OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity814 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Cute Dim Sum Smile Jun 07, 2016   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

With Father's Day round the corner, Peony Jade New Dim Sum Menu 2016 is introduced in time for this celebration. These dishes will be available from 1 June 2016. In this menu, diners could expect to find quite a number of cute food. It is great for family with kids and of course for adults too.

The first 4 Dim Sum are cute food Dim Sum. I am so glad that there are quite a number of items in the Peony Jade New Dim Sum Menu 2016. First to appear on stage is Tweety Birdie 香脆鸽吞凤梨 ($8.00 for 3 pieces). Each Tweety Birdie has bespoke Pineapple Jam encased in buttery chinese pastry baked to perfect golden brown. It is a feast for the eyes too.
Tweety Birdie 香脆鸽吞凤梨

Tweety Birdie 香脆鸽吞凤梨

 
Instead of having a plain Char Siu Bao, what about having them in the shape of piggie. Here we have the Steamed Piggie Cha Siu Bao 一籠八戒 ($6.00 for 3 pieces). There are a surprise in these Cha Siu Bao too as bamboo are added into them to add crunch.
Steamed Piggie Cha Siu Bao 一籠八戒

Steamed Piggie Cha Siu Bao 一籠八戒

 
Peony Jade Steamed Matcha Salted Egg Yolk Molten Bao ($9.00 for 3 pieces) in the shaped of Frog is up next. For match fan, this is a must order. The matcha isn't overly sweet and yet it has the bitter sweet hint of the matcha.
Peony Jade Steamed Matcha Salted Egg Yolk Molten Bao

Peony Jade Steamed Matcha Salted Egg Yolk Molten Bao

 
Peony Jade New Dim Sum Menu 2016 - Kermit Bao 'vomiting' Matcha filling.
Kermit the Frog ''Vomit'' Bao

Kermit the Frog ''Vomit'' Bao

 
Let out your creative juice to create more cuteness.

By now, we already feel that adorable were already overloaded. And to round up the meal, we have the final bun that could have the lava flow, the Steamed Molten Choc-on-bao ($7.50 for 3 pieces). So be creative and let the flow. You know what I mean. If not, turn to Instagram for some inspiration. LoL!
Steamed Molten Choc-on-bao

Steamed Molten Choc-on-bao

 
Next are new Dim Sum, though not cute, certainly delish. Crispy Puff 香脆黑椒牛肉酥 ($9.50 for 3 pieces) is the first items on the Peony Jade New Dim Sum Menu 2016. The puff is similar to the crispy curry puff. Instead of having the typical curry filling, in this is the peppery tenderloin beef filling. If you are a pepper fan, you surely enjoy this Dim Sum.
Crispy Puff 香脆黑椒牛肉酥

Crispy Puff 香脆黑椒牛肉酥

 
Black Pepper Beef Filling

Black Pepper Beef Filling

 
The Drunken Chic Dumpling 黄酒醉鸡饺 ($8) has a very pretty colour. The skin-wrap is coated in pink and a green chive is used to tie the opening. This provided a nice contrast. It has a strong alcohol fragrance in the filling.
Drunken Chic Dumpling 黄酒醉鸡饺

Drunken Chic Dumpling 黄酒醉鸡饺

 
My favourite Dim Sum in the Peony Jade New Dim Sum Menu 2016 has to be the Deep-fried Phoenix Prawn with Cheese encased in Crispy Beancurd Skin 脆炸芝丝凤尾明虾 ($9.50 for 3 pieces). Firstly, I like deep-fried food and it has all my favourite ingredients which I thought all of them complemented each other well. Certainly 2 thumbs up from me. In fact, all diners sang praise of this dish too.
Deep-fried Phoenix Prawn with Cheese encased in Crispy Beancurd Skin 脆炸芝丝凤尾明虾

Deep-fried Phoenix Prawn with Cheese encased in Crispy Beancurd Skin 脆炸芝丝凤尾明虾

 
Yum! Yum! Yum!
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 28, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

At the Foot of Mount Faber Smile May 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Original Reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/07/fuel-plus-at-morse-road/

Fuel Plus rested under the foot of Mount Faber, surrounded with greens is the sister cafe of Refuel at Bedok. When I saw the address 16 Morse Road, I thought it was familiar and then realised that it took over the space of 93 Degree C Coffee. For those who have never patronised the 93 Degree, you can’t spot the cafe along Morse Road, instead, turn right into Wishart Road from Morse Road if you are coming from Telok Blangah Road.

 
The raw space where it was occupied by 93 Degree C Coffee previously has now transformed into a hipster looking Aussie-style one. Fuel Plus cafe has cleverly uses different tiles on various walls, pillars, counters and even on the floor to provide the different texture instead of just plain white cafe. It has elements that captivate.

 
Even though it has an A3 size one page, it has lots to offer. On the menu were 7 sections; Beverages, Desserts, Cakes, Eggs & Such, Mains & Burgers, Pastas & Salads, lastly being Bites.

 
The commonly found espresso-based coffee is also provided at Fuel Plus. There isn’t anything usual or special under this section. As usual my choice Espresso-based coffee is the Cappuccino ($5) which has a medium body, pretty low acidity and mainly nutty note.

 
For diners who prefer tea could opt for the Tea by pot ($5.50) or the recommended Fuel Ice Tea ($5).

 
Other options include the Shakes and Sodas. I tried the Raspberry Basil Soda ($6.50) which is lightly sweet and nice basil fragrance.

 
Fuel Plus At Morse Road, Telok Blangah, Singapore - Desserts, Mains and Burgers, Soft shell Crab in What e Crab Burger

 
I have not tried any breaky items under the Eggs & Such. I dived into the “Mains & Burgers” and picked What e Crab Burger ($16). Basically, this is a deep fried softshell crab sandwiched between a burger bun with a bed of shredded cucumber and wasabi mayo and lots of roe. By the burger side is shoe string fries. As long as you like softshell crab, you can’t go wrong.

 
We went for the Baked Chicken Stew ($17) as it is a recommended dish by Fuel Plus. I was surprised to find the chicken tasty and not too heavy in tomato sauce.

 
Beef Ragu Pappardelle ($18) was my pick from the Pastas & Salads section. This is a recommended dish by Fuel Plus. This dish uses Pappardelle as the pasta mixed with herby tomato sauce, mainly rosemary herb. The beef was cooked in the same sauce. It was tender.

 
Fuel Plus serves quite a number of pretty plating desserts. The Pump it Up Hotcake ($16) and The Wicked French Toast ($15) both are the recommendation by Fuel Plus has enticing look. 

Homemade Apple Crumble ($9) is a smaller portion dish suitable for one to finish. The granny smith chunk were perfectly caramelized and the crunchiness remains. It was topped with granola instead of the usual butter crumbs. Finally, it was topped with a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream.

 
Limited cake varieties were served at Fuel Plus too.I thought well of Fuel Plus. At the very least, the food I tried were delish though not sure about the rest. I like the ambience too and its location, since it is accessible by public transport with minimal walking in a quaint environment.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

At Home In Peony Jade Smile May 24, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/19/at-home-in-peony-jade-new-ala-carte-menu/

In celebration of its 12th Anniversary of gourment glory, Peony Jade has introduced a new At Home In Peony Jade ala carte menu with several new dishes and Dim Sum. These dishes will be available from 1 June 2016 onward.

Presenting the dishes from the new At Home in Peony Jade menu. There are 7 savoury dishes and 2 Dim Sum.

 
The first to be served was the Appetiser Platter. On it were 3 items. From left to right, there were the Chinos Salad consisting of Crispy Duck Salad 手撕香酥鴨沙律 ($18 per serving). Next was the Suckling Pig served with Otak wrapped in Vietnamese Rice Roll Wrap 么么袋乌打片皮乳猪全体 ($268). This is good for 10 guests. And finally, ended it with the strongest in flavour, the Marinated Drunken Clams 品醉蚶 ($10-S/$15-M/$20-L). This last appetiser item is quite spicy. The marinate were strong to mask the unpleasant clams flavours.
Conch Chicken Consomme with Black Garlic 功夫茶(黑蒜炖螺头汤)

Conch Chicken Consomme with Black Garlic 功夫茶(黑蒜炖螺头汤)

 
Next is a soup, the Tea-Pot Soup contains the double-boiled Conch Chicken Consomme with Black Garlic 功夫茶(黑蒜炖螺头汤) ($18 per tea pot). The serving is good for 2 guests. I am not one who loves my soup, but I totally enjoyed this soup to the max. The black garlic enhances the flavours. It is so delish till I finished the entire bowl. This is extremely rare.
Peony Jade has introduced 2 Cantonese Pai-Tong dishes (Claypot dishes) to the At Home In Peony Jade New Menu.
Stewed Egg Plant with Hand-peeled Crabmeat in Claypot

Stewed Egg Plant with Hand-peeled Crabmeat in Claypot

 
One of which is the Stewed Egg Plant with Hand-peeled Crabmeat in Claypot ($38). I find the overall taste a little bland. And most importantly, the fragrance and scent of the sauce rest only on the surface of the egg plant. It is really a pity that the essence didn’t get into the the egg plant.
Braised Oxtail with Red wine 红酒焖牛尾煲

Braised Oxtail with Red wine 红酒焖牛尾煲

 
The second claypot dish is the Braised Oxtail with Red wine 红酒焖牛尾煲 ($38). I totally enjoyed the flavour as it is rich. Most importantly, the flavour from the sauce penetrated into the Oxtail meat. The best way to enjoy the sauce is to dip the fried Mantou into the sauce.

The last savoury dish is the Roasted Crispy Chicken stuffed with Glutinous Rice and preserved meats 腊味脆皮糥米鸡 ($58). Its alias is Gai Mai Lo. It is an inverted Lo Mai Gai, since the glutinous rice with the diced preserved Chinese Sausage is stuffed in a de-boned whole Chicken. And It is fried to perfection before serving.
Roasted Crispy Chicken stuffed with Glutinous Rice and preserved meats 腊味脆皮糥米鸡

Roasted Crispy Chicken stuffed with Glutinous Rice and preserved meats 腊味脆皮糥米鸡

 
Finally, some sweet desserts that will be available as part of the Dim Sum Menu. There are 2 items. My favourite being the Deep-fried Sesame Molten Dumplings Filled With Taro Paste and Salted Egg Yolk served with Coconut Ice-cream ($12 per 3 pieces). The ball consists of a molten lava Taro Paste and Salted Egg. The layer of complex flavours simply combined together perfectly.

 
The Coconut Ice Cream was rich in coconut flavour, smooth and lightly sweetened. Lastly is the Steamed Molten Choc-On-Bao ($7.50 per 3 pieces) were equally good though there isn’t much surprise elements when compared to the Deep-Fried Sesame Ball.

There are a few pretty outstanding dishes at the At Home In Peony Jade New Ala Carte Menu. The must order are the Double-boiled Conch Consomme with Black Garlic and the Deep-Fried Sesame Molten Dumplings filled with Taro Paste & Salted Egg Yolk.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 13, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ice Rolls OK May 24, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

Original Review at 

Aiskilin sounds like how the senior folks who speak only dialect or Mandarin would pronounce “Ice Cream”. This is an ice cream parlour located along the highly dense cafe stretch of Upper Thomson Road.

 
The ice cream parlour is strictly rather raw with cemented walls, decked with simple black chairs and tables. And most would noticed that the walls are dressed in pink and it has a huge menu on a wall.

 
It offers specifically the Ice Cream Rolls in 7 flavours ($5.90). Namely XO Durian, Matcha, Earl Grey, Tiramisu, Avocao, Mix Berries and Thai Milk Tea. On the menu, it indicated that it comes with 2 mix but I was offered to choose none on my visit. And 1 free toppings and 1 syrup which I got them, at least. At Aiskilin, they whipped up Waffle ($5) too with and option of having it with ice cream ($9).

 
Another big items on the menu is the Milkshake ($3.90) with 14 flavours to choose from. The 14 flavours are Raspberry, Strawberry, Banana, Peach, Mango, Sourop, Guava, Passion Fruit, Kiwi, Lemon, Milo, Nutella and Durian. Lastly, coffee and tea were available too.

 
I chose Earl Grey. For all Ice Cream, first they will “fry” the mixture on an icy metal surface to freeze up the mixture.

 
Next, lay flat and start rolling. Lastly, pick up the roll and put them into the cup.

 
Before serving, topping was added and choice syrup or sauce was drizzled.

 
The ice cream rolls were lightly sweetened and it has a good sense of Early Grey though I don’t mind having it stronger. But somehow, all the ice cream rolls that I tried isn’t creamy. This would be good for diners who like the dessert light.

 
Aiskilin is the another ice cream roll shop added to the area. It’s location is relatively more convenient since it is along the main road.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Enjoying Seafood in A Mall Smile May 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/20/uncle-leong-signatures-at-waterway-point-punggol-singapore/


This is the first of their restaurants to be in a shopping mall of a dense neighbourhood. Uncle Leong Signatures captures the essence of all three outlets, serving the very best of the best from their menu. Uncle Leong Seafood restaurant has a humbling beginning. It was found in a coffee shop located in Ang Mo Kio neighbourhood and have since expanded with various location.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
At Uncle Leong Signatures outlet, its objective is to create a more western vibes, resembling a cafe for a more comfortable ambience. As such the menu offers a one size dish with no small, medium or large sizes. And it indicates its pricing for all dishes. Diners won’t have to worry about what the exact dollar value what the seasonal price would be which is the norm at all Seafood restaurant.
Shimmering Sand Crab 金沙螃蟹

Shimmering Sand Crab 金沙螃蟹

 
At Uncle Leong Signatures, it serves a variety of as much as 2 dozen of crab dishes with its signatures being the Shimmering Sand Crab 金沙螃蟹 and ‘Chili Crab’ Hong Kong Style Typhoon Shelter Crab 避风塘螃蟹. Each crab is priced at $70 and weighs around 700g to 900g. We tried the former and all eight at the table gave 2 thumbs up each. The sauce is made of rich creamy butter, white pepper and fried oats covered the shell of the crab.
Signatures Curry Crab

Signatures Curry Crab

 
Uncle Leong Signatures plans to introduce several new dishes. The first new creation is the Signatures Curry Crab which will be on its new menu in June 2016. This dish has a typical India curry flavour. It is great for the curry fan who love their Indian cuisines.
Tomato Soya Sauce 干煎虾禄

Tomato Soya Sauce 干煎虾禄

 
The next new dish that will be on Uncle Leong Signatures new menu is the Pan Fried Prawns in Tomato Soya Sauce 干煎虾禄 ($19.90). The flavour reminds me of my Grandmother’s stirred fried prawns in tomato sauce. I am sure my family would reminisce of my Grandmother wonderful home cooked dish when savouring this lovely dish.
Cereal Chicken 麦片鸡

Cereal Chicken 麦片鸡

 
Commonly seen is the Cereal prawn but at Uncle Leong Signature, they came up with a chicken version, the Cereal Chicken 麦片鸡 ($16.90). A dish which you must eat it while it is hot. I am sure cereal fan would fall in love with the chicken version too.
XO Sauce with Scallops XO 酱带子

XO Sauce with Scallops XO 酱带子

 
XO Sauce is commonly used in seafood restaurant for various dishes, at this seafood restaurant, they are offering the XO Sauce with Scallops XO 酱带子 ($19.90). The fresh scallops was in excellent combination with their XO Sauce.
Crispy Milk Granules Marble Goby 奶沙顺壳

Crispy Milk Granules Marble Goby 奶沙顺壳

 
Crispy Milk Granules Marble Goby 奶沙顺壳 ($48) is a deep fried dish, and it is spiced up a little in the sauce. The fish was fresh and the timing of the frying was perfect resulting in a good exterior crisp and soft interior. One of my favourite dish at the dinner.
Nescafe Pork Ribs 传统咖啡排骨

Nescafe Pork Ribs 传统咖啡排骨

 
Nescafe Pork Ribs 传统咖啡排骨 ($16.90) is one other dish I adore in terms of its flavour. For non-coffee drinker, you need not worry about its taste. There isn’t the typical coffee aroma, instead it tasted more like a sweet and sour pork with the tomato flavour absence. The marinate is strong and permeate throughout the ribs meat. Though some of the ribs are dominated with fats.
Treasure Box Beancurd 宝盒豆腐

Treasure Box Beancurd 宝盒豆腐

 
After having so much of meat, time for some Tofu and vegetables, Treasure Box Beancurd 宝盒豆腐 ($16.90) is a good option. The seafood restaurant uses the egg beancurd, deep fried it and dug a hole in the centre to hold the diced seafood.
Twins Taste Kai Lan 双味芥兰

Twins Taste Kai Lan 双味芥兰

 
The Twins Taste Kai Lan 双味芥兰 ($15.90) is one of the 6 Chef's recommendation. On the plate, one side is with poached Kai Lan with small dried fish and shallot, while the other side is deep fried and topped with meat floss.

Uncle Leong Signatures Restaurant serves relatively high standard and quality dishes. This is certainly a great addition for residents in Punggol and those living nearby.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 17, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0