OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity814 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Clams Festival Smile May 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa

Original Review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/12/putien-clams-festival-2016/


Putien Clams Festival is back. Putien is introducing 7 Clams dishes. The cooking method range from boiling, steaming, stir-fried to even deep frying. For each and every dishes, the objective is to retain the juiciness and flavours.
PUTIEN Facade

PUTIEN Facade

 
The golden-shelled succulent goodness are air-flown from Duo Tou Village in the Fujian province of China. The coastal area of Duo Tou Village is rich in a rare black mud that is rich in nutrients for rearing the clams. In addition, it is very pure with little sand particles. Hence these clams are plum and meaty, growing up to 6cm in length.
Salted Spicy PUTIEN Clam 椒盐蛏

Salted Spicy PUTIEN Clam 椒盐蛏

 
Among the dishes, Salted Spicy PUTIEN Clam 椒盐蛏 ($20.90-S / $31.90-L), a deep fried dish is lightly salted to enhance the fragrance of the Clams. For those who enjoyed the similar Chicken dish might like this.
PUTIEN Clam Omelete 蛏炒蛋

PUTIEN Clam Omelete 蛏炒蛋

 
Next is the PUTIEN Clam Omelete 蛏炒蛋 ($20.90-S / $31.90-L). It is great for egg lovers. It was fried with abundant of eggs.
Stir-fried PUTIEN Clam with Ginger and Spring Onion 姜葱炒蛏

Stir-fried PUTIEN Clam with Ginger and Spring Onion 姜葱炒蛏

 
The most common way the Clams are being cooked and enjoyed in Dou Tou is the Stir-fried PUTIEN Clam with Ginger and Spring Onion 姜葱炒蛏 ($20.90-S / $31.90-L), as it retains much of the clams natural flavours. Hence, Putien brought this dish to Singaporean.
Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Minced Garlic 蒜茸蒸蛏

Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Minced Garlic 蒜茸蒸蛏

 
Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Minced Garlic 蒜茸蒸蛏 Closed-up

Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Minced Garlic 蒜茸蒸蛏 Closed-up

 
A highly flavoured dish among the diners of the night is the Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Minced Garlic 蒜茸蒸蛏($20.90-S / $31.90-L). The light garlicy scent didn’t mask the flavour, instead it brought out the best in the Clam. It took the kitchen staff lots of steps to produce such a standardized chopped garlic.
Baked PUTIEN Clam served on Hot Plate 铁板盐炬蛏

Baked PUTIEN Clam served on Hot Plate 铁板盐炬蛏

 
Another dish which retain the natural flavour well is the Baked PUTIEN Clam served on Hot Plate 铁板盐炬蛏($20.90-S / $31.90-L). The clams were baked in a bed of sea-salt and Szechuan Pepper. Remove the flesh from the shell and dip it with some sea-salt to savour the goodness of the Clams is the best way to savour the clams according to the Executive Chef of Putien, Li Wenbo.
Boiled PUTIEN Clam Soup with Tofu Meatballs 豆丸蛏溜

Boiled PUTIEN Clam Soup with Tofu Meatballs 豆丸蛏溜

 
Some ingredients in Boiled PUTIEN Clam Soup with Tofu Meatballs 豆丸蛏溜

Some ingredients in Boiled PUTIEN Clam Soup with Tofu Meatballs 豆丸蛏溜

 
A soup is available for soup lovers, the Boiled PUTIEN Clam Soup with Tofu Meatballs 豆丸蛏溜 ($20.90-S / $31.90-L). The balls slightly larger than the ping pong ball are made of tofu. One could savour the bean flavour and it was smooth. These were made with special recipe. The soup was boiled with clam releases the sweet seafood scent together with the vegetable sweetness and the parsley fragrance.
Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Wine 酒蒸蛏

Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Wine 酒蒸蛏

 
Lastly, the must order, the Steamed PUTIEN Clam with Wine 酒蒸蛏 ($20.90-S / $31.90-L) is full of clams goodness and Chinese Wine goodness. This is one of the best dish among the 7 dishes. The soup is the essence of the dish. Make sure you finish even the last drop of the soup.

 
Date of Visit: May 10, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Original Review on http://www.nahmj.com/2015/11/10/non-entree-dessert-cafe-farrer-park-singapore/

Non Entree Desserts has chosen a bring sunshine yellow as the main colour theme. And with some mix-and-match furniture in the dining area too. You could find some cushy 80s looking kind of sofa and the normal tables in the area. At the very least the colour theme of the furniture is pretty considerably brown of various tones.

Orders are at the counter while food and drinks were served. And they charged service charge too. As such, my friend would complain about the need for self order at counter since service charge was implemented at the cafe. She would expect a full service from order to billing by the cafe.

Non Entree Desserts Cafe is yet another cafe to offer the plated desserts. A total of 7 plated creations with some selections of cakes and pastries too. Looks like the plated desserts may be here to stay for some time or rather up and coming.
Rubber Ducky

Rubber Ducky

 
One of a very cute dessert offered at the cafe is the Rubber Ducky ($12.90). As the name suggested, you could see a rubber ducky shaped mango pudding swimming in a “bath foam” which is a lemongrass cloud. And sago is hidden within the cloud. The entire taste is similar to the Hong Kong dessert version of Mango Sago Dessert.
Chocolate Avalanche

Chocolate Avalanche

 
A hot favourite at Non Entree Desserts cafe is the Chocolate Avalanche ($13.90). The Valrhona Chocolate is hidden in the cake above with an orange infused chocolate vanilla ice cream at the bottom waiting to receive the chocolate lava. This is my fave dessert at Non Entree Desserts.
Matcha Avalance

Matcha Avalance

 
Non Entree Desserts has recently introduced the Matcha Avalanche ($13.90). It has a good sense of Matcha and it was mixed with red bean in the matcha lava. An scoop of Houjicha ice cream is in the glass that complemented all the ingredients.

If you prefer some of the more classics desserts such as gelato and cakes, both were also offered at Non Entree Desserts.
La Rose

La Rose

 

 
We tried only one of the cake, La Rose ($8.90) among the displayed. A nice cake with rose flavour but I don't have much recollection of the taste of this cake.

I have been to Non-Entree several times after my first visit and I am still visiting it hoping to complete trying all the desserts on its menu and of course the new one too.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value For Money Meal Smile May 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Omakase

Original review on http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/09/sushiro-thomson-plaza-fame-cheap-chirashi-don-singapore/

Sushiro at Thomson Plaza has waves of raving by many food blogers cum instagrammers about its Cheap Chirashi Don. But that’s certainly not all. I checked it out with some like-minded individuals for a lunch meal over a weekend. In fact, I visited Sushiro twice in total before coming up with this post.The space is some sort of a kiosk with only 12 seats. As such, with the very limited seats available at Sushiro, expect a queue. The design at this restaurant, from the interior design to the staff uniform brought out the Japanese style in it.

 
The main selling point at Sushiro is their cheap Bara-chirashi Don ($12.80) topped with generous amount of sashimi and seafood. There are salmon, octopus, roe, prawn and tuna. It was fresh and tasty.
Bara-chirashi Don

Bara-chirashi Don

 
There are other Seafood on Sushi Rice bowl at Sushiro too. There are 9 other sushi rice bowl with 3 premium Don among the list.
5 Kinds of Torched Mentai Sushi

5 Kinds of Torched Mentai Sushi

 
At Sushiro, they offered 4 Donburi. We tried only Unagi Don ($15.80). We thought it was good but didn’t impress. The 3 other Donburi are Salmon Teriyaki Don ($9.80), Salmon Mentaiyaki Don ($12.80) and Tamago Mentaiyaki Don ($8.80)
5 Kinds of Torched Mentai Sushi

5 Kinds of Torched Mentai Sushi

 
If diner prefer lesser rice, one could opt for Sushi instead. Sushiro provided 5 Sushi Nigiri Set for selection. Salmon Sushi Nigiri Set, 6 pcs ($9.80), 5 Kinds of Sushi ($8.80), 5 Kinds of Torched Sushi ($8.80), 5 Kinds of Torched Mentai Sushi ($9.80) and lastly a luxury option, the Omakase Sushi, 7 pcs ($28.80). Should diners prefer an ala carte selection of Sushi Nigiri, 14 types are available ranging from $2.80 to $5.80 per piece.
Salmon Belly Sashimi

Salmon Belly Sashimi

 
Sashimi is also aviable at Sushiro with selection of Sake – Salmon ($4.80), Maguro – Tuna ($5.80), Chu-toro – Bluefin Fatty Tuna ($14.80), O-toro – Bluefin Fattiest Tuna ($25.80) , Mekajiki – Swordfish Belly ($6.80) and Ikura – Salmon Roe ($9.80). Alternative, one could go for the Sashimi Set.
Chawanmushi

Chawanmushi

 
Appetizer such as Chawanmushi ($2.80), Ikura Chawanmushi ($5.80), Edamame ($2.80), Unagi Kabayaki ($25.80), House-brew Soup ($2.80). Lastly the hot favourite, Hotate Mentaiyaki ($4.80). It is a baked scallop with mentaiko and cheese. It is such as rich but tasty dish.
Hotate Mentaiyaki

Hotate Mentaiyaki

 
There are a few off the menu dishes too. We tried the Japanese Style glazed duck with onsen egg on rice ($14.80) which is a popular dish among Sushiro diners. Personally, I quite like it though my 2 other dinning partners weren’t impressed with it. One felt the tourched duck didn’t bring out the char flavour, while the other who is a chef felt they might have purchased the duck and it wasn’t made by Sushiro.
Japanese Style glazed duck with onsen egg on rice

Japanese Style glazed duck with onsen egg on rice

 
The other off the menu dishes are Teriyaki Chicken Don on sticks ($12.80), Chicken Katsu Don with onsen egg on rice ($10.80), Japanese Tori Katsu with egg and onions on rice ($12.80), Hamachi Teriyaki ($13.80) and Hamachi Mentai ($16.80).
Lastly, diners could choose to complete your lunch with the Shiro Miso Soup and Salad by adding $3. If one would like to have sashimi on top of the soup and salad, could add $5.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bluish Cozy Cafe In The East Smile May 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

Original Review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/05/percolate-cafe-bedok-singapore/

Percolate Coffee has been around for a while and expanded at its original location to twice the size it was. It was only after its expansion that I visited them twice before this post. Both were for tea on weekdays only. and despite it was weekdays, at both visit, Percolate Coffee was packed to 90%. Lucky, it wasn't 100%. At least, we managed to grab a table at both occassions. And interestingly, I took the same table.

 
This cafe is another one which is below a HDB residential block. Beside the indoor seating area with air-condition, as an alternative, 2 tables were also placed outside the cafe for those who prefer natural air.

 
As I opened the door, I was surprised to find that they hacked a hole out of the wall and in it placed a communal table. And this wall is in an unusual blue.

 
Menu at Percolate Coffee is a single page. 2 columns; one for drinks and the other for food. At a glance, I see that there are more drinks option than food.

At Percolate Coffee, there isn't much choices for food. They offered mainly Croissants, both plain or with jam or with some fillings as sandwiches. The other option of sandwiches is on ciabatta. Two breakfast food; the organic granola and banana loaf. We have tried none of these offerings.

 
The usual Espresso based coffee in either black or white for hot drink option existed on the menu. There are some Iced Coffee too. The White are in 3oz ($4), 5oz ($4.50) and 7oz ($5). There is Hot Mocha ($5) and Iced ones ($5.50) too.

 
The Hot Mocha has a rich chocolate added into the coffee. Under the Iced Coffee, 2 interesting drink which I have never spotted on other cafe menu.

 
The first was the Sparkling Black ($5) which we ordered to try. It was too acidity for me. The other was the Espresso Tonic ($5.50).
Other drinks include the Chocolate and Cold Pressed Fruit Juice.

 
It is nice to see a variety of Tea; Hot Tea, Chai Latte, Cold Tea and Green Tea Latte. We tried the Lover's Rose ($6), a caffeine free tea. It is a blend of organic herbs, chamomile, rose petals, lavender, hibiscus and pink peppercorns. One would imagine the tea as sourish as a berry tea, but it is the case for the Lover's Rose. In addition, it has a stronger scent of Lavender than Rose.

 
Lastly, Percolate Coffee offers an array of cakes and pastries. Strangely, we picked the same cake on both occassions, the Earl Grey Lemon Cake ($7). It has very subtle Earl Grey flavour, it is dominated by the lemon curd that were sandwiched between the cake.

 
It is a cosy and warm cafe. Since in the neighbourhood, there isn't much choice, we don't see why it shouldn't attract. Hence expect it to be crowded even on weekdays.

 
And we would avoid it on weekends too.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 21, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

Original Review on http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/04/ollella-pourover-bar-somme-residence-farrer-park-singapore

Ollella And The Pourover Bar are at Somme Residence. Most might not have realised that it is a stone throw from City Square and the Farrer Park MRT station. It isn't as inconvenient a location that most might have imagined.

 
Ollella specialises in Choux pastry and have collaborated with Raphael and Karen for coffee. As such you will notice that there is The Pourover Bar occupying a corner of the shop.

 
When I entered Ollella, my attention was turned to the dinning area on my right. It has bar tables and chairs. But what caught my attention was the greens that are hung on the barrier and the flowers on the table. It is much like a garden.

At Ollella
At the moment, Ollella is offerring 7 chouquette flavours. One will find the Vanilla ($4), Dark Chocolate ($4.50), Lemon Meringue ($4), Raspberry ($5), Apple Cinammon ($4), Tiramisu ($5) and Matcha Azuki ($4.50).

I have a tough time deciding which 2 flavours I should be getting. As usual, I would love to have all of them. I am glad I did not succumbed to my greed. I went for the Lemon Meringue Chouquette ($4) and the Matcha Azuki ($4.50). 

 
The Lemon Meringue has a lemon curd within the choux pastry and a meringue on top of the choux resulting in a sourish and sweet pastry. The lemon curd was lightly sour. I wouldn't mind it to be more sourish. In short, it is a typical Lemon Meringue flavour.

The Matcha Azuki has red bean within the choux pastry and a Matcha cream on top. Lightly green tea flavour coupled with generous red bean. Both the choux though were delish, there isn't any surprise element.

 
For those who prefer to savour the plain choux pastry could go for the Chouquette. Beside the Chouquette, Ollella offers the Kueh Lapis and Choux Tart too. Ollella offers some tea blend to accompany their pastries. If diner prefer coffee, Ollella has The Pourover Bar to serve some V60 filter coffee and the Espresso based coffee. The coffee order could be done at the same time at Ollella.

The Pourover Bar
Karen and Raphael specialise in the Pourover coffee. The pair are very friendly and shares with customers a lot on coffee too. 

 
At the beginning, they offered beans roasted from Ninety Plus Coffee. A roastery hailed from Melbourne. There are beans from Tanazia, Ethiopia and Panama Gesha.

 
The coffee offered by The Pourover Bar is steep and it is going to be hard to swallow by most coffee drinkers, unless you are coffee connoisseur. They believe in only providing the best to consumers. So expect a cup of pourover at $11 and above. The most expensive currently offered by The Pourover Bar is a Panama Gesha at $45.

 
Ollella And The Pourover Bar as a pair offers fabulous pastries and high quality coffee. Such is a great collaboration for the SME in Singapore.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0