OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity814 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Worthy for the Square OK Jun 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Full review with photo at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/27/shiberty-bakes-owen-road-singapore/

When I saw the address of Shiberty Bakes at Owen Road, I thought it was occupied by some Bakery Cafe previously. And indeed, it has taken over the space previously occupied by a Bite Cake
Most Instagrammers who follow @shiberty would have known that she is the woman behind Shiberty Bakes. A blogger cum baker and now a cafe owner.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
I noticed that the interior fixture of the unit was untouched. The interior theme remains as dreamy white with an European classic feel. Except for the tables and chairs, these were changed. A pity that Shiberty Bakes didn’t try to get tables and chairs that blend with the interior theme.
At Shiberty Bakes, the signature items were the Shiberty Toast ($16) that came with 3 flavours. I chose the Classic Shibert Toast on my first visit. It consist of the extremely buttery toast as the centre piece surrounded by golden finishes berries, tiny marshmallow together with a scoop of sea salt caramel and vanilla ice cream. Lastly, it was drizzled with maple honey. The entire look was worthy for the square.
Shiberty Toast Rocher

Shiberty Toast Rocher

 
On the second occasion, I went for the Shiberty Toast Rocher ($16). This time, the toast was firm and could hold the weight of 2 scoop of ice cream. But a pity, this round the butter were scanty. The taste didn’t reflect the flavour of the toast, Rocher. Maybe it would be better if they could have more chocolate or even Nutella sauce on the toast and with Rocher flavoured Ice Cream too. A pity at both occasion, both the toast weren’t crispy.
Charcoal Waffle

Charcoal Waffle

 
Alternatively, one could opt for the Gourmet Waffle ($14). The Charcoal Waffle was crisp but a little too dry.
Macarons

Macarons

 
There are 6 flavours. We checked out the Salted Egg and Red Velvet, Honey Lavender and Matcha. The texture of the shell were inconsistent. Some were better than the other. The red velvet was lacking of the red velvet character. I checked out the salted egg flavour twice, the second trial was far more better than the first as the salted egg sense was stronger and I could savour the flavour.
Interestingly, Shiberty Bakes opt to offer the Loaded Milkshakes, commonly known as the Over the Top (OTT). We tried the Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes ($9). It was extremely disappointing. It was extremely diluted with not much of either strawberry, milk or even cheesecakes flavour. It didn’t make the mark. I would avoid this item entirely.
Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes

Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes

 
With such a gorgeous looking plating desserts worthy for posting on Instagram, I am sure that Shiberty Bakes will attract Instagrammers who wanted to post these luring looking desserts. We want our desserts to be as good as its look. Unfortunately, Shiberty Bakes is inconsistent in its food quality and taste. There are still rooms for improvement at Shiberty Bakes.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Date of Visit: May 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Golden Retriever Theme Cafe OK Jun 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta

Full review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/06/07/pompompurin-cafe-orchard-central/

Pompompurin is one of the many Sanrio cute characters. He is a Golden Retriever dog who loves to collect shoes, has a talent for napping and loves his mama's Caramel Pudding.

The space of Pompompurin Cafe isn't huge. It is decorated like a garden with lots of traces of Pompompurin. The most attractive part of the cafe is at the centre of the cafe where Pompompurin and friends are at. There are 4 “Tomodachi House” (Friends House) with each a Pompompurin’s friends; Bagel the Squirrel, Coconut the Monkey, Mint the Frog and Macaroon the Golden Retriever. These are found on the left of the cafe when facing from the cafe.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
It is interesting that the cafe serves desserts before the Main. I was quite shock when I saw my dessert order served first. It isn't a bad move, just unusual. We don't mind having Mains after desserts after all.
At Pompompurin Cafe, there isn't much food selection. It is limited to 6 Mains and 5 desserts. Among the 11 items, 4 were recommended. And if you like to take home a souvenir after dinning at Pompompurin Cafe, look out for the dishes with a mug. There are 3 dishes you could choose; Bagel's Special Pancake Tower, Spaghetti Napolitana and Mushrooom & Bacon Carbonara.
Each month, there are 2 special available, a Main and a dessert.
Spaghetti Napolitana

Spaghetti Napolitana

 
We opted for the Spaghetti Napolitana ($26.99). This is one of the 3 dishes with the Pompompurin mug that diners could take home as souvenir. The tomato based pasta wasn't interesting at all. It tasted very normal with mainly pepperoni flavours. My Mom felt she could cook better than these.
Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff

Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff

 
The second Main we got for sharing is the Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff ($18.99). The rice is shaped into Pompompurin's head. This dish is more flavourful and tasty than our first. At the minimum, we could savour the beef flavour. In the gravy, there were extremely thin slices of beef and a beef patty shaped into Pompompurin's signature beret.
Mango Juice

Mango Juice

 
We felt the desserts and drinks fare better than the Mains. My Mango Juice ($11.99) was filled with mango pieces and of course goodness. The only dessert we ordered is the Pompompurin's Mango Parfait ($18.99). We like the totality of the taste profile.
Mango Parfait

Mango Parfait

 
After having the desserts, we thought it makes sense for Pompompurin Cafe to serve the diners desserts first since the desserts tasted better. It will leave a good first impression. LOL!
Merchandise

Merchandise

 
Finally, there are more Pompompurin merchandise on sales. While making payment for your meal, do browse them and diners could make purchase for these lovely merchandise too.
We felt the food at Pompompurin Cafe was extremely average and it is expensive. Our damage for the above was $91 which included GST and service charge.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com
Facade

Facade

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ice Rolls OK May 24, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

Original Review at 

Aiskilin sounds like how the senior folks who speak only dialect or Mandarin would pronounce “Ice Cream”. This is an ice cream parlour located along the highly dense cafe stretch of Upper Thomson Road.

 
The ice cream parlour is strictly rather raw with cemented walls, decked with simple black chairs and tables. And most would noticed that the walls are dressed in pink and it has a huge menu on a wall.

 
It offers specifically the Ice Cream Rolls in 7 flavours ($5.90). Namely XO Durian, Matcha, Earl Grey, Tiramisu, Avocao, Mix Berries and Thai Milk Tea. On the menu, it indicated that it comes with 2 mix but I was offered to choose none on my visit. And 1 free toppings and 1 syrup which I got them, at least. At Aiskilin, they whipped up Waffle ($5) too with and option of having it with ice cream ($9).

 
Another big items on the menu is the Milkshake ($3.90) with 14 flavours to choose from. The 14 flavours are Raspberry, Strawberry, Banana, Peach, Mango, Sourop, Guava, Passion Fruit, Kiwi, Lemon, Milo, Nutella and Durian. Lastly, coffee and tea were available too.

 
I chose Earl Grey. For all Ice Cream, first they will “fry” the mixture on an icy metal surface to freeze up the mixture.

 
Next, lay flat and start rolling. Lastly, pick up the roll and put them into the cup.

 
Before serving, topping was added and choice syrup or sauce was drizzled.

 
The ice cream rolls were lightly sweetened and it has a good sense of Early Grey though I don’t mind having it stronger. But somehow, all the ice cream rolls that I tried isn’t creamy. This would be good for diners who like the dessert light.

 
Aiskilin is the another ice cream roll shop added to the area. It’s location is relatively more convenient since it is along the main road.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hit And Misses OK Apr 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

http://www.nahmj.com/2016/02/22/kanshoku-ramen-bar-orchard-gateway-singapore/

Between dinning and spotting Kanshoku Ramen Bar at Orchard Gateway, it was since some time ago. And I didn’t read any review before having my first bowl of ramen at Kanshoku Ramen Bar.
Bar Counter Seating

Bar Counter Seating

 
Kanshoku Ramen Bar offers a casual dinning environment. The tables were place rather closely, not a place suitable for gathering but dine and go kind of place.
The service crew gave me a very detailed description of the menu, down to the what I could expect from each dish offered. It was absolutely a delight. This certainly help in deciding what to order.

At Kanshoku, they offered 6 different Ramen (5 soup, 1 dry); Signature Kanshoku Ramen, Black Garlic, Spicy Tonkotsu Ramen, Flaming Hot Tonkotsu Ramen, Shoyu Ramen and Truffle Ramen.
Signature Kanshoku Ramen

Signature Kanshoku Ramen

 
The Signature Kanshoku Ramen ($13.90) was highly recommended as such I gave it a try. Broth was flavourful but sweetish.
Kanshoku provides 3 ramen texture to choose from; soft, normal and hard. As noodles were thin, so expect it to be soft even when normal. Go for hard if you prefer al dente like noodles.The Charshu was with the perfect ratio of fats to meat. It was soft and tender; melted in the mouth. Strangely, the Charshu was slightly sweetish which wasn’t my preference.
Ramen Egg

Ramen Egg

 
The Ramen does not come with a Ramen Egg ($2). If you like one, you need to add-on. A pity, the quality of the yolk wasn’t consistent. The first time I have the Ramen Egg, the egg yolk was runny! I like it. But on the second occasion, the yolk at the edge was cooked. It was such a shame.

Overall, I didn’t relish the bowl of Signature Kanshoku Ramen. The sweetish bowl of ramen (broth, charshu and egg) didn’t strike a chord with me. I was pretty surprised to read so many positive reviews about how delish the ramen and the broth were . I was surprised that many could except a bowl of sweetish ramen.
Black Garlic Ramen

Black Garlic Ramen

 
The Black Garlic Ramen ($14.90) has the Signature Kanshoku broth as base with the black garlic added. Strangely, the black garlic masked the sweetness of the broth successfully. I relish on the Black Garlic Ramen.
Shoyu Ramen

Shoyu Ramen

 
For those who prefer the salty to sweet, Shoyu Ramen ($13.90) is the option. But personally, I didn't think well of this bowl of briny ramen as the soup wasn't flavourful with meaty aroma.
Truffle Ramen

Truffle Ramen

 
The only dry ramen that is on the menu is the Truffle Ramen ($18.90). When it was served, I could smell the lovely truffle scent but a pity it couldn't be savoured. The ramen was luke warm almost at room temperature. It seems like salt was added to the ramen, as such some part of the ramen was tasteless. I felt that the sweet Charshu that was torched seems to complement the noodle, that was a little consolation.
Prawn Gyoza

Prawn Gyoza

 
I tried both its Chicken Gyoza and Prawn Gyoza. Personally, I prefer Kanshoku Ramen Bar Chicken Gyoza. It was more flavourful. But there’s room for improvement. The consolation was the gyoza sauce. I have good impression of it. It was the saving grace for the gyoza.Somehow, the soup ramen (except Shoyu) served at Kanshoku Ramen Bar was far too sweet for my liking. The sweetness was in the egg, in the broth and in the Charshu too. I prefer salty ramen to a sweet one I suppose. But at least the Black Garlic Ramen has the sweetness masked. Chicken Gyoza is a pretty good option if side is required.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Customizing Your Own Ramen OK Apr 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Burosu Honten Gyoza And Ramen is within the ground of Emporium Shokuhin. As you enter the entrance of the Emporium where the cashiers are located, you could find Burosu Honten on your left.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
The interior theme seems to be like Zen. It has mainly cubicle seats for four on one side of the wall. And each cubicle has a small "window" for the food to be served through it. Alternatively are the handful of bar tables seats facing the emporium for people watching. It is no doubt a causal dinning restaurant.On each table, there are Sesame seed and chilli flakes and chopsticks and serviettes for diners to help themselves to.
Condiments - Chilli Flakes and Sesame Seeds

Condiments - Chilli Flakes and Sesame Seeds

 
As the name Burosu Honten Gyoza And Ramen suggested that it is a restaurant of ramen and Gyoza. The uniqueness of Burosu Hoten is that diners could customize their own ramen. First, decide on the type of ramen. There are 3 categories of ramen to choose from. First under the Ulitmate Ramen, 2 types, Special Ultimate Blend and Chashu Ultimate Blend. Next the Tonkotsu Ramen with Tonkotsu, Tonkotsu Miso and Tonkotsu Black Garlic Ma-yu. Lastly the Seafood Ramen, choice of Prawn Seafood Ramen and Kani (Crab) Seafood Ramen. Now decide the concentration of the soup; normal, light or strong.Once diners has decided the type of ramen, next diners could opt for the firm, normal or soft noodle. Then decide whether to have it with spice or non. There are various spiciness level to choose from. Lastly decide if additional ingredients are required.
Special Ultimate Blend Ramen

Special Ultimate Blend Ramen

 
The first I tried was the Special Ultimate Blend Ramen ($18.80) under the Ultimate Blend. For this bowl of ramen, I opted normal noodle which turned out to be a little too soft, normal concentration and non-spicy soup. In it was mainly seafood. There are 2 relatively large prawns and crab meat. The soup reminded me of the Chinese Prawn noodles but this soup has a thicker consistency. It was filled with prawn sweetness and pork flavours. The normal was just nice for me.
Tonkotsu Black Garlic Ma-yu

Tonkotsu Black Garlic Ma-yu

 
For the Tonkutsu Ramen version, I tried 2 out of 3 selections. Tonkotsu Black Garlic Ma-yu ($15.80) was the first of the 2. I always like Tonkotsu soup based for ramen as such I enjoyed it. The black garlic does enhances the soup. This bowl of ramen I ordered it with firm noodle which turned out to be perfect for me and normal soup concentration and I will choose the strong concentration the next round.
Tonkotsu Miso

Tonkotsu Miso

 
It was followed by Tonkotsu Miso ($14.80). I contemplated if I should order the strong concentration soup which I kind of regretted that I didn't. As my initial worry was will the miso be too salty if I did. The tonkotsu flavour was light though miso was sufficient. Maybe on my next visit, I should try the strong concentration out. And it seems the noodle used in the Tonkotsu Miso differ from the result. This version is a little chewy. 

Each bowl of the Tonkotsu Ramen version has 2 pieces of Chashu. Personally, I find it too fatty. It doesn't really melt in mouth though it is tender.
Ajitsuke Tamago

Ajitsuke Tamago

 
For diners who like extra ramen toppings, there were 8 types to choose from. First and fore most, my top favourite ramen toppings that I will order whenever I have my ramen fix is the Ajitsuke Tamago ($1.50). Strangely, which I deemed it as pity too, the side of the yolks were always cooked. Others are leek, spring onions, nori (seaweed), corn and raw chopped garlic all at $1. There is also Menma (bamboo shoots) ($1.50) and Chashu - 2 pieces ($3).
Moyashi, Marinated Beansprouts

Moyashi, Marinated Beansprouts

 
At Burosu Hoten, 7 appetisers, there were Moyashi, Marinated Beansprouts ($3.80), Buta Kakuni - Braised Pork Belly ($8.80), Kimuchi ($3.80), Tori Kaarage ($6.80), Ebi Fry ($8.80), Goma Salad ($4.80) and Edamame ($2.80).
Spicy Pork Sui Gyoza

Spicy Pork Sui Gyoza

 
I am sure many adore Gyoza. I am one too. I will forego Ramen for Gyoza if I am only allow to choose one. Lol! 2 types of Gyoza are offered at Burosu Honten Gyoza & Ramen. First is the Sui Gyoza. Three types of filling and all are (lightly) spicy; chicken, pork and seafood. I tried only the Pork Sui Gyoza ($6.80). The 5 gyoza were sat in a bowl of spicy vinegar sauce. It was such an appetising starter which I truly enjoyed. It would be fabulous if the skin could be a little thinner.

 
Next is the Pan-Fried Gyoza, 4 fillings are available; Chicken, Pork ($6.80), Wagyu Beef ($8.80) and Seafood ($7.80). I tried only the Seafood Pan-fried Gyoza. The gyoza were well pan-fried till the skin was crispy with a nice fragrance. The seafood filling were mainly crab meat. And interestingly, by the side were some Sakura Prawn.

I like the concept of customising my bowl of ramen at Burosu Honten Gyoza and Ramen. And I would go for the stronger concentration with firm noodles. As of the gyoza, personal preference is the Sui Gyoza.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Sui Gyoza
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0