OpenRice Index
  
thenicethoughts
This is thenicethoughts .
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review23 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity131 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos351 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant23 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲6 Follower(s)
thenicethoughts  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 23 Reviews in Singapore
Food Review: Whisk & Paddle  Smile May 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

 
Address:

10 Tebing Lane, 8288366242 4617

Nearest MRT Station:

Punggol MRT Station, Riveria LRT Station

What they are famous for:

All day breakfast, Mac & Cheese

Opening hours:

Mondays - Fridays: 3:30 - 10:30pm

Saturdays, Sundays, PH: 9:30am - 10:30pm

Atmosphere: 9/10

Price: 8/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 6/10

 

 
Interior

 
Outdoor seating

 
Menu

We had:

 
Lychee Mint Cooler - $6.90

(With fresh mint leaves and lychee)

A refreshing drink for a scorching afternoon!

I loved how the mint leaves added an extra kick to the cooler.

 
Pomegranate Wild Berries Italian Soda - $5.50

I would have preferred the Lychee cooler to this drink! It wasn't immensely sweet or anything, just that I felt that the flavors weren't to my liking. Still, when it comes to drinks, it's rather subjective so why not order this and try if you're a fan of pomegranate!

 
Chunky Fries - $10.80

(Choice of Truffle Mayo / Masala / Bacon)

Saw "Truffle Mayo" and we knew we had to order this, especially since we can never say no to chunky fries! Definitely did not disappoint!

 

 
Whisk Breakfast Plate - $16.80

(Croissant, Scrambled eggs, Back bacon, Chicken cheese sausage, Roasted cherry vine tomatoes, Sauteed mushrooms, Mashed Potatoes, Yogurt with fruits)

When it comes to the pricing of food at Whisk & Paddle, I must say that they're pretty reasonable. For just $16,80, we got more than we could ask for! I especially loved the cheese sausage, scrambled eggs as well as the croissant! The scrambled eggs were really creamy, and cooked just right to my liking. Thumbs up to the mash potato too! I certainly did not expect it to turn out that good!

 

 
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon - $13

(Poached eggs with Hollandaise sauce on Waffles)

Poached eggs on waffles - well that's something new! The perfectly poached eggs were served on buttermilk waffles with generous slices of smoked salmon. One down side to the dish was that I got sick of the hollandaise sauce after a while - it was a tad creamy for my liking.

 
Passionfruit Tart - $7

Whisk and paddle is also known for their pretty and delectable desserts! The tartness of the passionfruit curd was just right, and wow, the macaroon topped on it just sealed the deal.

 
Atmosphere:

Definitely a great place to chill, especially since it's located next to Punggol Waterfront Park. You get to admire the beautiful scenery and enjoy your meal at the same time. The cafe is reaaally spacious as well, so it's perfect for group gatherings!




Service:

The staff at Whisk and Paddle were attentive to our every need. However, my eggs benny took incredibly long to be served (I think I waited for more than 30mins).

Hope this helped!

Toodles!

 
Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai


Chanced upon this hidden gem when I visited Sembawang yesterday and I knew HAD to review it. JJ Thai Cuisine opened its second outlet at Sembawang this year and it serves authentic Thai Cuisine along with Mookata that are available on weekdays and on certain weekends.

 

 
Menu

(More on their Facebook page HERE)

 
We had:

 
Thai Milk Tea - $3

I'm not really a fan of Thai milk tea because the ones I've had are always too sweet for my liking and lacking the flavor. This though, had a good balance of both tea and milk, definitely one of the better ones I've had.

 
Stir-fried kang kong belachan - $6

Nothing too special about this, just the typical Kang kong belachan you get at Zi char stores but a little spicer!

 
Stir-fried minced chicken with hot basil leaves - $9

Wasn't as spicy as I thought it would be, but definitely delicious!

 

 

 
Clear Tom Yam Soup (Seafood) - $8

I had to post multiple photos of this to emphasize on the amount of ingredients that were in the soup. For just $8, this was definitely value for money! It came with 2 large fresh prawns, thick fish slides, plenty of squid and mushrooms. They say the clearer the soup, the spicier it would be.

This though, had the right amount of kick to it!

 
Homemade Thai prawn cake - $10

Our favorite dish!

I would highly recommend this dish to anyone that visits JJ Thai. It might be the most expensive appetizer out of the lot, but this my friends, had PLENTY of prawn meat stuffed in it.

It was like 95% prawn meat and 5% flour or smth.

 
Service:

The service was impeccable, and our food was served to us within 10 minutes

(I'm still wondering how they managed to do that)

Atmosphere:

Looks like your typical Thai restaurant! The place is a little small, so you might have to come earlier on weekends! They also offer outdoor seating on the days when they serve Mookata.
Atmosphere: 7/10

Price: 8/10

Food: 8/10

Service: 8/10
 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: W39 Bistro & Bakery  Smile May 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bakery | Café | Brunch

As adapted from their website, W39 believes that good food is the foundation of genuine happiness. Therefore, its menu consists of a wide variety of dishes from breakfasts (only on weekends) to local delights and even their well-known rainbow cake. The cafe also houses a small bakery that sells homemade bread and also offers various knick-knacks from yesteryear that are bound to ignite a nostalgic spark in one.

As adapted from their website, W39 believes that good food is the foundation of genuine happiness. Therefore, its menu consists of a wide variety of dishes from breakfasts (only on weekends) to local delights and even their well-known rainbow cake. The cafe also houses a small bakery that sells homemade bread and also offers various knick-knacks from yesteryear that are bound to ignite a nostalgic spark in one.

 


Brunch Menu is only available from Weekends and PH from 9am-3pm

 
Cafe Interior

 
Communal Seating

 

 

 
Selection of cakes

 
Selection of bread

 
Brunch Menu

 
We had:

 
Hearty Breakfast - $16

(Your choice of eggs, sauteed mushrooms, bacon, pork sausage, tomato and slices of their very own Butter Top Loaf (available for sale at their Bread Counter))

For $16, this platter was definitely value for money. The scrambled eggs were delicious though they were a little dry. The pork sausage was seasoned well and the bacon too, was well-prepared. Thumbs up to their homemade Butter Loaf as well!

 

 
Eggs Benedict - $10

(Poached eggs with pork ham and Hollandaise sauce on their Butter Top Load and served with Mesclun salad)

Look at the perfectly poached eggs! The only downside of this dish was just that the hollandaise sauce was a little too salty on its own.

 

 
Fluffy Pancakes - $10

(3 pieces, served with fresh assorted fruits, butter, jam and maple syrup)

One of the fluffiest pancakes I've eaten for only $10! The portion was really huge, so I would recommend this for sharing instead. The batter was a little disappointing as I felt that it could have been more flavorful.

 
Service:

I had no qualms about their service, and the food was served to us rather quickly!

Atmosphere:

The cafe had tons of natural light streaming in that made taking photos really fuss free (I didn't even have to edit much of the photos here!!). The interior is also spacious with a huge communal table in the center and individual seating at the sides. Oh! For pet owners, you can also bring your pets there as well as there're plenty of outdoor seating available!


Atmosphere: 8/10

Price: 8/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 7/10
 
Date of Visit: Dec 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 

 
Interior

 

 
Food menu

 
Dessert and drinks menu

 
Mellow Melon - $9

(Honey dew melon, Granny Smith Apple and Citrus Juice)

Other than the fact that it was waaaaaaaay overpriced, I felt that it was a great thirst-quencher!

 
Vegetapple - $9

(Beetroot, Carrot and Granny Smith apple)

This tasted exactly like the ABC juice you can purchase from fruit juice stalls.

 
The Norwegian - $26

(Avocardo, grilled asparagus spears, two perfectly poached eggs wrapped with Norwegian smoked salmon, homemade Hollandaise sauce and salmon pearls on wholewheat brioche)

Well, my expectations for the breakfast at Wild Honey were sky-high because one simply does not pay $26 for a plate of eggs benedict. Even the fact that there were Ikura in the dish did not justify for the hefty amount we had to pay. So yeap, when I saw the words "perfectly poached eggs" on the menu, I expected my egg yolk to drizzle over the perfectly toasted brioche with I sliced into it but yet, I was disappointed. My eggs were slightly overcooked, and the rest of the dish was just ordinary.

 
English - $25

(The foil works, scrambled eggs, canadian back bacon, cuberlad pork sausages, sauteed mushrooms, Dad's baked beans, breakfast potatoes, grilled cine ripened tomato and signature brioche)

The dish took a turn and in a good way. The scrambled eggs were smooth and creamy. The back bacon was tender and the pork sausage was seasoned well. The brioche was probably one of the best I've had, and even the baked beans were superb. Thumbs up to the breakfast potatoes too! Loved how crispy it was!

 
European - $20

(Wild honey's version of eggs benedict with two perfectly poached eggs, sauteed mushroom, imported Italian prosciutto, homemade hollandaise sauce on the signature brioche)

The eggs were poached perfectly in this one and the prosciutto added a good balance to the entire dish. But $20 for this? Nope.

 
Caribbean - $20

(Coconut waffles bound with fresh passion fruit cream, fresh baby bananas and slices of mangoes, toasted coconut flakes and passion fruit syrup)

The waffles were fluffy and moist. This was actually my favorite dish out of the lot, other than the big breakfast! I could taste coconut in the waffle batter, and the passion fruit syrup complemented the waffles and the fresh fruits perfectly.

 
Atmosphere:

The interior was cool and very cosy. Sofa seats were available and there was even a semi-outdoor seating which overlooked a great view. This place is perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon or an avenue to unwind with a group of friends.

Service:

I wasn't exactly impressed with the manager's attitude (So rude omg). Other than that, food was served promptly and the service staff was rather approachable.


Atmosphere: 8/10

Price: 5/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 6/10
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Maison Ikkoku  Smile May 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Café

 
Address:

20 Kandahar Street

Nearest MRT Station:

Bugis MRT Station

What they are famous for:

All day breakfast, Coffee

Opening hours:

Monday - Thursday: 9am - 7pm

Friday - Saturday: 9am - 10pm

Sunday: 9am - 6pm

Atmosphere: 7/10

Price: 7/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 7/10

Do note that they serve All Day Breakfasts ONLY on Weekends

 
Interior seating

 
Coffee counter

 
Food menu

 
Drinks menu

We had:

 
Homemade Iced Lemon Tea - $5.50

Homemade iced lemon tea which really lived up to its name! Love how refreshing it was especially on the scorching Sunday I went.

 

 

 

 
Break Of Dawn - $22

(Pork bratwurst + Pork bacon + Cherry Tomatoes + Breakfast Potatoes + Scrambled Eggs with Chives + Mesclun salad with almond + Lemon Vinaigrette + Double Orange Salad + Sourdough)

This, my friends, is definitely one of the most scrumptious breakfasts I've had. I mean, it's comparable to the one from AnthesisThis, my friends, is definitely one of the most scrumptious breakfasts I've had. I mean, it's comparable to the one from Anthesis, just that it's not as expensive. Variety and portion wise, it was abundant and I was so stuffed by the time I managed to scrape it all off my plate. However, taste-wise, I have my doubts. The pork bacon was waaaaaaay too salty and the scrambled eggs were a little dry. Thumbs up to the pork bratwurst though!

 
Salmon Florentine - $20

(Norwegian smoked salmon + Sauteed baby spinach + Poached eggs + Homemade hollandaise sauce + Toasted brioche)

One of the top favorites! The eggs were perfectly poached while the hollandaise sauce was delicious with the perfect creaminess. Smoked salmon was great too.

 
Paddle pop cake - $9

We were really intrigued by the looks of this cake and since we were craving for something sweet, we decided to go for this. The cakes at Maison Ikokku are sadly, not baked in-house. I really liked the cake batter though I couldn't taste much of the paddle pop flavoring.

 
Service:

Service was rather slow that day, but okay it was pretty crowded when we went. Do make reservations before heading there because it can get really packed on weekends!

Atmosphere:

The cafe was rather small so it might feel a little claustrophobic if you're planning to go there in a big group. Other than that, I loved the vibe it exuded and it was perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

------------------------------

I was supposed to post this post weeks back, but it has been sitting in my drafts since forever and I finally had time to edit it. I finally finished my midterms today (hehe my one and only) and presentation so I finally have time to take a little breather.

Met my dear tako for lunch on a fateful Sunday and as usual, we spent our day lazing around and chilling indoors because the sun was a killer.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Till the next!

Toodles!

 
Date of Visit: Sep 30, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0