OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity814 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Set Menu for 10 Pax Smile Apr 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong



Asia Grand Restaurant is a quite a long established brand in Singapore, previously it was located at the former Asia Grand Hotel. Since the demolition of the hotel, it has relocated to Odeon Tower. I have a friend who is a fan of their Dim Sum, though I have never tried them. This remind me to try them out one day. Meanwhile, this post is devoted to the Dinner I had with a group of ex-colleagues.

 
It is interesting that throughout the meal, the diners felt that the food served at Asia Grand Restaurant is closer to Teochew cuisine despite them being a Cantonese Restaurant. One other point to note, Asia Grand Restaurant is one of the few restaurants that offer a table big enough for 15 pax. 

On the table, before our dinner began were plate of appetizer of fish cake and peppers. Most of us find it strange that this appetizer was served instead of the usual peanuts or pickled.
Steamed Fresh Prawn, 白灼生虾

Steamed Fresh Prawn, 白灼生虾

 
We ordered a Special Set Menu for 10 person at $598 ++. As we have 15 pax, we added for 5 pax. In this set menu for dinner, 8 dishes were served.
To get the dinner rolling, we started with the Steamed Fresh Prawn, 白灼生虾 as the first dish for this special menu. Anything that is fresh when steamed, the natural flavour and its sweetness were emitted. And this was the case for our Steamed Fresh Prawn.
Braised Minced Chicken Thick Soup with Egg White, 西湖鸡茸羮

Braised Minced Chicken Thick Soup with Egg White, 西湖鸡茸羮

 
As we have diner who doesn't take shark fins, as such the Braised Minced Chicken Thick Soup with Egg White, 西湖鸡茸羮 was a good choice as soup. The texture and taste resemble the usual shark fin soup. But personally, I am never a fan of soup, and not even to mention the thick gluey kind. Anyhow, I still went ahead to try and I could savour the chicken aroma in the soup and there was a good amount of minced chicken in it.
Braised Sliced Sea Whelk with Vegetables & Abalone Sauce, 鲍汁碧绿海螺片

Braised Sliced Sea Whelk with Vegetables & Abalone Sauce, 鲍汁碧绿海螺片

 
It was shortly followed by the Braised Sliced Sea Whelk with Vegetables & Abalone Sauce, 鲍汁碧绿海螺片. Nothing worth mentioning about this dish except that the seasoning added to this dish was at a perfect ratio.
Roasted Whole Boneless Suckling Pig, 南乳去骨猪

Roasted Whole Boneless Suckling Pig, 南乳去骨猪

 
Who doesn't welcome the Roasted Whole Boneless Suckling Pig, 南乳去骨猪? With a layer of fats in between the crispy skin and tender succulent meat with sufficient marinate, most couldn't resist the charm. This truly is an indulgent.
Fried Crispy Duck, 脆皮香酥鸭

Fried Crispy Duck, 脆皮香酥鸭

 
The fifth dish of the night is the Fried Crispy Duck, 脆皮香酥鸭. True to its name, it is indeed crispy and salty. Other than that, no other characteristics. I heard many, even one of the diner in our group was raving about its Peking Duck. Maybe it is better than the fried one.
Steamed Fresh Pa-Ting Fish with Olives, Garlic and Chilli, 榄角蒜茸辣椒蒸八丁鱼

Steamed Fresh Pa-Ting Fish with Olives, Garlic and Chilli, 榄角蒜茸辣椒蒸八丁鱼

 
Moving on was the Steamed Fresh Pa-Ting Fish with Olives, Garlic and Chilli, 榄角蒜茸辣椒蒸八丁鱼. I thought usually the Teochew would use olives in dishes. I suppose this was the dish that cause confusion and most thought Asia Grand was a Teochew Restaurant. Another usual was the fish for the dish, it uses Patin Fish, a Malaysian fresh water fish. I am not a fan of fresh water fish as it usually has soil taste in the flesh. At least, this unpleasantness wasn't in the fish.
Crispy Rice In Seafood Soup, 金银海鲜泡饭

Crispy Rice In Seafood Soup, 金银海鲜泡饭

 
The last dish before dessert was the Crispy Rice In Seafood Soup, 金银海鲜泡饭. Many diners always associate rice in soup as a Teochew dish. Some how I am puzzled with this phenomenon as we Teochew (I am one.) don't eat that way. And my Dad always complains about this highly debatable dish as Teochew dish too. Anyway ... I suppose this is another element that contribute to the thought Grand Asia Restaurant as a Teochew Restaurant.Both white rice and fried crispy rice were both added to the bowl of seafood soup. Hence it provided both texture to the the dish and together with aromatic seafood soup, most would not refuse this comfort food.
Red Bean Pan Cake, 豆沙窝饼

Red Bean Pan Cake, 豆沙窝饼

 
The meal was ended with the Red Bean Pan Cake, 豆沙窝饼 as dessert.

Quantity was sufficient for all 15 person at the table and quality was beyond satisfactory. Food was considerably delish at a reasonable price. The ambience was the typical Chinese restaurant that gets noisy. As such, I would recommend Asia Grand Restaurant for dinner to all.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Reasonably Priced Mookata Smile Apr 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Mookata

I am pretty sure many enjoy Mookata since it has both the barbeque and the steamboat. ChokChai Mookata at Ang Mo Kio Ave 1 is one of which that serves this category of food. I went down with a four foodie friends to check them out. By the way, in case you are curious of the name, ChokChai means victory.
ChokChai Mookata is located at a coffeeshop at Block 334 Ang Mo Kio Ave 1. Since it is a coffeeshop, so there isn’t air-conditioned, neither are there great ambience. All you get are the usual normal tables that are seen in most coffeeshop.
Mookata

Mookata

 
The staill occupied a relatively large corner stall as compared to the other stalls operating at the same coffeeshop. It is standalone from the rest, since there isn’t any stall on either right or left.
ChokChai offers primarily Mookata. It has 2 sets for either set for 2-3 ($28) and set for 4-5 ($45). In each set, it consists of Thai Black Pepper Chicken, Thai Garlic Lean (Pork) Meat, Honey Pork Belly, Prawn, Sotong, Scallop, Pork Ball, Crab Stick, Fish Ball and Hot Dog.
Meat Platter for Set of 4

Meat Platter for Set of 4

 
And with quite some variety of greens too; Xiao Bai Chai, Cabbage, Golden Mushroom, Sweet Corn and Carrot. 2 others are Tang Hoon and Egg.

Should diners need more ingredients, there is an ala carte menu. A few others that are not found in the set are Luncheon Meat, Dory Fish, White Clams, Cheese Tofu, Cheese Ball, Quail Egg, Beancurd Skin, Oyster Mushroom, Rice and Thai Instant Noodle.
Greens for Set of 4

Greens for Set of 4

 
The most sinful but best part of Mookata is the Pork Lard. Use it as oil on the skillet to bbq the meat.

The highlights at ChokChai Mookata are the marinated meat using their secret recipes from Thailand. They are Thai Black Pepper Chicken, Thai Garlic Lean (Pork) Meat and Honey Pork Belly.
Lards

Lards

 
Generally, the meat are heavily marinated, strong in flavours. Some may also find it a little salty too. The Black Pepper Chicken is richly black pepper flavoured best for black pepper fan. Thai Garlic Lean meat was mainly salty with garlicky scent. And lastly the Honey Pork Belly which has a good ratio of fats and meat. It tasted a little like the Chinese BBQ Pork, Bak Kwa.Lastly, of course the 2 special chilli sauce concocted for the dip. The red is a hot spicy chilli dip while green is the at mild spice and more sourish. This is more suited for the seafood.
Oh ya, and the soup is worth a mentioned too. Each soup is so flavourful filled with pork fragrance and radish sweetness.

We thought the set for food served at ChokChai Mookata was pretty delish. The marinated are stronger in flavour and a little salty. It is certainly a great way to enjoy Mookata with a group of friends and family.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 29, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sarawak Noodles OK Apr 12, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Noodles

Original Review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/11/face-to-face-noodle-house-singapore/

Face To Face Noodle House Singapore is the first outside of Malaysia outlet. It is located at City Square with the Farrer Park Station connected. It is easy access for patrons to get to the Noodle House.
Facade

Facade

 
The story of Face To Face began over 100 years ago, with the founder’s great-grandfather left China for Hong Kong in 1903 to seek his fortune. After finding a job as a chef’s assistant in a local restaurant and winning the Chef’s trust through his diligence, he was allowed the opportunity to learn the art of making Jook Sing noodles, considered one of the rarest forms of noodle-making in existence. It’s success story did not come easy. According to the noodle house, it went bankrupt twice before gaining fame for its brand in Malaysia.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
Once might have notice that that the setup seems like a fast food restaurant. Indeed that was the original concept. The Face To Face Noodle spokeman revealed that it has spent an hefty amount in the renovation of the shop. It has selected the straw hat with each represent a tribes in Sarawak. We thought it was very meaningful since the noodle originated from there.It has since changed from a fast food restaurant concept to a cafe with service after they have understand from their customers preference. Now, order is made by self at the counter and food will be served.

Menu
At the Singapore outlet, currently, Face To Face has carefully selected 8 of its best noodles among the list that was available in the Malaysia outlet to showcase in Singapore.
Creation Pork Pan Mee

Creation Pork Pan Mee

 
First on the list is the Creation Pork Pan Mee ($8.90). It uses the pork belly for the braised meat and sauce. With the good ratio of fats, it added fragrance to the noodle. This is love almost the diners at our table.
Black Pepper Pork Chop Pan Mee

Black Pepper Pork Chop Pan Mee

 
The second to be introduced is the Black Pepper Pork Chop Pan Mee ($12.90) for the black pepper fan. Personally, I didn’t find any special to this bowl of noodle.

For the Szechuan Mala fan, you might want to turn to Sichuan Piquant Pan Mee ($10.90). The soup is fiery. Most were shocked at the spice level. So beware when you are about to sip the soup.
Traditional Sarawak Noodles

Traditional Sarawak Noodles

 
There are a total 5 signature noodles on the menu of Face To Face Noodle House Singapore. First, is the Traditional Sarawak Noodles ($8.90). This version is adapted to Singaporean palatte. The texture, firmness and even the moisture of the noodle and of course the Char Siew Meat in the bowl too. The noodle in the bowl uses a 105 years old recipe which was since Face To Face Noodle House started in Sarawak.
Hot And Spicy Pan Mee

Hot And Spicy Pan Mee

 
Next is the Hot And Spicy Pan Mee ($8.90) is also another hot favourite at Face To Face Noodle House Singapore. I enjoyed especially the ikan bilis. This is the dry version. The soup version is the House Specialty Pan Mee ($8.90) which we didn’t order.
Genki Herbal Chicken Soup Pan Mee

Genki Herbal Chicken Soup Pan Mee

 
The Genki Herbal Chicken Soup Pan Mee ($12.90) is also the other signature limited daily quantity. It uses a good number of various herbal to boil the flavourful soup based. Each day, it is limited to 25 bowls.
Curry Chicken Pan Mee

Curry Chicken Pan Mee

 
The Curry Chicken Pan Mee ($11.90) is another limited quantity item, also at 25 bowls per day. The curry flavour is light, it does not overwhelmed at all. While the chicken is tender.
Hakka Yong Tau Foo

Hakka Yong Tau Foo

 
The last limited item at 20 set per day is the Hakka Yong Tau Foo ($7.50).
Snacks

Snacks

 
If diner like to have some snacks together with the noodles, 4 dishes were offered; Chef’s Special Fried Wantan ($4), Deep Fried Fish Cake ($1.50), Fried Taucu Wings ($4.50), Bacon Cheese Ball ($5.50).
Beverages

Beverages

 
At Face To Face Noodle House Singapore, it offers a good range of Hot and Cold Drink. The signature drinks are the Iced Signature Organic Coffee ($5), Caramel 3 Layer Tea ($4.50) and Multigrain Soymilk ($3.50). I went for none but the refreshing Longan Ribena ($4).

Though food may not be come cheap, Face To Face Noodle House Singapore may be a good alternative to the only other famous Ji Xiang Sawarak Kuching Kolo Mee in Singapore.

For more reviews, visit http://www.nahmj.com/

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 09, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hot Pot In Fine Dinning Smile Apr 11, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot

Tang Restaurant And Bar located along the highly dense street of restaurants and eateries is owned by Zoe Zhang. It was re-branded from Tang Steamboat Restaurant. The restaurant specialises in Szechuan Hot Pot. 

We understand from them that the objective of creating this restaurant was to provide a more refined Szechuan Hot Pot where the expat and foreigners would enjoy.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
With that objective in mind, you will observed that the interior design of Tang Restaurant and Bar is classy and elegant. The space isn’t big, in fact, I would describe it as relatively tiny. It could occupied only a maximum of 40 diners.

The space is divded into 2 section. First section, at the entrance is the bar where diners could enjoy a glass of wine or any drink before or after the meal with some bar snack such as the Deep Fried Enoki Mushroom.
The latter section is the dinning area where diners get to enjoy the piping hot pot. Tang Restaurant and Bar is also thought to provide private dining rooms for guests too. There are 2 rooms which has a removal centre partition to make it one big room that can occupy a total of 14 diners.

The Hot Pot
It was certainly an experience to dine at Tang Restaurant And Bar. I felt the experience is equivalent to fine dining. The service crew will dish you the first bowl of soup before you start the meal. And all food will be cooked by the service crew too.
Signature Golden Imperial Broth

Signature Golden Imperial Broth

 
There are about 3 soup based served at the Tang Restaurant And Bar. We have the Mala and Signature Golden Imperial Broth. Beside these, there were Tomato Soup which is also very popular among their regular guests. Diners could choose 2 out of the 3 soups for $21.
Mala and Signature Golden Imperial Broth

Mala and Signature Golden Imperial Broth

 
The Signature Golden Imperial Broth was boiled for more than 8 hours with Pig’s bones, Fish bone, Old Hen and together with over 10 herbs till it is whitish in colour. The Mala soup is also worth a mentioned. The ingredients used to boil the Mala Soup was in consultation with traditional Chinese Physician to ensure that all herbs and spices are in the perfect harmony by Chef Zou Bin who helmed the kitchen of Tang Restaurant And Bar. This avoids having excessive heat, diarrhea, stomach pain and other ailments after having spicy soup especially in huge amount. Importantly, the soup are free of MSG.
Sauce and Dips

Sauce and Dips

 
The soup are generally light in flavour so if you have a light palate, this is perfect for you. I truly enjoyed the soup at the end when lots of ingredients wer cooked in it and it created even a sweeter and richer flavour tone.
Translucent Sliced Fish

Translucent Sliced Fish

 
We started off with the Translucent Sliced Fish ($22), since fish has a lighter taste among the rest of the ingredients we ordered.
Sliced fish Cooked in Mala Broth

Sliced fish Cooked in Mala Broth

 
The service crew will help to cook the sliced fish in both the Signature Broth and the Mala Soup. Though the sliced fish was so thin till it was translucent, nonetheless, I could still enjoy the flavour and texture of the fish.

 
Various homemade minced meat paste were served at Tang Restaurant And Bar too. The noteworthy items were the Minced Seafood Paste, Minced Fishball and top selection the Homemade Meatballs. I enjoyed the meatball as in it there are cilantro to provide the herb fragrance and chestnut to provide the crunch texture.
All the minced meat paste were chewy to the bite. It was certainly excellent.

 
Minced Meat Ball

Minced Meat Ball

 
For meat selection, the Beef Sliced and the Iberico Pork Sliced are two of the must ordered hot pot ingredients.

 

 
One other ingredients which all of us enjoyed so much till we ordered the second portion is the Homemade Dumpling. This dumpling is made using Zoe’s mother recipe. The dumpling skin was so smooth and in it there are some, I think were black fungus to provide the crunch. Should the dumpling skin be thinner, it would certainly be perfect.
Homemade Dumpling

Homemade Dumpling

 
Even though I am not a beancurd fan, I would want to miss having the Deep Fried Beancurd especially with the Mala Soup based.
Deep Fried Beancurd Skin

Deep Fried Beancurd Skin

 
Mushroom fans, great news, there are assorted variety of mushroom to go along with the hot pot.
Assorted Mushrooms Platter

Assorted Mushrooms Platter

 
For those like me who need greens, there are quite some good selections at Tang Restaurant And Bar too. There are Chinese Cabbage, Spinach, Lettuce and Kai Lan.
Chinese Cabbage

Chinese Cabbage

 
Mixed Greens

Mixed Greens

 
If diners need to turn to some carbohydrates, a good recommendation is the Cold Noodle ($7). This version has lots of vinegar and lightly spice in it.
Cold Noodle

Cold Noodle

 
At the end of meal, a complimentary bowl of dessert, Snow Fungus was served to each guest.
Complimentary Dessert

Complimentary Dessert

 
We enjoyed the lightly sweet and a little jelly like texture of the dessert.
It was a fabulous dinning experience. It is highly suitable for a small group dinning, perhaps with your best family or a small family of 4 – 5. It would be a little tough to settle for large group unless you opt for the private dinning room.
If you don’t like doing your own cooking of hot pot and preferred to be served, Tang Restaurant And Bar is the place to turn to.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 31, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mookata with Lushy Green Backdrop OK Apr 08, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Steamboat/Hot Pot | BBQ

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/08/mookata-orto-yishun-singapore/


Mookata At ORTO Park is the second outlet after their success at the Katong flagship outlet. Mookata Katong was one of the first in Singapore to launch this authentic yummilicious Thai Steamboat BBQ.When I first heard about ORTO Park, I was wondering what it was. ORTO occupied an area of 555,000 sqft (about the size of 7 football fields). It is first the multi-recreational park that is open to the public 24 hours a day, catering to all-day and night activities such as prawning and fishing. Other activities found at the park that aren’t operating at 24 hours are Katapult Trampoline, Paintball and UberSports Futsal. Though the address of ORTO Park is Lorong Chencharu, entered via Sembawang Road but for those who do not drive would probably be taking the MRT. Good news is that there is an entrance for visitors by foot via the entrance facing Yishun Ave 2.
Mookata Overview

Mookata Overview

 
This Mookata outlet at the ORTO Park has a lushy green as backdrop and clear blue sky as ceiling. This is great for the nature lover to indulgent in the delish food and at the same time appreciating the surrounding.
Interior Seats

Interior Seats

 
As such, Mookata At ORTO Park offers not only the usual indoor seats but also Al Fresco. We took the Al Fresco area. Initially, I was worried that it might be too hot and there will be lots of mosquito. To my surprise, none of my apprehension were a concern. In fact, I was glad to have taken the outdoor seats.
Al Fresco Seats

Al Fresco Seats

 
At Mookata At ORTO Park, it offers both the set menu and Ala Carte Menu. A selection of Set for 2 ($34.90), Set for 4 ($68.90), Meat Lovers' Platter ($74.90), Seafood Catches ($54.90) and lastly the Vegetables Platter ($15.90). Diners could always top more ingredients via Ala Carte.
Set for 2

Set for 2

 
Vegetable Platter

Vegetable Platter

 
At Mookata At ORTO Park, the restaurant provides 3 chilli dip with different spicy level. The least spicy one being the darkest, on the right of the photo and the most left is the most spicy chilli sauce.
Chilli Sauce

Chilli Sauce

 
Food with no drinks seems strange. Mookata At ORTO Park offers a page worth of various beverages; ranging from soft drinks, coffee & tea, Homemade Beverages such as Barley (hot - $2.30/cold - $2.50), Luo Han Guo ($2.50), Lime Juice ($2.50) and Lemon Grass ($3.30). And other beverages such as Coconut ($4) and 7 others. If you keen for a beer, the only available selection is the Singha ($6.80).
Coconut

Coconut

 
Some of my favourite items at the Mookata At ORTO Park are Prawns (big and fresh), marinated chicken thigh, suriyaki and pork collar.
Mookata

Mookata

 
We like the the ambience of Mookata At ORTO Park as it is as close as dinning in a nature park. Certainly great for family.
Lobster

Lobster

 


More review on http://www.nahmj.com/
Supplementary Information:
In month of May, in conjunction with Mother's Day celebration, order set of 4 and add $10 to enjoy a Boston Lobster.

At ORTO Park, the buffet is priced at $25.90++ for 120 minutes while at the Mookata At Bugis is at $18.90++ for 100 minutes.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 06, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0