OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
This is nahmj living in Chinatown. I work in Telok Blangah. I like to hang out in Bugis, Holland, Orchard.
Member 43 First(s)
No. of Review91 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity803 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos779 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant91 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲18 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 91 Reviews in Singapore
Worthy for the Square OK Jun 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Full review with photo at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/27/shiberty-bakes-owen-road-singapore/

When I saw the address of Shiberty Bakes at Owen Road, I thought it was occupied by some Bakery Cafe previously. And indeed, it has taken over the space previously occupied by a Bite Cake
Most Instagrammers who follow @shiberty would have known that she is the woman behind Shiberty Bakes. A blogger cum baker and now a cafe owner.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
I noticed that the interior fixture of the unit was untouched. The interior theme remains as dreamy white with an European classic feel. Except for the tables and chairs, these were changed. A pity that Shiberty Bakes didn’t try to get tables and chairs that blend with the interior theme.
At Shiberty Bakes, the signature items were the Shiberty Toast ($16) that came with 3 flavours. I chose the Classic Shibert Toast on my first visit. It consist of the extremely buttery toast as the centre piece surrounded by golden finishes berries, tiny marshmallow together with a scoop of sea salt caramel and vanilla ice cream. Lastly, it was drizzled with maple honey. The entire look was worthy for the square.
Shiberty Toast Rocher

Shiberty Toast Rocher

 
On the second occasion, I went for the Shiberty Toast Rocher ($16). This time, the toast was firm and could hold the weight of 2 scoop of ice cream. But a pity, this round the butter were scanty. The taste didn’t reflect the flavour of the toast, Rocher. Maybe it would be better if they could have more chocolate or even Nutella sauce on the toast and with Rocher flavoured Ice Cream too. A pity at both occasion, both the toast weren’t crispy.
Charcoal Waffle

Charcoal Waffle

 
Alternatively, one could opt for the Gourmet Waffle ($14). The Charcoal Waffle was crisp but a little too dry.
Macarons

Macarons

 
There are 6 flavours. We checked out the Salted Egg and Red Velvet, Honey Lavender and Matcha. The texture of the shell were inconsistent. Some were better than the other. The red velvet was lacking of the red velvet character. I checked out the salted egg flavour twice, the second trial was far more better than the first as the salted egg sense was stronger and I could savour the flavour.
Interestingly, Shiberty Bakes opt to offer the Loaded Milkshakes, commonly known as the Over the Top (OTT). We tried the Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes ($9). It was extremely disappointing. It was extremely diluted with not much of either strawberry, milk or even cheesecakes flavour. It didn’t make the mark. I would avoid this item entirely.
Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes

Strawberry Cheesecakes Loaded Milkshakes

 
With such a gorgeous looking plating desserts worthy for posting on Instagram, I am sure that Shiberty Bakes will attract Instagrammers who wanted to post these luring looking desserts. We want our desserts to be as good as its look. Unfortunately, Shiberty Bakes is inconsistent in its food quality and taste. There are still rooms for improvement at Shiberty Bakes.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Date of Visit: May 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Hokkaido Buffet Experience Smile Jun 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Sushi/Sashimi

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/06/09/hokkaido-sushi-restaurant-m-hotel/

I have never heard about Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant even though it exists for quite some time. I suppose that because it is perched at Level 9 of M Hotel which can’t be seen from the road. And may be not much of publicity was done previously. I am glad that I was introduced to this restaurant who pride themselves in serving authentic and fresh Japanese cuisine.
Facade

Facade

 
As I was approaching, I saw the facade of the restaurant I didn’t feel alluring. It has this 80s vibe in it. When I entered the restaurant, it looks pretty dark as it has only random spotlight as lighting. The space at Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant is huge and it could seat 120 guests at its full capacity with 4 private rooms.
Dinning Area

Dinning Area

 
At Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant, beside the classic Japanese food such as Sushi, they famous for their Omakase too. And they have started to introduce The Hokkaido Buffet Experience in the form ala carte buffet. It is this that I went for at Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant for my first dinning experience with them. And I am say, I am surprise at the quality and taste for most of the food.

The Hokkaido Buffet Experience

At The Hokkaido Buffet Experience, it offers a wide variety of food ranging from appetizers to sashimi, sushi to cooked food. We are spoilt for choices.
Premium Sashimi Platter

Premium Sashimi Platter

 
The first luring factor for The Hokkaido Buffet Experience is the Premium Sashimi Platter. Each guest who are at the restaurant for the buffet is served a portion. This promotion is available in June and July 2016. They will be changing this premium items from time to time.

Appetizers
We started our meal with the appetizers. There are 11 items on the ala carte buffet menu. We were recommended the signature dishes and we went with it.
Pitan Tofu

Pitan Tofu

 
The first appetizer is the Pitan Tofu which is my absolute favourite among our order. The pungent flavour of Pitan is mild as such it is easy on the palate.
Ikura Chawanmushi

Ikura Chawanmushi

 
Next is the Ikura Chawanmushi. I adore it as it was served pipping hot and not lukewarm. At least this was true on our visit. The chawanmushi was silky. I find it comforting.
Tamago Yaki

Tamago Yaki

 
The lightly sweetened omelette, the Tamago Yaki is such a typical Japanese dish.
Ika Geso

Ika Geso

 
Last but not least is the Ika Geso, deep fried squid. It has a thin and light batter which make it a great snack with beer.

Sashimi
Right after our appetizers, we dived into the Sashimi as this item is value for money. It is a must go after item at any buffet. Lol!
Sashimi

Sashimi

 
We have all the available Sashimi on the menu; the Maguro, Mekajiki, Hamachi, Salmon, Tako and Hotate. When it was on the table, the first we took note was the thickness. We were Wow by this plate and we relished in the freshness and sweetness of each thick slice.

Sushi
There are a total of 21 Sushi, 7 Temaki and 9 Maki.

 
First to be served on the table was the Hokkaido Maki which is a sushi roll with salmon in the centre, laced with special sauce and mayonnaise and finally with generous amount of ebiko as final touch.

 
Some of the Sushi we tried were (from right to left) Aburi Salmon Mentaiko, Aburi Ebi, Unagi, Hamachi Truffle and Maguro with Mayonnaise. What I like about the sushi is that the rice amount was small versus the meat.

Others
If you are looking for some hot food, The Hokkaido Buffet Experience of Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant has plenty to offer.
Ebi Tempura

Ebi Tempura

 
Tori Karaage

Tori Karaage

 
Two of my favourite are the Wagyu Mushroom and Pork with Ginger. These 2 dishes were flavourful. And most importantly, they weren’t cooked using the same sauce.
Pork with Ginger

Pork with Ginger

 
Wagyu Mushroom

Wagyu Mushroom

 
If diners need some vegetables, the seems like one and only vegetables to order the Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom.
Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom

Mixed Vegetables with Mushroom

 
Ginkarei Shioyaki

Ginkarei Shioyaki

 
Ginkarei Shioyaki looks similar to Cod and has a smooth oily texture like Cod too. A pity this dish is bland.
Tebasaki

Tebasaki

 
The Tebasaki, grilled chicken wings, though succulent but the flavour remains on the skin. It did not penetrate into the meat.
In total, there are about 25 cooked items to choose from.

Noodles and Rice
Lastly, there are 2 Soba and Udon (Hot and Cold) with ingredients of Pork, Beef, Chicken and Vegetables, 2 Don (Pork and Chicken) and a Garlic Fried Rice. And how could we forget the Miso Soup.

All the dishes found at The Hokkaido Buffet Experience is also available as Ala Carte. And the restaurant claims that they are serving the same quality as per Ala Carte for the Buffet.

Though Hokkaido Sushi Restaurant provide a good selection that are fresh at The Hokkaido Buffet Experience, I can’t help but to lament on the lack of dessert. It is a shame that it doesn’t include them for a rounded experience. And drinks are to be ordered separately like the desserts.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delish Halal Penang Food Affair Smile Jun 08, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Halal | Chinese Noodles

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/06/03/penang-culture-changi-airport-terminal-2/

Penang Culture is one of the few restaurants in Singapore offering Penang food. And good news for our Muslim foodie, Penang Culture is a Halal restaurant. We didn’t notice until we saw quite a few groups of Malay gathering for a meal at the restaurant. Currently, there are 3 outlets located at JEMS, Century Square Shopping Mall and Changi Airport Terminal 2. Why aren’t they having an outlet in town?! That’s really a pity.
The kitchen is helmed by Chef Wong Thin Lipp, a Penangite who has 20 years of culinary experience in Penang. So diners of Penang Culture could be pretty assured that the food are authentic.
To mark their 5th year anniversary (Wow! 5 years! They have come a long way!), Penang Culture celebrates by introducing a few delicious twists.
All its outlet has semi-service except at the Changi Airport Terminal 2 that has full service. Nonetheless, it is still a casual dinning environment. Our feasting was at Changi Airport Terminal 2 outlet. We find the staff attentive, friendly and warm.

 
We started off with Penang Culture signaguture dish, the  ($5.95). The characteristics of this dish is the vegetables and fruits are more chunky, the You Tiao is extra crispy and the sauce is thicker and richer comparing to our local Rojak. I like the sauce but would prefer the vegetables and fruits to be thinner so that I could enjoy more of the sauce. Most diners at the table find the dish mediocre. I suppose preference play a large role here.

 
The first new creation introduced on the menu in celebration of their 5th Anniversary is the Penang Fire Wings ($6.55). This creation is rested on the belachan (prawn paste) coated chicken wings. It is then tossed in a sweet plum and Thai chilli sauce. The result of the wings tasted like Yangnyeom flavoured Korean Fried Chicken Wings. And beware for those who has low spice tolerate; it is quite spicy

 
Penang Curry Fish Balls ($4.95) is one of the must have if you like curry fish balls. Even for people who don’t fancy the dish, like myself, enjoyed this dish tremendously. The deep fried fishball that has a slight chewy and yet soft fish balls were immersed in the rich fragrance curry sauce to soaked up the essence of the gravy.

 
Coming up is another dish which I will avoid as I am not a fan of cooked salmon and I did enjoy the BBQ Salmon ($11.95). First, the salmon doesn’t have a strong pungent fishy flavour as the restaurant uses high grade Norwegian salmon. Secondly, with the Chef’s sweet spicy paste make a huge different. The chilli paste which consist of an array of spice and herb does elevate the dinning pleasure.

 
One of the classic Penang food is the Assam Laksa which diners will never want to miss. Base on this classic dish, Penang Culture has added luxurious factor with addition of Norwegian Salmon pieces to the bowl of delight and this creation is known as Salmon Assam Laksa ($11.95). The Assam Laksa at Penang Culture is more rounded and balance as such expect a less sour but yet rich and flavourful soup. The soup is boiled using Sardine, Kembong (mackerel), lots of spice and herbs, hae kor (fermented shrimp paste) and with the key ingredients, the assam (tamarind). Since it is less sour, diners who have low sour tolerance will rejoice while diners who enjoyed the typical Assam Laksa would frown upon. Maybe Penang Culture could come up with 2 version for diners to choose.

 
Most who visited Penang would be familiar with Penang Hokkien Mee (a soup based prawn mee similar to Singapore version). Penang Culture has added Lobster and Scallops in this dish to provide the Premium Lobster & Scallop Noodles ($16.95).

 
Premium Crab Meat & Salted Egg Fried Kway Teow ($15.95) is adapted from the Penang Fried Kway Teow. With Salted Egg added into the it hence it result in a more salty taste profile. So for those who prefer less salty could opt for the original Penang Fried Kway Teow ($8.95) instead.

 
To round up the meal with a sweet note, dessert is never to be missed. We have 2 desserts; Cendol and Bubur Hitam.
For Cendol, diners could opt for the original or with durian, Penang Chenol ($4.55) or King of Cendol ($6.95) respectively.

 
The restaurant has provided 3 version of Bubur Hitam. First is the original version, with coconut cream, named simply as Bubur Hitam ($3.95). Next is the Bubur Hitam with Vanilla Ice Cream ($4.95) and lastly is with durian pulp for the durian lovers, the King of Bubur Hitam ($6.95).

 
One of the highly recommended drink is the Ampla Juice ($4.95). There is also an ice blended version, Ampla Ice Blended ($8.95). It has a complex flavour. I could savour green apple, guava and starfruits. I would encourage all to give it a try if you aren’t familar with this tropical fruit.
Other recommendation include the Cempedek Milkshakes ($6.95), Coconut Milkshakes ($6.95) and Durian Milkshakes ($6.95).
We thought well of the food served at Penang Culture. I am glad that they are at the airport as I have one more option to dine at when I am travelling since I have a habit of dinning a the airport prior departure of upon arrival.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Tasting Menu Smile Jun 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Steaks and Grills

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/26/outback-steakhouse-singapore-tasting-menu/

Outback Steakhouse isn't new to most. I am sure most must have visited once if not multiple. The restaurant has recently introduced a new Tasting Menu.
First is the appetizer. Outback offers 4 mouthwatering appetizer choices which are all great for sharing as a group.
Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche

Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche

 
The Shrimp and Avocado Ceviche ($14.90) which is the most well received among their customers and that include us too.
Crispy Fried Mushroom

Crispy Fried Mushroom

 
Next is the Crispy Fried Mushroom ($13.90). When one bite into the mushroom, the juice of the mushroom started bursting out. Dipping into the spicy ranch dressing will elevate the tasting pleasure, provided you are one who like sauce. Otherwise the natural tasting flavour will be good enough.
Crispy Chicken Bites

Crispy Chicken Bites

 
There are too many diners who loves their chicken and the Crispy Chicken Bites ($10.90) would suit them most. Likewise a sauce is prepared too. For this dish, it is with a spicy New Orleans sauce.
BBQ Pulled Pork Fries

BBQ Pulled Pork Fries

 
The BBQ Pulled Pork Fries ($14.90) is a dish that received 2 thumbs up from each diner. Instead of having plain fries, this dish comes with additional ingredients such as pulled pork, cheese and spicy Ranch dressing to spicy things up.
A total of 5 entrees available for selection with choices of beef, pork and pasta and prawns.
Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye

Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye

 
On the list, being the first is the Black Peppercorn Crusted Ribeye ($37.90). The USDA ribeye is seared with peppercorn crust drizzled with balsamic topped with grilled asparagus and paired with peppercorn cream sauce.
The Porterhouse

The Porterhouse

 
Another steak is The Porterhouse ($45.90) consisting of filet tenderloin and strip. This is a simple steak with nothing fanciful. Best when one prefer savouring the natural juicy fragrance of the beef.
Steak and Shrimp Skewers

Steak and Shrimp Skewers

 
Having the best of both world is the Steak and Shrimp Skewers ($39.90). Diners could enjoy both the beef and prawns.
Steak Pomodoro Pasta

Steak Pomodoro Pasta

 
For diners who love their steak and pasta could opt for the Steak Pomodoro Pasta ($24.90). The cavatappi pasta is topped with a pomodoro sauce that is slow cooked with steak and tomatoes. As such it is a tomato based pasta with flavourful beef scent. Before serving the dish is topped with basil and Parmesan cheese. This dish is suitable for the kids too.
Garlic Glazed Pork Loin

Garlic Glazed Pork Loin

 
Should beef is not your preference, one could opt for the only non-beef dish on the Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu, the Garlic Glazed Pork Loin ($25.90).
All the dishes comes with either one or two sides whereby diners could choose from the available list of sides.
Chocolate Thunder From Down Under

Chocolate Thunder From Down Under

 
In the Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu, the only dessert available is the Chocolate Thunder From Down Under ($14.90). A relatively huge scoop of vanilla ice cream sat on a chocolaty brownie. This dessert is a little too sweet for me. It make a great sharing dessert for the adult and children in the family.
Outback Steakhouse Singapore Tasting Menu consists of dishes suitable for the young and the old from the appetisers to entree to dessert. As such it is no doubt family friendly.

More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Full review with photo at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/05/31/o-coffee-club-new-all-day-breakfast-menu-in-2016/

O Coffee Club has introduced 3 new breakfast items. The first is the ever popular Eggs Benedict ($10.90). The serving size is considerably huge for the price. Diners have the choice of smoked salmon, ham or Mangalica bacon. We had the third option. Ciabatta is used instead of white bread of English Muffin.
Eggs Benedict

Eggs Benedict

 
Next is the Waffle Stacker ($19.90). It is gigantic. There are 3 thick waffles that are denser in texture. At the top, it is with Manglica bacon while the bottom is with scrambled egg. Diners could opt for either coffee maple syrup or gula melaka cream.
Waffle Stacker

Waffle Stacker

 
Last but not least is the French Toast ($7.90). At O Coffee Club,the bread is cut it into smaller cube before deep frying. Uniquely, the French Toast is serrved with a orange infused mascarpone cheese. Likewise, diners could opt for either the Coffee Syrup or Gula Melaka cream.
French Toast

French Toast

 
All Time Favourite
First is the Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp. Diner can choose either the Chicken Picante ($11.90) or Smoked Salmon ($12.90) for the salad. They paired it with Poached Egg instead. The highlight in the dish is the cheese crisp which added more cheese flavour to the dish.
Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp with Smoked Salmon

Classic Caesar Salad with Cheese Crisp with Smoked Salmon

 
The Country Pie ($12.90) is another All Time Favourite item. Don't under estimate this small bowl of comfort food.
Country Pie

Country Pie

 
The Garlic Prawn Pasta ($15.90) is with spaghetti tossed in pesto. A simple but yet satisfying dish.
Garlic Prawn Pasta

Garlic Prawn Pasta

 
Lastly is the Muddy Mud Pie ($11.90). This is my must have dessert whenever I dine at O Coffee Club.
Muddy Mud Pie

Muddy Mud Pie

 
Gourmet Coffee
Many coffee drinkers might not have noticed that O Coffee Club provide a range of Gourmet Coffee. 8 single origin beans and a blend were offered.
Syphon Brewing In Progress

Syphon Brewing In Progress

 
Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew

Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew

 
We have the O Coffee Club Classic with French Press and Ethiopian Yirgacheffe with Syphon Brew.
O Coffee Club Classic with French Press

O Coffee Club Classic with French Press

 
There are many other drinks available with my all time favourite the Iced Earl Vanilla. O Coffee Club has introduced 4 new drinks, Frozen Espresso Latte ($6.40), Iced Blended Matcha Green ($6.90), Very Berries ($6.90) and Sunny Orange ($6.90).
Frozen Espresso Latte with Polar Bear

Frozen Espresso Latte with Polar Bear

 
We tried the Frozen Espresso Latte ($6.40) and Iced Blended Matcha Green ($6.90). The Frozen Espresso Latte is a very cute drink. The Espresso is frozen with either a cute polar bear or twin penguins floating in the milk. One have the option of sweetening it with syrup. The Iced Blended Matcha Green is equally good.
Frozen Espresso Latte with Penguins

Frozen Espresso Latte with Penguins

 
More reviews at http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0