OpenRice Index
  
huiyuan89
This is huiyuan89 living in Teck Whye. I am a student, work in Queenstown. I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Orchard. French, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Desserts and Cakes, salads.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review110 Review(s)
編輯推介數目70 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity6501 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos442 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲193 Follower(s)
huiyuan89  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 110 Reviews in Singapore
Excellent! Smile Oct 08, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Fine Dining

Mignardises
I labelled them for easier identification and reference.
I will start with the lemon Madeleine is a crispy and citrus infused tea-cake. It was crispy on the outiside and soft in the interior. Madeleine is not too rich and buttery. I enjoy this!
Irish cream chocolate: Not too bad with hint of Irish cream in it.
Green Tea: Pale in comparison… greenish stuff looks so yucky
Dark chocolate: The best, good quality chocolate used!
Canele: Canele is from Canele since they are under the same company. However I didn’t like caneles so left it untouched.


Overall verdict: All dishes were well-executed. The chef takes great effort in presenting the best and fresh products to the consumers. I would like to highlight the Obsiblue Prawn which is my favourite dish of the lunch.
The staff here are professional, well-informed and service is top-notch. They understand the menu very well unlike in some places where they have to check with the kitchen. They also remembered to ask me about my dietary habits such as food allergy. I am planning for another visit soon.
les amis

les amis

 
amuse bouche

amuse bouche

 
crunchy spring salad

crunchy spring salad

 

 
grilled obsiblue prawn

grilled obsiblue prawn

 
french poussin

french poussin

 
petite 4

petite 4

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The best smoked Salmon Salad Smile Sep 18, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western Variety | Café | Halal

Along the cultural street/lane of Arab Street and beach road, there is this Swedish cafe that offers fabulous Smoked Salmon Salad. In Swedish cuisine, gravlax ,meatballs, herrings , preserved & cured food are common. During weekends, the cafe is insanely packed/ crowded thus reservations are highly recommended.

Fika- Swedish cafe & bistro offers a range of open-faced sandwiches ( smoked salmon, shrimps, chicken, meatballs..etc ), salads ( signature Smoked salmon salad ) , crepes and desserts ( swedish pancakes ).

Signature Smoked Salmon Salad ($15.90+)
Without hesitation, I had their signature smoked salmon salad . The Salad looks lovely – mixed mesclun salad in the centre and thick & fresh slices of Smoked salmon neatly rolled up & arranged around the corners & served with a lemon wedgeAmong all the Smoked Salmon Salad that I had this year, this is the best ! Unlike some places which simply garnish the salad with some miserable pieces of smoked salmon, Fika was generous with the smoked salmon. The smoked salmon pieces were fresh and thick ( 5 pcs weighing abt 50-60g each ) , it was so delicious when eaten with the dollop of cream served by the side. For those who loved smoked salmon, this salad will definitely satisfy your craving !
P.S Too much Smoked salmon, felt a little jerlat alrdy…
No GST but 10 % svc charge still applies
Menu

Menu

 
Smoked salmon salad

Smoked salmon salad

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tofu burger Smile Aug 17, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

Cafe Pralet, have been one of my favourite place for cakes. The cakes are baked freshly by a team of bakers and there is a baking studio beside the cafe. The baking studio is for students who wished to learn baking. The cafe has two dining concepts – a formal area to handle the more challenging dishes on the menu and a cozy patio for coffee, tea, pastries and nibbles. Many of the food here have been awarded by The Health Promotion board, well-suited for a healthy guru like me.

There are daily Asian & Western meal and daily specials which are available on selected days. The mee siam and fish& chips are popular items here. The set menu Includes Main Course + Coffee/Tea/Soft Drinks + Choice of Cake ($3.90).

Tofu Burger

(vegetarian)

pan fried tofu, tempeh, herbs & healthy seasoning are combinedin a delicious patty with caramelized onions, fresh tomato sauce ,crisp lettuce & sandwiched between soft, wholemeal buns baked by in-house chefs.It’s eggless and free of transfat. The wholemeal bun is soft and chewy, it’s also healthy!

The burger is covered with lots of crunchy lettuce ,tomatoes slices and lightly spread with low-fat mayonnaise. The texture patty is nutty and I like the caramelised onions, a little sweet and sour which goes well with the tempeh and tofu patty. The only fault lies with the slightly burnt outer layer which taste bitter. The side salad is drizzled with light citrus dressing, light and refreshing.

I had the privilege to take a picture with Chef Judy Koh, culinary consultant and principal of Creative Culinaire. She has also been featured very frequently in famous food magazines, local press, radio and television and is also a food writer for many magazines such as Wine and Dine, Gourmet Living, Pastry Art and Design, Appetite, CuisineAsia. Although she is quite busy chatting with her friend, she still attended to me. She showed me the baking studio and even handed me the VIP card. Chef Judy is very amicable and I was really delighted when she agreed to take a picture with me.

 
Tofu burger

Tofu burger

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 10, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

liquor ice-cream Smile Aug 17, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

Udders … many of us would have heard of. They are popular for their liqueur ice-cream. There are a few udders ”milking outlets” in Singapore but the one at Siglap is pretty new and it is an Ice-cream cafe with double storey , glass windows and panals. It is popular with students ,especially from VJC and a great hangout place for desserts.

The price are as follows :

Classic : $3.70 / scoop

Premium + Classic : $ 5.70

Premium + Premium : $ 6.70

Premium + Connoisseur : $7.20

What does Classic, Premium and Connoisseur refers to? It basically classify/ group the ice-cream flavours according to popularity and quality.



Tira-miss- u & Rum RuM Raisin ($7.20)


I am a die-hard fan of alcohol and my tolerance of alcohol/ liqueur is high. I chose these two flavours ( best sellers + 6 * of alcohol for the tira-miss-u) .

Tira-miss-u: For those who can’t hold your liqueur/ first time trying liqueur ice-cream, best to ”stay away” from this . The ice-cream has a large amount of mascapone cheese, brandy + cognac in it . Both are strong liqueur thus you might not get used to it. As for me, I felt that the liqueur content is definitely higher than offered in other ice-cream parlours . But, I can still take it … probably the limit was abt 60 % ?

Rum Rum raisins has only 4 stars of liqueur amount thus alcohol content is slightly weaker. I still prefer the ones from Haato & OUMS which has lots of raisins in the ice-cream.

Hmm…. I would return to udders to try the rest of liqueur flavours. Since I can withstand the strong liqueur of the Tira-miss-u, I guess the rest would definitely not have a problem.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 31, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ice-cream Smile Jul 11, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Seafood

Due to overwhelming responses, OUMS opened the 2nd outlet at *Scape , the hangout place for teenagers.

Frankly speaking, this is my ”virgin” visit to OUMS despite the raves. I never liked milkshakes because of its creamy consistency but OUMS offers ice-cream milkshakes, which is rather a novelty to me.

The outlet at * Escape is slightly smaller compared to the one at maxwell chambers. If you would prefer having the milkshakes or ice-cream there, they provide a small seating area (small stools and tables).

was there for the ice-cream. They offer about 10 ice-cream flavours and was trademarked ( do not use their recipe without permission!) .

A single scoop would cost you $2.80 , double $5.10, Triple $7.20. Toppings cost $0.70 each. Well, there are 3 toppings that are only found in OUMS ( Crunchy choc pearls, Triple choc crispy pearls and the Crushed homemade choc chip cookies)

I had the grumbling raisins (aka Rum and raisin) and the Chocolate truffle castle ( dark choc) topped with their home-made choc chip cookies. The ice-cream was served in a butterfuly-shaped tableware , so cute!

The grumbling raisins were rich in rum and they were generous with the dried raisins. It would even be better if the raisins were soaked in rum!

The Chocolate Truffle Castle is the dark chocolate ice-cream, with bits of truffles in it. The ice-cream is not too sweet and towards the bitter side. I like the bittersweet chocolate but still my votes goes to Awfully chocolate.The crushed chocolate cookies are so addictive! They were made with less-sugar as Singaporeans are beginning to be more health-conscious.

P.S .Do get the hop-scotch card, get 10 stamps to redeem a $5 voucher from OUMS!

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 03, 2010 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0