OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity814 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Burgers Specialist Smile Feb 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Burgers and Sandwiches

http://www.nahmj.com/2016/01/22/south-bronx-burger-by-montana-pomo/

South Bronx Burger was created by Montana Singapore to provide fresh made burgers. All the ingredients in each and every burger is made from scratch daily, ensuring freshness in the quality.
South Bronx Facade

South Bronx Facade

 
South Bronx Burger has created 7 burgers when we visited them. 4 beef burgers, and 3 non.
We tried The Bronx that comes with an in-house smoked bacon, Gochujang Beef consists of gochujang coleslaw, The Unami is with mushroom and The Mac Daddy, topped with jalapeno mac & cheese. the only non-beef burger we tried was the Lemongrass Prawn.
Lemongrass Prawn Burger

Lemongrass Prawn Burger

 
First was the Lemongrass Prawn Burger with thelemongrass infused prawn patty. I could savour the sweetness of the prawn and the lightly scent of lemongrass. It complemented well.
Unami

Unami

 
The Unami beside the beef compose of miso mushroom, sandwiched with bonito flakes and mayo. A pity, the mushroom flavour were not strong.
The Bronx

The Bronx

 
Classic ingredients such as the beef patty (the key ingredient), sauce, melted cheese and bacon existed in The Bronx. Though it may sound like a typical classic beef burger, it is the smoked bacon that differentiated itself from the rest in the market.
The Mac Daddy

The Mac Daddy

 
A humble looking burger was The Mac Daddy. I was skeptical when I spotted the look. But it turned out to be our top favourite burger among the 4 we tried. All the ingredients assembled in The Mac Daddy not only complemented each other but more importantly enhances, taking the taste to the next level and even to perfection.
triple fries (normal fries, curly fries and criss cut fries)

triple fries (normal fries, curly fries and criss cut fries)

 
One could choose to top up to complete the meal with a triple fries (normal fries, curly fries and criss cut fries) and a drink. Optional add on to the burgers are also available. We tried the truffle fries. Fries wasn't the best but was pleasantly delish.
Southern Fried Chicken Wings

Southern Fried Chicken Wings

 
The Southern Fried Chicken Wings was the one we tried out of the 2 sides available. The chicken wings absorbed the marinate and were tender. We prefer eating it without the BBQ sauce.
Red Velvet Ice Cream Burger

Red Velvet Ice Cream Burger

 
A pity only the Red Velvet Ice Cream Burger was available. The scarlet coloured bun together with Hazelnut rocher ice cream, coconut nutella sauce and granola topping added to the crunch was heavenly.
We enjoyed the burgers and the sides served by South Bronx Burgers. Especially when all the ingredients were made from scratch daily, it guaranteed freshness in quality and no doubt value for money too.

For more reviews, visit http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Hokkaido Buffet Experience Smile Jun 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/06/09/hokkaido-sushi-restaurant-m-hotel/

I have never heard about Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant even though it exists for quite some time. I suppose that because it is perched at Level 9 of M Hotel which can’t be seen from the road. And may be not much of publicity was done previously. I am glad that I was introduced to this restaurant who pride themselves in serving authentic and fresh Japanese cuisine.
Facade

Facade

 
As I was approaching, I saw the facade of the restaurant I didn’t feel alluring. It has this 80s vibe in it. When I entered the restaurant, it looks pretty dark as it has only random spotlight as lighting. The space at Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant is huge and it could seat 120 guests at its full capacity with 4 private rooms.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
At Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant, beside the classic Japanese food such as Sushi, they famous for their Omakase too. And they have started to introduce The Hokkaido Buffet Experience in the form ala carte buffet. It is this that I went for at Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant for my first dinning experience with them. And I am say, I am surprise at the quality and taste for most of the food.

The Hokkaido Buffet Experience

At The Hokkaido Buffet Experience, it offers a wide variety of food ranging from appetizers to sashimi, sushi to cooked food. We are spoilt for choices.
Premium Sashimi Platter

Premium Sashimi Platter

 
The first luring factor for The Hokkaido Buffet Experience is the Premium Sashimi Platter. Each guest who are at the restaurant for the buffet is served a portion. This promotion is available in June and July 2016. They will be changing this premium items from time to time.

Appetizers
We started our meal with the appetizers. There are 11 items on the ala carte buffet menu. We were recommended the signature dishes and we went with it.
Pitan Tofu

Pitan Tofu

 
The first appetizer is the Pitan Tofu which is my absolute favourite among our order. The pungent flavour of Pitan is mild as such it is easy on the palate.
Ikura Chawanmushi

Ikura Chawanmushi

 
Next is the Ikura Chawanmushi. I adore it as it was served pipping hot and not lukewarm. At least this was true on our visit. The chawanmushi was silky. I find it comforting.
Tamago Yaki

Tamago Yaki

 
The lightly sweetened omelette, the Tamago Yaki is such a typical Japanese dish.
Ika Geso

Ika Geso

 
Last but not least is the Ika Geso, deep fried squid. It has a thin and light batter which make it a great snack with beer.

Sashimi
Right after our appetizers, we dived into the Sashimi as this item is value for money. It is a must go after item at any buffet. Lol!
Sashimi

Sashimi

 
We have all the available Sashimi on the menu; the Maguro, Mekajiki, Hamachi, Salmon, Tako and Hotate. When it was on the table, the first we took note was the thickness. We were Wow by this plate and we relished in the freshness and sweetness of each thick slice.

Sushi
There are a total of 21 Sushi, 7 Temaki and 9 Maki.

 
First to be served on the table was the Hokkaido Maki which is a sushi roll with salmon in the centre, laced with special sauce and mayonnaise and finally with generous amount of ebiko as final touch.

 
Some of the Sushi we tried were (from right to left) Aburi Salmon Mentaiko, Aburi Ebi, Unagi, Hamachi Truffle and Maguro with Mayonnaise. What I like about the sushi is that the rice amount was small versus the meat.

Others
If you are looking for some hot food, The Hokkaido Buffet Experience of Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant has plenty to offer.
Ebi Tempura

Ebi Tempura

 
Tori Karaage

Tori Karaage

 
Two of my favourite are the Wagyu Mushroom and Pork with Ginger. These 2 dishes were flavourful. And most importantly, they weren’t cooked using the same sauce.
Pork with Ginger

Pork with Ginger

 
Wagyu Mushroom

Wagyu Mushroom

 
If diners need some vegetables, the seems like one and only vegetables to order the Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom.
Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom

Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom

 
Ginkarei Shioyaki

Ginkarei Shioyaki

 
Ginkarei Shioyaki looks similar to Cod and has a smooth oily texture like Cod too. A pity this dish is bland.
Tebasaki

Tebasaki

 
The Tebasaki, grilled chicken wings, though succulent but the flavour remains on the skin. It did not penetrate into the meat.
In total, there are about 25 cooked items to choose from.

Noodles and Rice
Lastly, there are 2 Soba and Udon (Hot and Cold) with ingredients of Pork, Beef, Chicken and Vegetables, 2 Don (Pork and Chicken) and a Garlic Fried Rice. And how could we forget the Miso Soup.

All the dishes found at The Hokkaido Buffet Experience is also available as Ala Carte. And the restaurant claims that they are serving the same quality as per Ala Carte for the Buffet.

Though Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant provide a good selection that are fresh at The Hokkaido Buffet Experience, I can’t help but to lament on the lack of dessert. It is a shame that it doesn’t include them for a rounded experience. And drinks are to be ordered separately like the desserts.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Tasting Menu Smile Jun 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Steaks and Grills

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/26/outback-steakhouse-singapore-tasting-menu/

Outback Steakhouse isn't new to most. I am sure most must have visited once if not multiple. The restaurant has recently introduced a new Tasting Menu.
First is the appetizer. Outback offers 4 mouthwatering appetizer choices which are all great for sharing as a group.
Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche

Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche

 
The Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche ($14.90) which is the most well received among their customers and that include us too.
Crispy Fried Mushroom

Crispy Fried Mushroom

 
Next is the Crispy Fried Mushroom ($13.90). When one bite into the mushroom, the juice of the mushroom started bursting out. Dipping into the spicy ranch dressing will elevate the tasting pleasure, provided you are one who like sauce. Otherwise the natural tasting flavour will be good enough.
Crispy Chicken Bites

Crispy Chicken Bites

 
There are too many diners who loves their chicken and the Crispy Chicken Bites ($10.90) would suit them most. Likewise a sauce is prepared too. For this dish, it is with a spicy New Orleans sauce.
BBQ Pulled Pork Fries

BBQ Pulled Pork Fries

 
The BBQ Pulled Pork Fries ($14.90) is a dish that received 2 thumbs up from each diner. Instead of having plain fries, this dish comes with additional ingredients such as pulled pork, cheese and spicy Ranch dressing to spicy things up.
A total of 5 entrees available for selection with choices of beef, pork and pasta and prawns.
Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye

Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye

 
On the list, being the first is the Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye ($37.90). The USDA ribeye is seared with peppercorn crust drizzled with balsamic topped with grilled asparagus and paired with peppercorn cream sauce.
The Porterhouse

The Porterhouse

 
Another steak is The Porterhouse ($45.90) consisting of filet tenderloin and strip. This is a simple steak with nothing fanciful. Best when one prefer savouring the natural juicy fragrance of the beef.
Steak and Shrimp Skewers

Steak and Shrimp Skewers

 
Having the best of both world is the Steak and Shrimp Skewers ($39.90). Diners could enjoy both the beef and prawns.
Steak Pomodoro Pasta

Steak Pomodoro Pasta

 
For diners who love their steak and pasta could opt for the Steak Pomodoro Pasta ($24.90). The cavatappi pasta is topped with a pomodoro sauce that is slow cooked with steak and tomatoes. As such it is a tomato based pasta with flavourful beef scent. Before serving the dish is topped with basil and Parmesan cheese. This dish is suitable for the kids too.
Garlic Glazed Pork Loin

Garlic Glazed Pork Loin

 
Should beef is not your preference, one could opt for the only non-beef dish on the Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu, the Garlic Glazed Pork Loin ($25.90).
All the dishes comes with either one or two sides whereby diners could choose from the available list of sides.
Chocolate Thunder From Down Under

Chocolate Thunder From Down Under

 
In the Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu, the only dessert available is the Chocolate Thunder From Down Under ($14.90). A relatively huge scoop of vanilla ice cream sat on a chocolaty brownie. This dessert is a little too sweet for me. It make a great sharing dessert for the adult and children in the family.
Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu consists of dishes suitable for the young and the old from the appetisers to entree to dessert. As such it is no doubt family friendly.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Full review with photo at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/31/o-coffee-club-new-all-day-breakfast-menu-in-2016/

O Coffee Club has introduced 3 new breakfast items. The first is the ever popular Eggs Benedict ($10.90). The serving size is considerably huge for the price. Diners have the choice of smoked salmon, ham or Mangalica bacon. We had the third option. Ciabatta is used instead of white bread of English Muffin.
Eggs Benedict

Eggs Benedict

 
Next is the Waffle Stacker ($19.90). It is gigantic. There are 3 thick waffles that are denser in texture. At the top, it is with Manglica bacon while the bottom is with scrambled egg. Diners could opt for either coffee maple syrup or gula melaka cream.
Waffle Stacker

Waffle Stacker

 
Last but not least is the French Toast ($7.90). At O Coffee Club,the bread is cut it into smaller cube before deep frying. Uniquely, the French Toast is serrved with a orange infused mascarpone cheese. Likewise, diners could opt for either the Coffee Syrup or Gula Melaka cream.
French Toast

French Toast

 
All Time Favourite
First is the Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp. Diner can choose either the Chicken Picante ($11.90) or Smoked Salmon ($12.90) for the salad. They paired it with Poached Egg instead. The highlight in the dish is the cheese crisp which added more cheese flavour to the dish.
Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp with Smoked Salmon

Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp with Smoked Salmon

 
The Country Pie ($12.90) is another All Time Favourite item. Don't under estimate this small bowl of comfort food.
Country Pie

Country Pie

 
The Garlic Prawn Pasta ($15.90) is with spaghetti tossed in pesto. A simple but yet satisfying dish.
Garlic Prawn Pasta

Garlic Prawn Pasta

 
Lastly is the Muddy Mud Pie ($11.90). This is my must have dessert whenever I dine at O Coffee Club.
Muddy Mud Pie

Muddy Mud Pie

 
Gourmet Coffee
Many coffee drinkers might not have noticed that O Coffee Club provide a range of Gourmet Coffee. 8 single origin beans and a blend were offered.
Syphon Brewing In Progress

Syphon Brewing In Progress

 
Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew

Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew

 
We have the O Coffee Club Classic with French Press and Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew.
O Coffee Club Classic with French Press

O Coffee Club Classic with French Press

 
There are many other drinks available with my all time favourite the Iced Earl Vanilla. O Coffee Club has introduced 4 new drinks, Frozen Espresso Latte ($6.40), Iced Blended Matcha Green ($6.90), Very Berries ($6.90) and Sunny Orange ($6.90).
Frozen Espresso Latte with Polar Bear

Frozen Espresso Latte with Polar Bear

 
We tried the Frozen Espresso Latte ($6.40) and Iced Blended Matcha Green ($6.90). The Frozen Espresso Latte is a very cute drink. The Espresso is frozen with either a cute polar bear or twin penguins floating in the milk. One have the option of sweetening it with syrup. The Iced Blended Matcha Green is equally good.
Frozen Espresso Latte with Penguins

Frozen Espresso Latte with Penguins

 
More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Golden Retriever Theme Cafe OK Jun 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta

Full review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/06/07/pompompurin-cafe-orchard-central/

Pompompurin is one of the many Sanrio cute characters. He is a Golden Retriever dog who loves to collect shoes, has a talent for napping and loves his mama's Caramel Pudding.

The space of Pompompurin Cafe isn't huge. It is decorated like a garden with lots of traces of Pompompurin. The most attractive part of the cafe is at the centre of the cafe where Pompompurin and friends are at. There are 4 “Tomodachi House” (Friends House) with each a Pompompurin’s friends; Bagel the Squirrel, Coconut the Monkey, Mint the Frog and Macaroon the Golden Retriever. These are found on the left of the cafe when facing from the cafe.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
It is interesting that the cafe serves desserts before the Main. I was quite shock when I saw my dessert order served first. It isn't a bad move, just unusual. We don't mind having Mains after desserts after all.
At Pompompurin Cafe, there isn't much food selection. It is limited to 6 Mains and 5 desserts. Among the 11 items, 4 were recommended. And if you like to take home a souvenir after dinning at Pompompurin Cafe, look out for the dishes with a mug. There are 3 dishes you could choose; Bagel's Special Pancake Tower, Spaghetti Napolitana and Mushrooom & Bacon Carbonara.
Each month, there are 2 special available, a Main and a dessert.
Spaghetti Napolitana

Spaghetti Napolitana

 
We opted for the Spaghetti Napolitana ($26.99). This is one of the 3 dishes with the Pompompurin mug that diners could take home as souvenir. The tomato based pasta wasn't interesting at all. It tasted very normal with mainly pepperoni flavours. My Mom felt she could cook better than these.
Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff

Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff

 
The second Main we got for sharing is the Pompompurin's Beef Stroganoff ($18.99). The rice is shaped into Pompompurin's head. This dish is more flavourful and tasty than our first. At the minimum, we could savour the beef flavour. In the gravy, there were extremely thin slices of beef and a beef patty shaped into Pompompurin's signature beret.
Mango Juice

Mango Juice

 
We felt the desserts and drinks fare better than the Mains. My Mango Juice ($11.99) was filled with mango pieces and of course goodness. The only dessert we ordered is the Pompompurin's Mango Parfait ($18.99). We like the totality of the taste profile.
Mango Parfait

Mango Parfait

 
After having the desserts, we thought it makes sense for Pompompurin Cafe to serve the diners desserts first since the desserts tasted better. It will leave a good first impression. LOL!
Merchandise

Merchandise

 
Finally, there are more Pompompurin merchandise on sales. While making payment for your meal, do browse them and diners could make purchase for these lovely merchandise too.
We felt the food at Pompompurin Cafe was extremely average and it is expensive. Our damage for the above was $91 which included GST and service charge.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com
Facade

Facade

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0