OpenRice Index
  
huiyuan89
This is huiyuan89 living in Teck Whye. I am a student, work in Queenstown. I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Orchard. French, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Desserts and Cakes, salads.
Member 42 First(s)
No. of Review110 Review(s)
編輯推介數目70 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity6501 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos442 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲193 Follower(s)
huiyuan89  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 110 Reviews in Singapore
Elegant french dining OK Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood


Le Saint Julian, an elegant and fine-dining French Restaurant at the Fullerton Boathouse. The view from the restaurant overlook the Esplanade and Sinagpore River. Do request seats by the window!
The Executive chef/ owner Julien Bompard went over to Julien Bompard at The Ascott and would head the kitchen during Dinner time. St Julien is now head by Stephane , the Chef de Cuisine.


Set Lunch Menu

Set lunch menu is priced @ $58++ and the menu changes monthly. Do take note that the portions are small and normally they do not showcase their best in their set lunch menu.
I had the set lunch but top up for the Signature Lobster Bisque.


French Baguette

Choice of Sourdough/ French baguette. I had the latter as I do not like the flaxseeds in the sourdough bread.
The baguette is crusty and had a chewy texture. It would be better if serve warm.

Nyon Olive Oil

The sommelier highlighter the olive oil, Nyon, which is from the chef’s hometown.
Not too bad, it taste similar to the Olive oil from Italy.

Signature Lobster Bisque ($28++)

This is a ”MUST-TRY” ! Do not leave St.Julien without trying this Lobster Bisque. Initially I had the set lunch which does not include the Lobster Bisque but since this is highly recommended, I decided to top up to try it.
The Lobster bisque uses everything from The Lobster- Head, Tail, meat…etc. They woould actually serve the bowl with lobster meat, , aioli and gruyere to you and pour the bisque over. By doing this, you could actually smell the aroma of the bisque.

Another shot

The Lobster bisque is rich and full of flavour. It is slightly smooth and creamy, this is one of the best Bisque that I have ever tried. They used quality ingredients in making this bisque to ensure it brings out the richness of the flavour of Lobster. This serves as a excellent starter before proceeding to the mains.

Le Saint Julien Mesclun Salad
This isn’t the usual salad leaves that you can always find/get .
The salad leaves were imported (unsure of the country) and this simple salad is refreshing!
It consits of finely chopped onions, mini radish, cherry tomatoes and belgium endives tossed in Lemon dressing / Walnut oil.
I like the simplicity and the quality of the salad leaves is one that I am looking for!

Grilled Snapper with spinach & fennel sauce with thyme

This was my choice of mains. Other popular choices would be the capellini pasta and Beef Tenderloin.
Choice of snapper/ barranmundi
This was not a wise choice…
The fish fillet actually contains some fish bones and even fish scales! This is the first time I had ever encounter eating fish scales in a fine-dining restauarnt.




There were some plus points as well:
1) The fish meat is quite soft and tender
2) I like the simple fennel and thyme sauce
Other than that, this was just an average dish, not something that I would return for.

Petite 4( Almond Financier & Chocolate truffles)

Some sweets to end…
The almond financier is crispy and has rasyberry jam in bewteen.
I simply love the chocolate truffles, they used good quality chocolate thus it has a bitter sweet taste and melts in my mouth. Yums!
It taste even better when you ahd it with a cuppa of coffee!

Some Hits & Misses here… the lobster bisque is a ”must-try”.
The attentive sommelier and Edith, the owner of St. Julien makes the dining experience pleasant plus the nice view of Sinagpore!

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 27, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

LOvely tiramisu OK Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

Ristorante De Parma is a small Italian run family restuarant in Serangoon Gardens( opp the country club). It was a re-visit for me as I have been here to try the Tiramisu, about 2 yrs ago. I want to check if it was still as yummy as ever or standard has dropped.

They offer 3 different set lunch – The 5 course executive, executive and the Value. The pizzas are priced at $12.90 on Tuesday night only! The Smoked salmon pizza is highly recommended. Well, I came here for the purpose of trying the Tiramisu.

Foccacia Bread


2 slices of foccacia served Lukewarm with olive and balsamic dip. I didn’t like the bread it was kinda dry.

Insalata Di Portobello ($14.90++)


This is the Portobello mushroom salad highly recommended by some of the HGW foodies. Indeed the portobello mushroom was huge and JUICY! The juice from the mushroom just burst out when I bite in it. The only downside is there was too little greens. (meslcun salad)

Spaghetti con Pro cuitto e Funghi tossed with parma ham & field mushroom ($21.80++)



Mum’s spaghetti in aglio aglio style. The pasta is al-dente but Mum feels that it was a little rough and difficult to chew. The pasta is also quite dry. We gave our feedback and they told us it was done in a drier version so that we could enjoy the natural taste of pasta.

Tagliolini seppia nero con Aragostine ($25.80++)



My pasta was the Tagliolini squid ink pasta with slipper lobster and tomatoes in homemade tomato sauce. It looks lovely, with the black-coloured Tagliolini pasta. They were quite generous with the slipper lobsters and they were so firm and bouncy.




At first I thought my teeth would be stained black after having the Squid ink pasta but there was no obvious sign of any staining. I realised that only pasta cooked in squid ink sauce would stain my teeth.
The black-coloured Tagliolini pasta is very smooth, just the way I like it and the homemade tomato sauce taste very fresh, with lots of tomatoes . Thumbs up!

Tiramisu ($12.90++)


Here comes the star of the show! Don’t leave RDP without trying it’s fantastic Tiramisu. It was one of the Best that I have tried so far. The proportion of liquor and mascapone cheese is well-balanced. I like the wetter version of Tiramisu, rum soaked lady’s finger and Kahlua.




IMO, I still prefer the Tiramisu which I had about 2 yrs ago, which is slightly wetter.( Individuals have their own preference of Tiramisu). Neverthless, the Tiramisu is still as fantastic as ever, which Mom and I licked the plate clean.


Overall verdict: I am most willing to travel all the way to Serangoon Gardens to curb my Tiramisu fix. Their Tiramisu is one of best that I have ever tried. I would probably go back again for the Pizzas!

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 17, 2010 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Italian bistro @ NEX OK Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pasta | Kids-Friendly


LIeno Modern Bistro , which is derived from Spanish phrase -’ to be full of praise’ / full house. Nowadays, Business owners love to use different languages or phrases to name their restaurants which made them sound unique .
Expect to find European food with an Asian twist here and the kitchen is held by Chef Francis Quoh ( which I never heard of ).


Set lunch menu & ala-carte


They offer set lunch and dinner menu and the dishes change daily. This means that you could drop by their bistro daily to enjoy different dishes . The 3 course lunch is priced @ $13.80 ++ which comes with a soup of the day, a main course of choice and dessert of the day .

The ala-carte menu, on the other hand, features tapas a range of appetitizer , a small selection of salads , mains and desserts. They do provide a recommendation of wine to pair with each dish.

Green salad ($8.50++)

Watermelon & crabmeat ($13.80++)



Fresh crabmeat was served atop a small slice of caramelised watermelon. If I guessed correctly , the watermelon was slightly pan-seared with honey to add a tinge of sweetness. Real crabmeat was used and not the imitation surimi / crabstick but the portion was a little on the small side .


Barramundi with braised leeks and potato, brandy cream ($18.90++)



Reasonable pricing and generous portion of the barramundi fish . The fish is executed simply, mild-flavoured and crispy skin. The accompanying sauce, which has a flavour of crab bisque in it was mild and in fact , bland. There wasn’t any hint of brandy (if any) in the sauce.


The small slice of potato was tasty … and it wasn’t starchy at all! The braised leek was braised till soft…. I like!



Verdict: I find the food here a little too mild-flavoured for my liking. The dishes were simple and average & the presentation of food were clean and neat. Service was friendly though.

 
Set lunch menu

Set lunch menu

 
Green salad with lots of veggies

Green salad with lots of veggies

 
Crabmeat & Watermelon salad

Crabmeat & Watermelon salad

 
Barramundi with braised leeks

Barramundi with braised leeks

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 18, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Simple and light tasting food Smile Mar 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Swiss | Bars/Lounges

Hidden at the corner of Millenia Walk, it is quite easy to miss Oenotheque by the Wine Universe. The space had been fully made used and the idea of retail-cellar, restaurant and bar (3-in-1) was a contemporary concept.

The restaurant featured Modern French Cuisine, helmed by Head Chef- Paul Longworth. If you wished to observe the chefs at work, request for the bar seats.
Set lunch menu


The restaurant offers a 2 or 3 course set lunch priced at $32++ and $38++ respectively ( some dishes might require additional supplement. It was a challenge to decide for the choice of starters as they all seemed to suit my personal preference.

Tiger prawn tartare, cucumber, quail egg and caviar



It was quite common to see Tuna tartare on the menu but Chef Longworth used Fresh tiger prawns instead and it proved to work very well. The tiger prawns were sweet and without any fishy smell or flavour. The thin-like thread used for garnishing was white radish which I thought was vermicelli!
Quail egg + caviar = Divine!

Fillet of barramundi, salsify braised in red wine and coconut sauce


This dish looks like a piece of art .
The thick ‘‘egg-white” was actually coconut cream which I mistook it for egg white . The barramundi fish was lightly seared , served with thick coconut cream, purple salsify and top with asparagus spears.


The barramundi fillet was simply and light-tasting but I thought there was too much coconut cream and tend to overpower the natural flavour of the fish ( coconut cream is thick and rich).
It was my first time trying purple salsify and I even mistook it for asparagus! The texture indeed reminds me of asparagus but salsify has an ”oyster’‘ flavour and hence it is also known as ‘‘oyster plant”.

Roasted potatoes


It was a little peculiar to serve roasted potatoes as a side dish ( as I did not place an order for that) but anyway, I enjoyed the roasted potatoes.
The skin was incredibly crispy and bursting with flavors in each bite. It was certainly addictive and even a person like me who dislikes starch made an attempt to finish all of them.


Verdict: Thumbs up for the food presentation, simple, light-tasting food.

 

 
Tiger prawn tartar

Tiger prawn tartar

 
Fillet of barramundi

Fillet of barramundi

 
Roasted potatoes

Roasted potatoes

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 28, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing  Cry Oct 15, 2010   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

Careshop de Cafe (CDC) is a cafe cum a retail store for care products. You can purchase health products here ( a little weird though). The cafe offers light meals such as sandwiches, coffee , salads..etc which is an ideal place for the office workers to grab something light here.The cafe looks simple and neat. You would have to order & pay @ the counter & wait for your food to be served.


They offer light salads, sandwiches, pastas, mains , bento sets and desserts. The pastas & sandwiches are popular here ( according to the waiter ) .

The Caesar ($3.50+)

I requested for less croutons and they kindly separated the garlic croutons & dressing . Salads are supposed to be healthy but this salad seemed to be loaded with loads of cheese !


Grilled Chicken chop, brown sauce, garlic mash & veggies ($11.90+)
The Grilled chicken chop was recommended by the waiter as one of the popular dish here. Well, the portion was HUGE! It was a bit of a challenge for me to finish this up & somehow I regretted ordering the Caesar salad in the first place.Seriously, the chicken chop was tasteless even though it was seasoned with black pepper. The meat taste like frozen chicken meat which I could easily make out. The brown sauce was slightly coagulated and starch granules could be seen … . The chicken skin was also slightly rubbery (like eating chewing gum). The only thing that I like is the greens served by the sides.

Verdict : I happened to be in the vicinity to visit my friend & try out this Cafe but was disappointed with the food. Thankfully, I didn’t come all the way here from the West & left unsatisfied.

 

 
the caesar

the caesar

 
grilled chicken chop with brown sauce

grilled chicken chop with brown sauce

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0