OpenRice Index
  
WillTravelForFood
This is WillTravelForFood . I also love Desserts and Cakes.
Member 14 First(s)
No. of Review98 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity1094 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos180 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant4 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲48 Follower(s)
WillTravelForFood  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 98 Reviews in Singapore
Disappointing desserts OK Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

My friends and I made reservations for lunch at 1pm but to our dismay, they weren't offering the full menu until after 2:30pm so we were stuck with limited choices. BOO!

I ordered the brunch set which was about $58++ for one main and one dessert or appetiser.

 
I chose the appetiser of French onion soup. This was the best thing I had during lunch here. Super strong broth that hits you instantly and the amount of cheese was amazing!!!

 
We ordered a side of truffle fries to share. Every table seemed to have this so we thought why not? Verdict: good but the truffle wasn't evenly distributed. Some didn't have truffle on them at all.

 
The duck confit was my main course. The chocolate sauce that accompanied the mash potatoes was just plain weird for me (although my friends thought it was okay). It has this weird aftertaste. As for the duck itself, one word: overcooked. The skin was nice and cripsy but the meat was just too tough. Sigh.

Also, not pictured, we ordered 4 desserts to share - cheesecake platter, banana nutella crepe, bread and butter pudding cake and raspberry chocolate cake. All of them were really bad and disappointing, maybe except for the banana nutella crepe but even that barely passed. sad
 
Recommended Dish(es):  French onion soup
 
Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent French crepes Smile Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Vegetarian | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Western Soup

A friend introduced this place to me back in 2011 and I've been back since.

This was probably my 5th or 6th time here and this time I had the set menu. I think it's about $30++ for one savoury crepe, one dessert crepe, the soup of the day, plus a drink. Not too shabby, eh?

 
Soup of the day: clam chowder. This was awesome and this is coming from someone who is NOT a fan of clam chowder. Too many times have I tried fishy-tasting, weird clam chowder. This on the other hand, was not the case.

 
For my savoury crepe, I chose the La Groix - camenbert cheese with potatoes and bacon bits. I usually would go for Geraldine's Cheese (different kinds of cheese in one crepe), but I wanted to try something different and was very happy with my choice. The addition of bacon bits was great!

 
Lastly, the dessert crepe. I had to try the Entre-Nous (homemade salted butter caramel) crepe. Actually I was quite surprised I hadn't tried it till now. This creation was da bombbbbb. It's salted caramel done right - not too sweet and not at all hard on the throat! I'm craving for this right now, sigh. A must-try!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salted butter caramel crepe
 
Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffeeshop | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

I'd heard a lot about De Burg but always thought the place was very out of the way. So when my friend offered to drive here I was more than happy to go along.

 
The big boss is very hands-on and does a lot of the work here. He's friendly and nice so thumbs up to that! I ordered the Bacon Cheeseburger with a $5 add-on of portobello mushroom. That's right.. $5 for that add-on. Pretty pricey but I guess it was worth it because the burger was absolutely incredible.

The patty was perfect, none of that artificial tasting crap and the ingredients just came together beautifully. One gripe I had: the burger buns were actually cold. Like they came fresh out of the chiller. Not cool. At least warm it up, guys!

Other than that, no complaints and will definitely be returning to try other creations like their unique lamb and nutella burger!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bacon Cheeseburger
 
Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prawn paste chicken (Y) Smile Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Seafood | BBQ

For a tze char store, Star Young Kwang does pretty solid dishes. Don't be deceived by this humble-looking eatery at Alexandra Village Food Centre!

 

 
I've been here several times but this time I was just "snacking" so my friend and I ordered a medium sambal stingray and 12 pcs of prawn paste chicken to share. I can't remember how much was the stingray but the chicken was $14 for 12 pcs. Pretty cheap I think?

The stingray was really good, one of the better ones I've had in a long while. It's not too spicy with just the right amount of sweetness. Lots of meat too.

As for the prawn paste chicken, it was also quite impressive. Most places don't have that strong prawn paste flavour to the chicken, but this one was good enough (although I've tried even stronger-tasting ones). Definitely coming back for more!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn paste chicken
 
Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The best liu sha bao in SG Smile Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

Liu sha bao is one of those things I can eat anytime, any day. I've tried many, many versions from different restaurants, but the one at Victor's Kitchen will forever be #1 to me.

 

 
It's 3 pieces for I think $4+. The reason why I like it? It's boasts an additional layer of pure butter. If you slowly open the bun up, you will see the layer of butter just floating there, together with the custard paste. So good! Also, because there's this additional layer, it's more flow-y than usual and it can get messy so beware - pack wet tissue when you try the liu sha bao here!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Liu sha bao
 
Date of Visit: Aug 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0