OpenRice Index
  
claire_chua85
This is claire_chua85 living in Bukit Batok. I work in Somerset. I like to hang out in Holland, Somerset, Bukit Batok. Italian, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre.
Member 69 First(s)
No. of Review585 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity4702 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos626 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow3 Following
粉絲152 Follower(s)
claire_chua85  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 585 Reviews in Singapore
Waffles Town at Bukit Timah OK Mar 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food



The concept of Waffle town is similar to just any other fast food restaurant. They do serve main dishes, but I go for waffles.

Sad to say, their waffles are fantastic as the name Waffle town makes them out to be. Nonetheless the ice cream waffles served are pretty competent, with crisp and fluffy waffles, topped with the run of the mill ice cream available in six flavors. For the unbeatable price of $4 for a single scoop Ice Cream Waffle, I certainly can’t complain!

Final thoughts? Simple but gratifying food at extremely good value. It’s no wonder Waffletown is a hit with even budget conscious students, so a return visit to Waffle town would most definitely be on an occasional basis.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffles
 
Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Greenhouse effect at ritz Smile Mar 28, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Restaurant | Buffet

 

 

 
It was really a very good deal for us ladies. With credit card promotion and we actually booked 3 weeks in advance. And finally we went for the buffet 1-for-1. That was my first time going there. The ambiance was elegant and with the floral surrounding. My most favorite food was the chili crab and the first time when we got it was very delicious. The taste still lingering in my mind. The promotion of Wednesday 1-for-1 buffet dinner for ladies using DBS card was too hard to resist so off I went with the ladies in my family. When we arrived at 6:30pm, the places was not packed but the crowd started swelling about 7pm – 90% were ladies of course, with an occasional men milling around.

The last time I came to Greenhouse was for their champagne brunch which was absolutely fabulous, and I was expecting the same standard although of course not the same fare. In fact I half expected them to sting on the quality and quantity as almost all of us there were paying half price with the promotion but they didn’t. Nice!

Seafood – an extravagant spread of freshly oysters, flower crabs, prawns, clams, and mussels. All were very fresh and the prawns of a very good size I must say. The only gripe is that the flower crab was not cracked so I gave up on some pieces halfway.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oyster,dessert
 
Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ambush in Taka Smile Mar 23, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

 
Had dinner here with my boyfriend the other day after shopping.

Anyway, ambience wise is very food court like on long wooden tables and benches (not the best seating, but maybe for space saving). We sit next to the big window in which we could see the chefs cooking the food.

The food was actually surprisingly really delicious. I always have very low expectations of western food in Singapore, and even lower when it comes to fusion food. We had aglio olio with fried chicken the aglio olio (you have a choice of about 4 different pastas) was super flavorful and super delicious. I asked for less spice and it turned out very well. They had sprinkled shredded seaweed on the top which turned out very nice! The chicken on the top was more impressive, perfectly fried, warm and crispy.

The service was surprisingly wonderful! The waiters and waitresses were very polite and attentive. They served us ice water and refilled it when we had asked for more.

All in all I would definitely come back again!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Aglio Olio
 
Date of Visit: Mar 22, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Sweet Love Smile Mar 21, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes

 

 

 
Being dessert lovers, we decided to embark on a journey to unearth the hidden gems of both the East and West, and it turned out to be a remarkable one dotted with treasures and only a couple of disappointed digs.

Personal favorites from the East include dulce de leche crepe (crepe filled with milk and caramel served with peanut butter ice cream), coconut mango roll (coconut sheet wrapped with fresh mango) and black and white sesame panna cotta. To cut the guilt, both beancurd barley and green bean and seaweed soup are good choices.

As for the West, chocolate fondant with green tea ice cream is simply divine while aussie pavlova (meringue with whipped cream, fresh fruits and passionfruit pulp sauce) beckons when I prefer something light yet tantalizing enough to excite my mega sweet tooth.

Apart from the friendly and efficient staff, it's the chef who makes the journey even sweeter and endearing. Ever jovial and enthusiastic, she never fails to amaze me with her creativity. Though we've not tried all her interesting takes on the ubiquitous creme brulee, the blueberry version has spurred us to embrace flavors other than the traditional one.

Expectantly, this bright and cheery cafe promises a welcoming vibe no matter when we drop by. Weekdays are excellent for a quiet read while weekends are bursts of vibrancy as couples, friends and families bond over some luscious treats.

Well, our journey may have ended, having tried all the desserts sans the snow ice and drinks, but now we're ready to take a trip down memory lane, as some treasures are worth revisiting time and again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chocolate fondant with green tea ice cream,dulce de leche crepe
 
Date of Visit: Feb 22, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Breaded Chicken Hor Fun Smile Mar 20, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Kids-Friendly

seeing so many people queuing up, my bf decided to join the queue. This is a nice Hor Fun Choice, My bf ordered this and i must comment that indeed he made the right choice.

Its quite nice!! and for $3, its cheap and quite a lot of ingredients..

the best recommended dish is the Bak Cho Mee, but we didn't order, Breaded Chicken Hor Fun is an alternative for Amigo.

Despite the queue, the service was quite fast.

The noodles was smooth and chewy and the home-made chilli was good.

the fried chicken thigh is tender, i don't like breast meat. I will go again on my next visit to changi village,

 

 
The hor fun was really good, it was smooth and the sauce over it was tasty. The chicken chop was fried till crispy and it went very well with the smooth hor fun and the sauce.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Hor Fun
 
Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0