OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup Smile Feb 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Desserts and Cakes | Chinese Noodles

There is always long queue at Penang Street especially during lunch hours and despite the fact that they split over two dining areas, it is still not enough to cater for patrons who are looking forward to their food. I like the restaurant theme colour. It is so much like turquoise and it complements the vintage design of their dining table. There is a board that states their Top 10 Dishes and I had their Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup since having that crave.

I must dismiss the statement made by a lady sitting beside that the prawn mee soup isn't nice. On the other hand, it actually suits my taste bud. What makes a prawn mee good in taste is the soup base. The soup is sweet and tasty. It seems like they used up many prawn heads to boil the pot of nice prawn soup. And you can find peeled prawns that are quite fresh, sliced hard-boiled egg, vegetables and fishcake, top with fried garlic. The vermicelli and yellow mee actually soak up the soup taste and it just perfect in overall. The price per bowl wasn't that flattering but worth the try. Also try their Home-Made Barley, choosing between cold or warm to beat the unpredictable weather out there.
Top 10 Dishes

Top 10 Dishes

 
Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup $9.80

Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup $9.80

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup
 
Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Signature Chicken Pie Smile Jan 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

Was told that their pies are awesome and so I tried it myself. Had their Signature Chicken Pie for $6 and it is quite a huge portion, considering that I have a small appetite. A little expensive for a pie of such. The pastry itself is very flaky on the outside with a little crispiness and having to cut it in nice pieces takes a little skill. The stuffing within was good and generous. Just like any chicken puff from Delifrance but you get to taste a quarter of a hard-boiled egg together with the stuffing. It is served with aluminium foil which probably helps to maintain the temperature of the pastry. But it gets a little sick because of the big portion. However it definitely can fill your stomach through the next half of the day at work.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prawn Noodles OK Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

What makes a bowl of prawn noodles taste good lies on the soup base that allows the noodles or beehoon to absorb the essence from it. Most of the time, the prawn heads are one of the many ingredients in the soup that contributes to the sweetness.

Here at Guang Tai, it did met the expectation on the soup with a little greasy but the prawns failed to impress as they are not fresh and also overcooked. But with slices of fishcakes and vegetables, is a plus point. This stall is one of the oldest since this food centre opened more than a decade ago and the price has since increased from $2.00 to $3.00.

They sell only Lor Mee (Braised noodles) and Prawn noodles only.

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Malaysian style dinner Cry Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Chinese Noodles

Nasi Bojari $18.90

The waitress recommended us to try this. The achar was left out but sambal prawns is good and very appetizing. The drumstick is quite a big portion with tender texture of the meat. Love the skin. Tasty. As for the rice, quite norm but fragrance. Like Yang Zhou Fried Rice.

Otak $15.90

This is quite a thick piece in 8 cubes, cut unequally. It's nice and that aroma purges out with every bite. The strong taste of otah stays for awhile in your mouth. But you get a little sick because of the big portion plus the thickness of every cut cube.

Claypot Seafood Beancurd $15.90

The only reason why we ordered this is because we want a good balance of nutrients. Inside, you can find tofu, prawns, beans, cauliflowers, mushrooms and so on. Al I can say is well-cooked and the prawns are fresh. Nothing much to comment for a norm dish on the dining table.

Ipoh Kway Teow Soup $11.90

The minute it was served up to me, I regretted. So plain. Nothing appeals to me. The soup was bland. Prawns was a little overcooked as it tastes a little harden. Although I wanted something light, but I need something that can stir up my appetite. This has totally failed on me.

Overall, it wasn't a good dinner yet pricey.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

European style Dinner Smile Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

Baby Calamari Fritti Skewers $6.80

It reminds me of those squid heads that Old Chang Kee is selling. Nice, crispy and chewy. The deep-frying part is an important element which affects the overall taste.

Funghi Alla Gamberi $9.20 - Recommended

The photo didn't do justice to the food. Although it looks as if it has just mushrooms and prawns, but it definitely tastes good! My kind of comfort food if I don't choose to have any mains. I love the way the mushrooms are sauteed. To me, mushrooms taste the best when saute. They used olive oil which is healthy. And the prawns are superb fresh and springy.

Escargots De Bourgogne $8.50 - Recommended

I need the seafood smell to be removed in order to enjoy this escargot. It did and all I can taste is the chewiness of these fresh escargots with lots of garlic.

Marinera Paella - $13.80

It has this very tomato taste and it stays in your mouth for awhile. You can also find fresh prawns, salmon belly, small little scallops, clams and mussels. It kind of make me wonder how they manage the fire so well that it is not too moist. This is the essence of what paella should be in my opinion. We actually did not squeeze that lemon onto the dish but it is good enough.
Baby Calamari Fritti Skewers

Baby Calamari Fritti Skewers

 
Funghi Alla Gamberi

Funghi Alla Gamberi

 
Escargots De Bourgogne

Escargots De Bourgogne

 
Marinera Paella

Marinera Paella

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Funghi Alla Gamberi,Escargots De Bourgogne
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0