the prawns and ribs didn't matter. Every moutful taste soooo good, I finished everything in quick time, including the broth, to the last drop.

I'm definitely coming back again.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Soup | Noodles

I have never written a review for  hawker stalls but this one stands out so strongly that I just have to write something for it. 

The stall was introduced by a friend who brought me there himself. I eat a lot of fish head bee hoon but not the ones with XO but tried it anyway on the advice of my friend. Instantly fell in love with everything about the XO fish head bee hoon here.

The bee hoon is of the thicker type and of the right texture. The soup is cooked with evaporated milk and XO, just the right balance making it very tasty and not overly overpowered by alcohol. Might be salty to some but I thought it was OK. I opted for fish meat instead of head for my first try. The fish were thinly sliced and fresh. Definitely one of the best fish head bee hoon I've tasted.

Highly recommended. 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Hawker Centre | Chicken Rice

This is simply the best chicken rice you can find in Singapore.

What makes it so special? A winning combination of all factors central to making a good chicken rice:
i) meat
The chicken is most tender and well cooked (reference to the steam chicken). The special mixture of oyster sauce and sesame oil adds extra kick to the tastiness of the meat.  
ii) rice
Rice is also the most fragrant you can find in town. Soft, little sticky and smells (and taste) so good.
iii) chilli sauce
I don't normally take spicy food but whenever I'm at Tian Tian, I flood my chicken rice with the chilli sauce. Not overly spicy and just the right level of sweetness.

I always have my chicken rice with the baby "kai lan"; also another winner here. Steamed to perfection and garnished with perfect blend of oyster sauce (again).

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Unique dinning experience OK Sep 26, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Buffet | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

Headed over to Bugis+ after work with colleagues. So  many BBQ buffet here at Bugis+ and we settled for RockU because the place looks interesting from outside i.e. dark and romantic.

Honestly for the price i.e. close to SGD40/pax, we were quite disappointed as the spread was quite limited. Food quality was average and so was the service. Overall, we did enjoy ourselves due the the dinning experience.
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2021 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Chinese BBQ Smile Sep 20, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : BBQ | Kids-Friendly

One of the more popular Chinese BBQ in town and there's a simple reason for it: Its the BEST!

I can't have enough of the wings (comes in few flavours and all are good) and lamb. Everything is good and you can choose your level of spiciness. I would also recommend the sweet potato but leave out the mala fish.
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2021 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0