OpenRice Index
  
thenicethoughts
This is thenicethoughts .
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review23 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity118 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos351 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲6 Follower(s)
thenicethoughts  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 23 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills

 
Over the recent weeks, I've been seeing pictures of By The Fire's Scotch Eggs taking my Instagram feed by storm, and I couldn't resist missing out on this glorious creation for another day. By The Fire is located at Alibabar Hawker Bar, a coffee shop by day and a bar by night. Its modernly furnished interior exudes the vibe of a new-fashioned Kopitiam, and By The Fire fits right into its facade.

Opened by the former chef of KeyStone (a mod European Restaurant) and his former colleague, the owners at By The Fire offers a delectable range of Western dishes through using Asian ingredients, which is a welcoming change. Unlike most coffee shops, the chef uses bintochan charcoal grills to retain the flavor of their meats better. From 12-3pm daily, there is also a lunch promo going on where you can order a range of pasta for only $7.90 each.

All prices here are in nett.

 
Interior

 
Food Menu

 
Scotch Eggs - $6.90

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw how affordably-priced the food was. It's rare to find dishes priced less than $10 these days and, what's more, something of this calibre. The chefs at By The Fare aced with their own rendition of Scotch eggs. Bounded by minced pork, a breaded crust and the slightly runny texture of the eggs, I must say that this dish came together perfectly. It sat on a bed of raisin coleslaw which I felt was a tad overpowering with its sweetness. Still, a double thumbs up for this one! I would gladly order this again.

 

 

 
BBQ Pork Ribs - $14.90

The Pork Ribs here were served with their signature homemade BBQ sauce which comprised of ingredients such as Oyster Sauce and Chinese Wine. It came with hint of sweetness in its aftertaste that resembles a little to Ranch sauce. As aforementioned, By The Fire uses Bintochan Charcoal, also known as the best charcoal for grilling meat. This technique was first brought about in Japan and dates to a few centuries back. As a result, the pork was slightly charred and it added a nice crisp texture to its meat. A downside was that the meat clung on so hard to the ribs that I had to spend quite a bit of time slicing it off.

The Mac & Cheese was served with creamy cheese sauce and topped off with crispy bacon bits and spring onions which were a delight to my tastebuds.

 
Squid Ink Pasta - $12.90

The Squid Ink pasta was served with 2 freshly grilled Hokkaido Scallops and creamy sea urchin sauce, topped off with Bonito (Shaved Fish) flakes for an extra crunch. The chef was rather generous with the portion of pasta. A pity that the sea urbin cream sauce tasted no different from that of a Carbonara sauce, and it got a little gelat for us after a while.

 
By The Fire also serves other signature dishes such as their Grilled Pork Jowl and Grilled Hanger Steak which I heard are a must-try. Located opposite i12 Katong, you get the pleasure of having such lip-smacking delights in a casual environment without the need to pay a hefty sum, or having to wait more than 15 minutes for each dish to be served.

This humble restaurant should definitely be a place to visit on your check-list!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Food Review: Refuel Cafe Smile Jun 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

 

Atmosphere: 8/10
Price: 8/10

Food: 9/10

Service: 8/10

 
Interior Seating

 

 

 
Drinks Menu

 
Food Menu

We had:

 

 

 
Full Tank - $13.90

(Bratwurst sausage, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, toast, tomatoes, baked beans and sausage)

I haven't had such a fulfilling breakfast in a while, and the ones at Refuel Cafe definitely satisfied my cravings. I was in love with the buttery eggs and they had the right amount of seasoning. The sausage too, was flavorful and probably one of the betters ones I've had. The bacon was lightly salted, and the mushrooms were sauteed just right. Judging by the quantity and quality of the items served, the Full Tank is definitely value-for-money!

 

 
Refuel Pancakes (With Smoked Salmon) - $11.90

(Stack of 3 pancakes with smoked salmon. Other options such as bacon / bratwurst sausage are also available)

The pancakes at Refuel's was similar to that of MacDonald's hotcakes, but much fluffier! I've always been a fan of Mac's hotcakes so this was a plus point to me. We opted for smoked salmon for this one, and it was really fresh! A pity that the the salmon serving was a little small sad

 
Service:

The food was served promptly, and servers were friendly!

Atmosphere:
The place is rather cozy, but small. The last I check, it only sits around 35 people so you might make a reservation if you're going with a big group!

Toodles!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

[Adv] 1933 Singapore  Smile Jun 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

 
Had a chance to experience a taste of 1933 at the newly opened Capitol Piazza last week! 1933 is the latest F&B concept launched by the BreadTalk group and serves a wide range of food and beverages with Asian flavors and a hint of Western Influences.

Diners can look forward to hearty soups served in bread bowls to all-time favourites like Hainanese Kampong Chicken Rice, Grilled Pork Loin, Fish & Chips, or salads and side dishes. 1933 is also known for its milkshakes made with scoops of Ben&Jerry ice cream and specialty coffees brewed with Torrefacto coffee beans served in espresso style. They also serve a selection of freshly baked bread and tarts!

 
Interior, with 2 storeys and an 80 seater

(1st Storey)

 

 
Bar Counter

 

 
2nd Storey

 
Menu

 

 

 

 

 

 
We had:

 
1933 Specialty Coffee - $4.50

 
From left: Melon Melody ($10), Berry Bliss ($8)

I wasn't a fan of the Melon Melody concoction, but I loved the berry bits in my berry bliss!

 

 
Sawadee Greens - $14.90

A Thai-styled seafood salad with distinct Thai flavors! We were fans of this dish and I was heartened by their use of fresh prawns instead of the frozen ones. It's really unique, with minced pork bits and their special Thai dressing.

 
1933 Power Carrot - $9.60

For a bread bowl, $9.60 sounds pretty reasonable since that's almost the same price you have to pay at Soup Spoon. Served in a French bread bowl, the soup contains ingredients like carrots, onions, cream, ginger, butter and topped off with some orange zest to give it depth. It was thick, creamy and rather filling I must say!

 

 
Nanyang Curry Chicken in Bread Bowl - $14.90

If you're a fan of the Golden Pillow Curry, you might love this! The curry chicken bread bowl at 1933 offers a similar concept, with a richer curry base. They were really generous with the chicken pieces though I would have preferred if they were deboned! They were also carrot and potato chunks in this!

 

 
Grilled Pork Loin - $28.90

This was a rather interesting concept since it was the first time we saw pork served like this. The pork is dipped in thyme, bay leaves, honey and brine, accompanied by sauteed potatoes in olive oil. It also comes with 3 different dips for you to choose from - Mushroom, Hainanese, Black Pepper. My personal favorite was the Hainanese sauce which had a tinge of spiciness to add a little more kick to the dish. I felt that the pork loin was a little tough though sad

 

 
Hainanese Kampong Chicken Rice - $16.90

Friends who know me well would also know that I'm a sucker for chicken rice. I know it might seem a teeny bit ridiculous to pay $16.90 for this, but hey, you really do pay for what you get. WJ and I had chicken rice recently, and it really paled in comparison to this. The kampong chicken was selected for its tender and less oily meat while the rice was cooked in chicken broth to achieve that fragrant goodness. It's also served with garlic lime chilli, dark soy sauce and freshly pounded ginger!

 

 
Gula Melaka Pandan Cake - $8.90

The cake is baked and topped with whipped cream and bits of palm sugar, accompanied with Gula Melaka syrup. You could also taste the Gula Melaka sugar in the cake itself! The chef at 1933 put in more effort and came up with a different whipped cream base for the cake which reminded us fondly of the milkmaid condensed milk which we absolutely loved!

More pictures from the tasting!

 

 

 
A huge thank you to 1933 Singapore and The Influencer Network for the invite!

We definitely enjoyed ourselves!

Oh, and don't forget to hashtag #1933sg and #Capitol1933 when you upload your photos to Instagram! You can stand a chance to win a $33 dining voucher when you do that!

Toodles!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

IPPIN Cafe Bar  Smile Jun 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Café | Sushi/Sashimi

 
IPPIN Cafe Bar is Singapore's first home-concept Japanese cafe bar which offers varying experiences for people who visit the cafe - a seat at the sake bar, a hidden hangout, or even a dressed down weekend date. It serves food which hits close to home and at the same time, strives to bring out the authentic Japanese flavor. "Better than mom's home cooked food." is also the key motto of IPPIN Cafe Bar.

At IPPIN Cafe Bar, all prices are in NETT! What's more, they also provide FREE Wifi (!!!)

All the ingredients used in their dishes are also available for sale at the cafe which is also a Japanese Concept Store!

Address:

18 Mohamed Sultan Road

(S) 238967

6733 4794

Nearest MRT:

Clark Quay MRT

Opening Hours:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Sunday: Closed

FB / IG:

@IPPINcafebar

 

 

 

 

 
We had:

 
Miso Udon Noodle with Oyster Set - $15 NETT

This dish is perfected using red miso from the natural production method by placing soybeans in a wooden barrel for two summers and two winters. It comes with kobachi (small dish) and a dessert.

The udon was springy, and I loved the thick red miso broth! The oysters were really fresh, as they are known to be sourced from the Hiroshima Prefecture which happens to be the most famous area of oysters in Japan!

 

 

 
Grilled Oyster and Veggies in Ponzu Butter Sauce Set - $20 NETT

The oysters were grilled in ponzu (yuzu vinegar) butter sauce which was a little citrus-like, but definitely a refreshing choice! Another dish from the set that caught my attention was the Nikujaga pork. It was stewed perfectly with potatoes and the pork was so tender! This set is also served with salad and miso soup.

 

 
Deep Fried Oyster Set - $24 NETT

Definitely a set I would order again!

The Oysters were unbelievably fresh, and you could taste its sweetness with every bite. It was lightly battered and served with light wasabi mayo which only got me wanting more. I loved this so much that I requested for a second helping! This set is also served with their Nikujaga Pork and Potato Stew, Salad, Hatcho Miso Soup and a Dessert.

 
Oyakudon Set - $15 NETT

When it comes to Japanese food, Oyaku Don (Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl) is no stranger to anyone. The chicken at IPPIN Cafe Bar is boiled with chicken stock that gives it an extra oomph. The huge slab of chicken on egg was drizzled with their signature sauce and was also served with salad and miso soup.

 

 
Yakisoba Set - $12 NETT

If you're craving for something simple and light, then this Yakisoba Set would be a fit for your taste buds! Their Yakisoba comes from Chiba Prefecture and so, is quality assured. The soba was tossed with their Japanese savory sauce and was served with koshiba (small dish) and dessert.

Oh and one thing to note is that the salad at IPPIN comes with NO dressing. You get to customize your own dressing or can even opt have it plain!

 
IPPIN Cafe Bar also serves a wide range of craft beers and sake! I'm not a huge fan of sake, so I decided to give their craft beers a try.

From far left:

Koshihikari Ale - $9

Koshihikari is one of the most famous and delicious type of Japanese rice, and this beer gives off a light and smooth texture. (MY FAV)

Pale Ale - $9

Beer brewed from barley seeds that are home-grown which gives off a well-balanced bitter and smooth texture.

Dark Ale - $9

Has a rich flavor that resembles that of Guinness stout but is slightly lighter

 

 
We also got to try their Rattsu Nuts which retail at $8 per cup! They've it in Coffee, Matcha and Strawberry flavors and my favorites were the latter two!

 
Their Yuzu Jelly Dessert which got me requesting for seconds! It was really refreshing with a mild citrusy, yet sweet aftertaste!

Like what I've mentioned, IPPIN Cafe Bar is also a Japanese concept store which sells various items ranging from the ingredients used in their dishes. paper fibre clothing, premium Japanese snacks, condiments and many more!

 

 
Don't forget to check out their website here:

http://www.ippin-jpc.com/

Or visit their Facebook at:

https://www.facebook.com/ippincafebarms18

Once again, a huge thanks to IPPIN Cafe Bar and Hazel for the invite!

Toodles! smile

 
Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

[Adv] DoSiRak Singapore Smile Jun 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean

 
DoSiRak is a healthier take on the traditional Korean lunch boxes called dosirak, which comprises of a well-balanced nutritious meal of rice, meat, and vegetables. The people at DoSiRak have teamed up with a nutritionist to make sure that each dorisak contains no more than 500 calories. They have also obtained a Healthier Choice Stamp by the Health Promotion Board!

They have a Takeaway Joint located at China Square Central and offers Delivery Services as well!

Here's their menu!

 

 
Here are the Dosiraks I tried!

 
Soy Sesame Chicken - $7.90

(Slow cooked chicken breasts, carrots, lotus, eggs, red cabbage, spinach, white rice)

 
Kimchi Tofu - $7.90

(Kimchi Tofu, Japanese cucumber, White cabbage, Lotus, Black beans, Shitake mushroom, White rice)

 
Salmon - $9.90

(Cured fresh salmon, Eggs, Japanese cucumber, White cabbage, Black beans, Carrots, White rice)

 
Spicy Chicken - $7.90

(Slow cooked chicken breast, Bean sprouts, White cabbage, Shitake mushroom, Spinach, Onions, White rice)

 
They are made to be super simple to consume!

Just assemble rice or noodles with meat or tofu, and vegetables, add in the Korean paste, shake it up - and you have lunch!

 
We also tried the Korean buckwheat noodles that came with the Salmon Dosirak, and it was a really refreshing change! My family was a big fan of the other Dosiraks because not only did they taste good, it was a healthy substitute from our usual meals. Best thing was that the ingredients used in each Dosirak really complemented one another. The paste used was the traditional Korean dressing which tasted something like those they use with Topokki (Korean rice cake) - a little sweet, yet spicy that made it really palatable.

I would definitely recommend you to try it. It's great, especially when you're on the go or need something healthy to eat for lunch!

Thank you DoSiRak SG and Andrea for the pleasant meal! smile

DoSiRak is a healthier take on the traditional Korean lunch boxes called dosirak, which comprises of a well-balanced nutritious meal of rice, meat, and vegetables. The people at DoSiRak have teamed up with a nutritionist to make sure that each dorisak contains no more than 500 calories. They have also obtained a Healthier Choice Stamp by the Health Promotion Board!

 
Date of Visit: May 21, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0