OpenRice Index
  
Choo Yao Chuen
This is Choo Yao Chuen living in Holland. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity91 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos5 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow12 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
Choo Yao Chuen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
Value for $Money$ Smile Aug 22, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Seafood | Buffet | Mookata

Me and three of my vaccinated friends wanted buffet on a Friday, after a long week and we decided on Thai mookata. Where else except Golden Mile and we were on our way.To our surprise, the place was quite busy with people. Safe-distancing ambassadors were in sight so that gave us added comfort. 
Selection of good was served as ordered. Food is fresh and location of Ninja is in the main foyer so it gives the feeling of outdoor dinning minus the humidity.  Spread of food is good with my favourite crayfish. Red meat such as pork aand beef were well marinated and delicious. Although dinning was allowed for 2 hours, they were not time-watchers and we were there beyond the allowed 2 hours, well fed and fully satisfied. 
Highly recommended for mookata buffet.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  n/a
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 20, 2021 

Spending per head: Approximately $29.9(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome place for casual dinning Smile Aug 16, 2021   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western Variety | Café | Pasta | Brunch | Pets Friendly

Canopy is an awesome place for casual dinning. Nestled right in the heart of bishan park, most diners (if not all) are casually dressed and with their dogs. Yes - this place is pet friendly, so be prepared for occasional dog hostilities. Food is a little pricy but ambiance, quality of food and service makes up for it. Menu is limited but this is what you get for a casual dinning place. Red meat dishes are little short given the price so I would recommend to stay away. Burgers are good but my favourite is the chicken parmigiana. Serving is generous with big slab of chicken (breast meat) and rich in cheese. House wines are also great and a good compliment for my favourite dish. Totally at ease here with no time pressure. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken parmigiana
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 09, 2021 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best prawn noodles in Singapore Smile Nov 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Was introduced to this place after a morning run at ECP with friends.

As I was already hungry, I went for the Large pork rib prawn soup noodle which goes at $10 per bowl. Quite expensive for prawn noodles but they were generous with the fresh prawns (BIG) and ribs.

Honestly, the first bite blew me away. This was simply the best prawn noodles I've had. The broth was simply awesome, rich in prawn fragrant taste. The broth is so good, everything else from the noodles to the prawns and ribs didn't matter. Every moutful taste soooo good, I finished everything in quick time, including the broth, to the last drop.

I'm definitely coming back again.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Top Five in Singapore Smile Mar 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chicken Rice

So happened to be visiting my friend in the East and was brought over to Five Star for dinner. Dinner crowd here is quite big but even more queing to "take away". First impression, chicken rice here must be really good.

Ordered the white chicken drumstick for myself. Took a while because of the many customers on the go. Service was OK. When dinner finally arrived at the table, must admit the chicken didn't look as attractive as expected. However, was pleasently surprised at the tenderness and well-cooked chicken. They use "kampong" chicken but the drumstick was quite big. Meat was lean and tender, cooked to perfection. The rice was also very good; fragrant and not sticky.

Really enjoyed the meal and would ranked it amongst the top 5 chicken rice in Singapore. Only setback was that it is pricey, more expensive than the other restaurants. 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best dessert cafe in the East Smile Mar 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Kids-Friendly

Was having dinner with friends at I12 Katong and we decided to head over to Old Skool as my friends had already been to the place before.

It was my first time and I have become a fan of this place. I had the mango snowflakes while my friends went for the durian. The snowflakes here are simply awesome; the best I've had in Singapore. The ice is sliced very finely and it is really smooth. Topped up with generous servings of fresh mango fruits, really enjoyed it. The durian snowflake was equally good. 

Ambiance is cozy and not overcrowded. Price is also competitive.

Can't wait to be back again to try out their other desserts. Highly recommended.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0