OpenRice Index
  
gluttonthatshoots
This is gluttonthatshoots living in Clementi. I am a Research, work in Outram. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Outram, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Singaporean, Malaysian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Food Court, Hawker Centre and Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review5 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity79 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos23 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲6 Follower(s)
gluttonthatshoots  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 Reviews in Singapore
Breakfast Menu @ Harry's  Smile Apr 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Live Sports Broadcast

Harry’s recently launched their breakfast menu. More known for their bar grub and drinks , the good folks at Harrys are expanding their repertoire to focus more on their food menu and their breakfast menu is one of their new offerings . Taking into account their strategic location near the Central Business District (CBD) , the breakfast menu is aimed at the discerning office executive that wants more than his or her usual kaya toast , soft boil eggs and kopi o at their local kopitiam. Available from 8am to 10.30am daily at the Boat Quay outlet, it is suited for hungry executives working in the nearby Raffles Place area. They have dine in options as well as takeaway options for those in a rush. The al fresco area outside the restaurant overlooking the picturesque Singapore river is perfect for to relax while having a power breakfast to fuel the body. If you are not working in the area , fret not , Harry’s is open on weekends too . For those who like to cafe hop , why not avoid the usual crowded cafes and give Harry’s a go . Quiet and relaxing , perfect place for breakfast followed by some reading.

 
Boat Quay in the morning is really a far cry from the hip and happening watering hole it is during the night-time. Thanks to the good folks at OpenRice , I had the chance to taste Harry’s Breakfast menu on an idyllic Saturday morning. Offering modern European fare , Harry’s breakfast menu consist of the usual breakfast favourites such as eggs , croissants and coffee. What is interesting is that they offer unique interpretations of the usual breakfast fare , some of the interesting offered here include fry ups , marmite soldiers and croissant croque-monsieur. Salivating yet ? Lets move on to their food options .

 
Soft Boiled Eggs & Marmite Soldiers ($7)

 
It comes with 2 perfectly soft-boiled eggs in a little pot and 4 pieces of Marmite toast . The main star of the dish was the marmite fingerling, slices of toast lathered with copious amounts of marmite and topped with savoury cheese . The marmite slices had the very distinct marmite flavour which fans would swoon over . It has a strong umami goodness that went very well with the runny soft-boiled eggs . I found it a little too strong flavoured to my liking but I never like marmite anyways . The friend who loves marmite , absolutely adored this dish . Needless to say , the toast fingers packs a punch , no wonder they are called soldiers . A must order item for all those marmite fans out there.

Fry Up ($12/13)

 
2 versions of the fry ups are offered here , Ham, Bacon and Mushroom Fry Up ( $13 ) and Vegetables Fry Up ( $12 ) . Their fry up is like a cross between an omelette and a sunny side up . A plate of protein packed eggy goodness with bits and pieces of various ingredients scattered around . Two runny sunny side eggs yolks in the middle surrounded by a chockfull of various veges and meats. Instagrammers would totally dig the colours on this dish. Both versions come with 2 pieces of toast to go with the delicious eggs. I felt the vegetable version was the better one of the two dishes . The crunch of the vegetables added extra depth to the dish . The Ham Bacon version was a little too salty for my liking .

Chicken Pot Pie ($12)

 
The pot pie is a comfort food that would appeal to most people . The pot pie served here is top with a crumbly flaky crust and a hearty filling of plump chicken and rich creamy gravy with mushrooms . The creamy gravy was soothing and full of umami goodness . An absolute delight to the tastebuds.

Croissant Croque-Monsieur ($12)

 
Croque-Monsieur is traditionally a grilled ham and cheese sandwich topped with béchamel. Here at Harry’s , instead of a sandwich , a croissant is used . I like croissants and I like grilled ham and cheese sandwiches , what can I say , I totally loved the dish . The crunchy flaky croissant stuffed with savoury ham and cheese was delicious . The added bonus was that the béchamel sauce gave the croissant a subtle sweetness that balanced the savoury buttery croissant underneath elevating the dish from a simple pastry to an epicurean delight . This is the dish to try if you ever popped by Harry’s for breakfast.

Assorted Muffins ($2.90)

 
A variety of muffins was served to us that day . The flavours include Banana Peanut Butter , Raisin Walnut , Raspberry and Oatmeal Apple . Surprisingly, the muffins were better than I expected . They were soft , moist and not too sweet , just how I like my muffins to be. Imagine them to be like those sold at Kenny Roger’s , only much better . The muffins here are freshly baked each day , no wonder they are so moist . Of the bunch , I loved their banana peanut butter muffin. Savoury PB went very well with the sweetness of the banana and the muffin. Truth be told , I like my peanut butter , in fact I could have peanut butter with anything.
Overall, my experience at Harry’s Bar was an enjoyable one . The breakfast menu was pretty decent , albeit a little salty. The portions were huge, good for sharing . In addition , the menu items were relatively cheap considering the location. If you are around the area and starving for a good breakfast , do drop by Harry’s Bar to try out their breakfast menu.

For more details , please visit
https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/breakfast-menu-harrys-bar-boat-quay-singapore-review/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Banana Peanut Butter Muffin,Croissant Croque-Monsieur,Chicken Pot Pie
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Hawker Centre | Ramen | Noodles


A Noodle Story is a hipster hawker stall that sells traditional wanton noodle with a modern Japanese interpretation coined as Singapore style Ramen .The stall is manned by two young enterprising guys . The waiting time was a little longer than your usual hawker fare but you could see the effort the guys put in to prepare your bowl of noodles . The presentation of the bowl of noodles was very good . Served with an oversized woonden spoon, the bowl had a myriad of colours making it look rather appetising. Kudos to them for paying attention to detail .

 
The singapore style ramen was served dry , similar to wanton noodles , accompanied with a small bowl of soup . The bowl of noodles had a lot going for just $5.50 . The toppings consisted of wontons, char su, onsen egg, and a potato wrapped prawn fritter. Additional toppings can purchased separately. 

 
The noodles were like mee kia but with a more springy texture . The thin noodles was tossed in a special dry sauce which packed a savoury punch . Umami ! The wontons were big and had chunks of juicy prawns in it . The Char Su was well executed making it very juicy , pity it lacked more flavour compared to char su you get at ramen joints . I suspect they left out mirin, a type of japanese rice wine essential in Japanese cooking to keep the cost low. The onsen egg or hot spring egg was perfectly done . Hard on the outside and a runny yolk in the inside . The potato prawn fritter was unique , my first time having such a prawn fritter .

 
Overall, the noodles was rather good. The unique bowl of noodles shed a different light on the evergreen wanton noodle. The combination of the springy textures of the noodles with the various toppings made it a rather satisfying meal.

For more please visit :
https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/a-noodle-story-amoy-food-centre-singapore-ramen/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Singapore style ramen
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5.50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordably priced cafe fare Smile Apr 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Brunch

The cafe is situated in the sleepy Pasir Panjang neighbourhood next to Fat Boy’s Burger. The cafe is opened by the good folks from Lola’s cafe thus offering the same good quality food and coffee you have come to expect from Lola’s . They offer a decent menu which includes the perennial favourites such as all day breakfast items and typical cafe fare .The cafe is rather spacious as it took up two shop units . Tables were spread sufficiently far apart so that you can enjoy your meal here without having to rub shoulders with the patrons in the next table .Similar to other cafes , service here is semi-self service . Order at the counter and you will be given a large peg with a number . The staff would then serve the food to you when it is ready .
Table Number

Table Number

 
First up , the Crispy Honey Wings . Served up on a wooden board , there were 4 wings and drumettes. Fried to perfection , the chicken was crisp on the on the outside yet moist and juicy inside. The drizzled with honey and sprinkled with paprika gave the stellar dish an additional boost of flavour . A definitely must order starter , if you visit them .

 
Next up , the mains . The portions served here are on the bigger side . Big eaters, rejoice ! The food here can’t be faulted , each were well executed with quality ingredients. The Ultimate Croissant was a large croissant stuffed with scramble eggs , bacon, cheese and ham . The croissant was delectably flaky, aromatic . It when perfectly with the scrambled eggs , cheese , ham and bacon. A sinful brunch item but boy it was calories well spent .

 
Eggs Atlantic is a version of Eggs Benedict with the addition of smoked salmon . Here, the perfectly poached eggs were served with a generous portion of smoked salmon on a thick slice of toasted brioche . The hollandaise sauce was well executed and the eggs had oozing runny yolks. A truly protein packed and hearty meal . Both mains came with a serving with a side salad dressed with balsamic vinegar . A simple yet refreshing salad that contrasted the rich brunch fare .

 
We ordered a cappuccino .Similar to Lola’s the coffee beans used here are sourced from Dutch Colony Co. The coffee was decent, it was sufficiently robust that was slightly acidic with a nutty hints .

 
Overall , the food served here are pretty good . The prices here are relatively lower compared to other cafes . Definitely worth a visit for those staying in the West .

Visit my blog for more :
https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/on-the-table-pasir-panjang-singapore-cafe/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy Honey Wings,Ultimate Croissant,coffee
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheap and Good Roast Meats  Smile Apr 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Roasted Meat

Rong Liang is a standalone restaurant that specialises in Hong Kong style Roast Meats . The shop tucked away in the West Coast / Clementi West area . It is right behind the West Coast Market and Food Centre . The restaurant is more like an old school kopitiam , no air-conditioning and they have servers that bring you your ordered food .

 
This place is a perennial favourite among the residents nearby . Due to its proximity to NUS , you get a lot of students coming here to get their Roast Meat fix . They have the usual offerings of Roast Duck , Roast Pork , Char Siew and Roast Chicken . Among the bunch of their offerings , their Roast duck is the star here. Roast to perfection , the duck meat is tender , fragrant and not too fatty . The duck meat is not very gamy and most importantly it has very good meat to fat ratio . I dislike my roast duck to be too fatty .

 
Beside the various roast meats , they also offer various steamed soups to go with your meal . They can have up to 10 types of soups on the menu. Wanton noodles are also available , you can order noodles to go with your roast meats .

I frequent this place quite often as I stay nearby . Most of the time , I’ll tapao back as the place can be quite crowded during meal times . I visited the place last Sunday , as it was pretty late in the afternoon , it was not packed and I decided to have my meal there .
I ordered a Roast Duck rice and a bowl of watercress soup . The steam rice is pretty normal , a little dry I would add but the gravy that was ladled over the rice was pretty good . The dark luscious flavourful was both sweet and savoury which made all the difference . The roast duck portion given was pretty decent considering the plate only cost $3 .

 
The watercress soup was served in a little metal bowl . For $2.50 , the soup had a decent amount of ingredients in it . The soup was warm and comforting , something I’ll crave during rainy days.

 
In total I spent $5.50 for this meal. Pretty good value for money I’ll say . Cheap and good. If you’re in the area do drop by to visit them .

For more details please visit
https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/rong-liang-restaurant-roast-duck/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast duck,char siu,roast pork,soups,noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5.50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

Kok Sen is an old school zi char restaurant situated in Keong Saik Road. The restaurant is one of the last remaining old style restaurants in the area as more and more modern F&B outlets set up shop in the up and coming hipster enclave of Keong Saik. The rustic kopitiam does not have air conditioning and their walls are plastered with names of their signature dishes. As there is no air conditioning, the place can be a little humid during the day .
Food found here are relatively affordable and of pretty good standards. Although being a zi char place, a variety of unique dishes can be found here. Signature dishes includes Big Prawn Noodles , Crispy Noodles and Claypot Yong Foo .
Kok Sen's Menu

Kok Sen's Menu

 
Visited them during a weekday lunch, although it was already 1pm, most of the tables were still occupied. When the place is packed even when its late , you know you are gonna get good food here.

 
Pictured here is the Claypot Yong Tau Foo . Assorted pieces of beancurd, eggplant, capsicums stuffed with fish and prawn paste were serving pipping hot in a unique braising sauce that is full of umami goodness . Bold flavours that just works . The texture of the yong tau foo are rather different too compared to the generic yong tau foo that you get at the hawker centres . Here the fish paste texture has more bite to it , firmer. According to the auntie that took our order , the yong tau foo are made in-house and only limited portions are available . So do come early to try this before they ran out .

Visit my blog for more 

https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/kok-sen-restaurant-keong-saik-road-singapore/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Claypot Yong Tau Foo,Crispy Noodles,Big Prawn Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0