OpenRice Index
  
janekoh19
This is janekoh19 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity120 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos30 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant21 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
janekoh19  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
AOne Claypot House OK Mar 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Porridge/Congee

It always smells so good when I walk pass the outlet at Chinatown Point. The smell isn't as strong as nex. 

Came here for dinner on a weekend and there was no queue. When seated, we were served braised peanuts and given wet tissues. We told them we didn't need it as they were chargeable (and we really didn't need them). 

We ordered rice and three dishes to share among the four of us. The food was served promptly. I'm not sure if they really cook the food in claypot or simply use it as a serving vessel.

Anyway, the sesame oil chicken was pretty yummy, but the other two dishes (premium claypot and spinach soup with meatball) are mediocre. I don't think they are worth the price we paid. You can get food as good or even better at regular tze char place. Wouldn't come here again unless I have vouchers.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $17.5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Late Lunch Smile Feb 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

We were here during tea time on a weekend. There was no queue and we were promptly seated. As we hadn't had lunch, we ordered two mains and a cake to share. 

I'd been wanting to try their burgers because it looked amazing when I saw it on someone's table the previous time I was here. So I finally came again and tried the pulled pork burger!

 
It was served with salad greens on the side. The dressing was simply oil and vinegar which I think was fine. The serving of coleslaw and pulled pork on the burger was generous. I found it pretty good.

We also ordered 3 Amigos, pasta served with meatballs, pastrami and ham and baked together with stringy mozzarella cheese.

 
It was passable. Pretty plain and fail-proof item in the menu actually.

We shared a cake called Elmer Fudge a.k.a Ugly Cake. Actually I ordered just to see how ugly it was. 

 
I was surprised by the size when we were served. I was expecting something like two third of the size. According to the description, it's a dense mocha cake. However, it was actually quite light and fluffy. It's served warm. You can also order the one that comes with ice cream which I believe would be nice. The cake was not too sweet, but perhaps too large a piece if you're not sharing.

It's a pretty nice place with typical restaurant pricing, having mains costing around $16 on average. Cakes are around $6 to $7 while mudpies are more expensive, priced at around $10. However, water is not served, so if you ordered beverages, you can easily spend $30 per person.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Piggly Wiggly Burger
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $22.60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Izakaya Smile Feb 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Japanese | Bars/Lounges

I was here with a couple of friends on a weekday night after work. 

This is a Japanese-style bar. The menu contains mostly of small plates of food meant for sharing. 

I thought the drawings on the wet tissue gave a nice personal touch. So was the reservations card.

 
Food-wise, though portions were small for the price, they were pretty delicious. In fact, the taste is one of the best among the drinking places. 

You have to try the Katanashi Fried Chicken! It's pricey at $2.40 per piece, but it was so crispy and tender! The batter was a little sweet.

 
Cheese Hanpen is basically deep-fried battered fishcake and cheese. It was delicious too. I also recommend getting the curry menchi, another fried item.

 

 
We ordered shime saba too, and the fish was torched right in front of us.

 
Beef carpaccio was not bad, so was tuna tataki if you like eat raw food.

 

 
I won't recommend the okonomiyaki because it's nothing special. As for the fried udon, I felt that the noodles were too soft for my liking.

I didn't really notice if the bar was noisy or quiet. I guess it was okay. I had a great time with my friends!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hanpen Cheese,KFC,Curry Menchi,Beef Carpaccio
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $43.6(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Latte Cry May 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Bubble Tea

Coffee was bitter and slightly acidic. I think it's not very good and probably over-extracted. The only thing that's interesting is that it's served in a old school coffeeshop mug instead of your typical tall latte glass. But really, I prefer McCafe over this anytime.

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Two Wings Smile May 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Saw a Groupon deal for Two Wings and I decided to try because it was cheap! It's $30 for a festive platter, which usual price is $49.90. It's said that it's good for 5 to 6 pax, but I think 6 pax might be a bit of a stretch.

The festive platter consists of:
1. 6 pcs of Brazillian Full Wings
2. 8 pcs of Buffalo Wings
3. 12 pcs of Mozzarella Cheese Sticks
4. 12 pcs of Chicken Strips
5. Cucumber and Carrot with Special Dip Sauce
6. Special Large Fried Onion Rings
7. Sweet Potato Fries

I made reservations a few days or maybe a week in advance and proceeded to redeem my deal on a weekday night.

Unfortunately, I was told that Buffalo Wings were out of stock and they offered to change to 4 pcs of Brazillian Full Wings. So was the Sweet Potato Fries, which they changed to Cheese Fries. Kinda disappointed about the change, but I didn't have a choice.

I gave my mobile number as they said they would send me an sms when the food is ready. 

Despite most of them being fried food, they were surprisingly not very oily. However, the sides felt too little, especially the cucumber and carrot. Each of us probably only had like 2 strips each. Not impressed with their free fries. Would be interested to try their sweet potato fries since I haven't found one that's really good.

I thought it's a really good deal at $30 since we each paid only $6! I probably would give it a second thought at their regular price.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Dining Offers: Groupon


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0