OpenRice Index
  
huiyuan89
This is huiyuan89 living in Teck Whye. I am a student, work in Queenstown. I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Orchard. French, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Desserts and Cakes, salads.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review110 Review(s)
編輯推介數目70 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity6502 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos442 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲193 Follower(s)
huiyuan89  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 110 Reviews in Singapore
Warm seafood salad OK Sep 05, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel

The boutique hotel is exceptionally… small . I almost couldn’t locate the hotel lobby since there is only 1entrance. Once you enter the hotel lobby, Nectar restaurant is just right beside.The restaurant is bright , colourful and cheerful. I guess the name ”Nectar” is derived from the nectar of flowers the designer made use of the bright colours to furbish the restaurant.

The menu

There aren’t many dishes in the ala-carte menu. They offer fusion cuisine- sandwiches, fried beehoon and western dishes.
Their signature starter – The warm seafood salad ( $14++) is popular with diners.

The set lunch menu

I was informed that the set lunch menu changes daily. However, I was more keen to try dishes from the ala-carte instead. There is a $12 nett promotion for main course – choice of 4 dishes
- Teriyaki chicken
- Spring chicken
- Chicken sandwich
- Turkey sanadwich
I thought that the $12 nett promotion sounds attractive and I had the spring chicken as my main course ( though I had been eating chicken leg for the past 3 days)

Warm seafood salad ($14++)

The signature starter, was certainly well-presented. I can happily indulge in seafood (scallops, prawns, soft-shell crab and squid)The soft-shell crab was very crispy but the downside : batter was slightly salty.The squids were my favourite , the scallops were well-seared and prawns were crunchy.The mango salsa served alongside was sweet and addictive !


Spring chicken, natural herbs, veg melange ($12 nett )

Wow! They actually served 2 whole chicken leg! After having the warm seafood salad ( portion rather huge ), I felt 3/4 full and the 2 chicken leg was kinda… a challenge for me.The roast chicken legs were tad too ordinary, basked with herbs & roasted. I would prefer the skin to be slightly crispier ( even though I would just nibble a little ). The chicken legs were tender but on the dry side. The sauce tasted weird… like a combination of soy sauce and oyster sauce but was rather diluted.

Verdict: I can’t complain since the the chicken leg was $12 nett and the serving was generous . The warm seafood salad was recommended. Service is prompt and friendly.

 
Warm seafood salad

Warm seafood salad

 
Spring chicken

Spring chicken

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 04, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Updated menu Smile Aug 29, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant


Some new dishes offered in the ''updated'' menu


Quick seared Tuna salad ($13++)


The tuna is served middle rare. The fish was fresh and melts in my mouth. Tangy mustard sauce and bits of chives to go along with the tuna. The mesclun salad was sprinkled with some crispy ” keropok” (the chinese version of the indian mee keropok). I enjoyed nibbling the keropok and I think it adds a nice crunch to the mesclun salad leaves.


Vegetable Tian ( $17.80++)

What is a ”Tian”? Did a goggle search and found out it was a dish layered with different ingredients, topped with chinese and baked in the oven. In this case, it was Vegetable Tian and the ingredients were vegetables. It looks very much like a gratin (French style).
The Vegetable Tian resembles a gratin(French style) and a Lasagne ( Italian style). It consists of several layers of vegetables:

Top layer: King Oyster mushrooms and Asparagus
Middle: Sweet pieces of pumpkin, Slices of potatoes, cheese
Base: Tofu ( but I felt it taste more like fried soy bean cake)
If you are looking for a healthy vegetarian ”lasagne”, give this Vegetable Tian a try.


Strawberry Shortcake ($5.60++)
A light dessert to finish off my lunch…. the strawberry shortcake is pretty light in texture and has custard cream in between layers. I wished there were more strawberries…..
Menu

Menu

 
Quick seared tuna salad

Quick seared tuna salad

 
Vegetable Tian

Vegetable Tian

 
Strawberry shortcake

Strawberry shortcake

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Osvaldo by Chef Osvaldo Smile Aug 25, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

Osvaldo is a family italian resturant, which is slightly different from the fine-dining resturants. Just like Chef Osvaldo said,” You are coming to my house“. I felt very relaxed here, just like dining in my own house. Osvaldo is located at the maxwell chambers, you would see the restaurant when you come out from Tanjong Pagar MRT station. The resturant is running full-house everyday for lunch and slightly quieter during Saturdays afternoon. MAKE A RESERVATION !

They import fresh burrata cheese from which is DIRECTLY imported from Italty, from Chef Osvaldo’s own farm. Chef Osvaldo’s sister and parents are residing in Italy and they grow vegetables, peaches, honey, …etc and import some of the Italian stuffs to Singapore.


The restaurant resembles a cottage, the interior is quite spacious for large gatherings and for intimate dinner. There is a few paintings on the wall which has a japanese influence to it….interesting. There is also a small corner that display some of the italian stuffs that are imported from Italy(honey, balsamic vingrette,olive oil…etc), well they are for sale and they are they are made by Chef Osvaldo’s family. There is also a possibility that may start a small little deli selling antipasti, salami, cured meats and fish.

Complimentary Bread

A bread basket with home-made foccacia bread. I like the bread which came warm , great to nibble on while waiting for the food. The bread is home-made and it was very crsipy but a little tad to oily. It was just like eating a deep-fried flatbread.

Mixed Salad with Raw vegetables

I love greens thus this is a great dish to start off my meal. 3 types of greens- Zucchini, french beans and Carrots. I actually requested them to omit the french beans but they still serve it to me. Well, the response was to take out the french beans by myself. The veggies were crunchy, i think they just lightly blanched/steamed it and drizzled with olive oil and salt. It was a little over-salted and other than that, it was fine.


Seabass cinque-terre style

There was only 3 seafood item on the menu. The seabass was recommended by Alex(the staff), being one of the popular dish here. What exactly is cinque-terre? From wiki: The Cinque Terre is a rugged portion of coast on the Italian Riviera. The sauce actually consist of white white, olive oil and the juice from the seabass itself. The seabass fillet was a huge piece and they topped it with capers, diced tomatoes and black olives. The sauce is naturally sweet and flavourful. The fish is slightly poached and serve it under a bed of spinach leaves(salty). The fish is very tender and flavorful and I love the fish skin which was slightly crispy.

I didn’t had any desserts as it was a rainy day so it was a little ”unappropriate” for me to take chilled stuffs.

Chef Osvaldo is a very friendly guy who came over an have a chat with me. From what I know, he had been in Singapore for 6 yrs. He also explained that the temperature and climate here in singapore is quite different compared to Italy. The pasta that he made was perfect in Italy and using the same ingredients and recipe in singapore, the pasta just failed miserably.I guess it might be due to the humidity here in Singapore. I enjoyed having a chat with him, listening to his stories.

The service here is friendly and attentive. I also bought a bottle of extra virgin olive oil from them as the quality is not too bad.

 
Complimentary bread

Complimentary bread

 
Salad

Salad

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

affordable japanese food OK Aug 25, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

New Garo is located @ Chun Tin Road, along the stretch of Food eateries in Upper Bukit Timah Road(Opp. Beauty wORld). They have been there for quite a few yrs , serving affordable japanese food. The interior is quite cosy, just like a typical japanese eatery.

Do try their Japanese Bentos, available in different choices and they are very popular among the patrons here. They do have an ala-carte menu and daily specials written on the whiteboard.

I started off by having this SUGI BELLY SASHIMI (KINGFISH BELLY)

I actually wanted the hamachi belly sashimi but it is not available today thus I had this kingfish belly sashimi. 8 pcs of kingfish belly cut into thin slices and served with shiso leaves and daikon. The fish is quite fresh.

Agedashi Tofu
I was a little taken aback by the big portion of Agedashi tofu served. 4 pcs of deep-fried tofu served in a pot with some mirin and special sauce. I like the crispy skin despite being ”soaked” with the sauce. They topped it with some benito flakes and spring onions which was good with the tofu. The tofu is soft on the inside and crispy on the outside but I would prefer it to be warmer.

Deep-fried Mekajiki Skin
This is my favourite! Instead of the salmon skin commonly served in Japanese restaurants, they have mekajiki skin(swordfish) which is something different. Particularly, I love fish skins, regardless of what type of fish. The skin is one of the fattiest part besides the belly and it is packed with collagen (good for skin). The swordfish skin is cut into thin strips, coat with some salt, pepper and flour & deep-fried till crispy. It was just like eating keropok… so addictive! I pop the fish skins in my mouth and in less than 5 mins, I finished the whole plate of it! You can dip it with mayonnaise or simply enjoy the salt and pepper seasoning.

Yasai Itame

This is basically stir-fried mixed vegetables. Japanese styled stir-fried vegetables would consist of capsicums, onions, cabbage, beansprouts and mushrooms. The Yasai Itame is not too bad, fragrant bits of garlic & the vegatable are crunchy and not oily.

The verdict: Do try the value for $ Japanese Bentos. The portions are really huge and well-value for $. Each bentos cost btw $20-$25 which comes with rice, soup, mains, deep-fried items and fruits.

The service here is attentive and friendly. Do ask for recommendations if you are not sure what to order.



 

 
Hamachi belly

Hamachi belly

 
       Agedashi Tofu

Agedashi Tofu

 
Deep-fried Mekajiki Skin

Deep-fried Mekajiki Skin

 
Yasai itame

Yasai itame

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 18, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The ship is floating OK Aug 25, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

The Ship Restaurant


This is not my first visit to The Ship Restaurant. I had been there many years ago but I can’t exactly remember when and the food I had there. A re-visit to The Ship as Mum wanted to try the Escargots . Well, The Ship had been smooth sailing and many had raved about the escargots .

The interior is very dim and once you enter the restaurant, you can see the ”Ship” and imagin e yourself as a passenger, dining on the deck.The restaurant itself really resembles the deck of the Ship. A true experience!

Upon seated, they hand us the menu promptly. I was interested in the executive set meal which is 1/2 lobster with choice of grilled chicken, pork, fish or rib eye steak. The set comes with a daily soup , dessert of the day and coffe/tea priced at $34.50++.

It has been quite a long time since I had lobster thus my mind is set on the 1/2 lobster with grilled fish. Frankly speaking, I didn’t really fancy lobster meat due to the tough texture. I prefer slipper lobster a.k.a Crayfish!

I also had 1/2 dozen of the Escargots to share with my mom.



Green salad with French dressing

We had the green salad with choice of French or 1000 island dressing. It was a simple salad with some lettuce, tomatoes, carrot and capsicum strips.



Escargots Bourguinonne ($13.90++)

Don’t leave The Ship without trying the Escargots! It’s one of the better ones you can get in Singapore. You can order it at 1 or 1/2 dozen. The escargots were probably stir-fried and stuffed in the shells and baked in the oven. I like the fragrance of the minced garlic and butter, it was so addictive! I think I could probably finish a dozen by myself.


1/2 LOBSTER with Dory fish ($34.90++)



The Lobster set comes with 1/2 lobster done Thermidor style (white wine, cheese + mushrooms) and 2 pcs of pan-fried dory fish fillets. I actually request for ”no cheese” but they still serve it with cheese.

Lobster Thermidor

The 1/2 lobster looks kinda pathetic. Although it looks huge but there wasn’t much lobster meat. I can only taste the cheese and mushroom and perhaps a few bits of the lobster meat which was slightly tough and chewy. Mum advised me not to order Lobsters as they may look big and meaty but there really isn’t much to enjoy.


Pan-fried Dory fillets

At least the dory fillets were decent. The fish has a crispy skin and the meat is very soft. It is spinkled with some almond flakes that added crunch.

We decided not to have any desserts because we can get better desserts somewhere!

Verdict: I would probably come by again if I am craving for the Escargots. The rest of the food were just average to me ( personal). Majority of the staff here are senior citizens and please understand if they can’t understand or speak English well.








 
Bread roll with scs butter

Bread roll with scs butter

 
Green salad

Green salad

 
Escargots

Escargots

 
Lobster and dory fish

Lobster and dory fish

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0