OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Malaysian style dinner Cry Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Chinese Noodles

Nasi Bojari $18.90

The waitress recommended us to try this. The achar was left out but sambal prawns is good and very appetizing. The drumstick is quite a big portion with tender texture of the meat. Love the skin. Tasty. As for the rice, quite norm but fragrance. Like Yang Zhou Fried Rice.

Otak $15.90

This is quite a thick piece in 8 cubes, cut unequally. It's nice and that aroma purges out with every bite. The strong taste of otah stays for awhile in your mouth. But you get a little sick because of the big portion plus the thickness of every cut cube.

Claypot Seafood Beancurd $15.90

The only reason why we ordered this is because we want a good balance of nutrients. Inside, you can find tofu, prawns, beans, cauliflowers, mushrooms and so on. Al I can say is well-cooked and the prawns are fresh. Nothing much to comment for a norm dish on the dining table.

Ipoh Kway Teow Soup $11.90

The minute it was served up to me, I regretted. So plain. Nothing appeals to me. The soup was bland. Prawns was a little overcooked as it tastes a little harden. Although I wanted something light, but I need something that can stir up my appetite. This has totally failed on me.

Overall, it wasn't a good dinner yet pricey.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hong Kong Style Dinner Cry Jul 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

The decoration inside the restaurant

The decoration inside the restaurant

 


I have patronised this restaurant for many times and every time we choose to have our dinner here is because of convenience and is not very crowded. And of course, the price is considered quite reasonable.

Beside the cashier is the take-away counter on the right

Beside the cashier is the take-away counter on the right

 


They renovated the restaurant and now compared to the previous look, more Hong Kong style restaurant type of ambience. They play Cantonese songs too. Everything looks so retro. Their wall and floor tiles, decorations and even their chopsticks holder.

Food items from takeaway counter

Food items from takeaway counter

 

Takeaway Counter
You can choose to dine in for more variety of food in their menu or there is a takeaway counter where you can grab a bite from a limited selection of fishballs, beancurd skin, pork meat balls and so on. And if you are dining in, you can also pick your choice from the counter and they will serve up to you. We picked a stick of fishball, porkmeat ball and beancurd skin each. The sauce plate contains 4 different types of sauce for you to mix with your food. Chilli, sweet sauce and so on. Price is about $5 for 3 sticks. You can choose any one of the sticks, I guess. This choice of sides is still okay if you are just grab a quick bite. The taste is quite average. I probably think that they should use those steamboat type of fishballs rather than the fried type. The soup base be it curry or some others, it can absorb the taste better.

YinYang Pearl Tea $2.80 & Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

YinYang Pearl Tea $2.80 & Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

 
Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

 

Drinks
I ordered a YinYang Pearl Tea ($2.80) for myself and a hot Ginger Milk Tea ($2.00) for my boyfriend. Actually both the taste are so-so. Nothing to pick on. But I was so into their cup and not their drinks. It is so cute and makes me wonder where I can get them. Snap quite a few shots of their cup.

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90

 

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90
My boyfriend had this and it worsen his mood. The rice is below the egg. Sunny side-up with a light soya sauce on top, a typical food which we can cook at home. Initially I thought is some fried rice but actually is not. Just plain white rice. The duck meat and vegetables are not fresh. The duck meat are harden, taste like those leftover from yesterday. And the looks of those vegetables simply turn you off. The only thing that is fresh will be the sunny sideup and luncheon meat, which of course must be cooked on the spot. Definitely not recommending this.

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00

 
Sichuan DanDan Noodles - Closeup

Sichuan DanDan Noodles - Closeup

 

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00
I had Sichuan Dan Dan Noodles and when they serve up this noodles, first thing that comes to my mind is why the soup so diluted and not red enough? My impression of Sichuan food is spicy and so the soup base should be like red hot chilli in colour. So disappointed. There are only strips of cucumbers and minced meat. And yes the taste is spicy but I don't know why the noodles taste bland. The noodles used should be those for ramen. But really for one thing, the noodles did not absorb that soup taste. Not enough at all. The taste is so separate. Totally nothing to rave about. I'm not gonna recommend this too.

The cute cup closeup

The cute cup closeup

 

Stainless steel chopstick holder

Stainless steel chopstick holder

 


The final bill is $19.66 which is reasonable. However after so many times of patronising this restaurant, the food taste never change or I should say no improvement. Only the restaurant look improved. Maybe it depends on individual because you still see customers flowing in on and off. Had tried some others in their menu previously. Still average taste but I guess this time round, our picks worsen the impression we had for their food. Maybe if you are not picky, go for the simple Noodles with luncheon meat and sunny side-up. Yes we can cook that at home too but if you are lazy and want something light, can choose that. At least it meets my very minimum expectation on noodles.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/07/food-review-central-restaurant-at.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Noodles with luncheon meat and egg
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fastfood Style of Fish & Co. Cry May 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

Full review at http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/05/food-review-fish-co-express.html

I had Fish & Co before at malls but when I saw that they have Fish & Co Express, I expected their food to taste about the same. I was wrong about it.

First I have to comment that the restaurant is just like a fastfood restaurant setting and not like the usual restaurant that we see outside of the campus. The restaurant is kind of big but barely occupied. But I still try it despite that because you can't just left out nice food right?

I ordered Sea Chicken and Fish at $6.95 that includes a drink. I had Coca Cola Light as usual. The tomato and chilli sauce are self-served. At the cashier counter.

Well... Let me tell you this. It is really nothing to rave about. First I mix the bits of fried garlic with the rice. Okay I don't know whether is garlic rice or not but after mixing it, it does taste a little. Because they give too little. Not enough to bring out the aroma and taste. Lucky I took so chilli sauce even though I'm not really a sauce person.

So I look at the fried food and couldn't see which is fish or chicken. But when I think back on Long John Silver, I think the piece on the top is fish. And yes bingo, is fish! So those below is chicken then way below is nachos.

Both fish and chicken are crispy, however I can't taste the chicken until the last few pieces. I think I'm feasting on oil rather. I really think is kind of oily for both. The texture of both fish and chicken are soft. Really soft which actually melts in your mouth (not in your hand). But a little too oily. I try having it without the coating and just wanna taste the real thing but is too bland. And I have to activate the sauce in order to save it. I doubt they marinate the food. Tasteless. I'm so disappointed. I mean judging from Long John Silver, even if I take away the crispy part, it taste good!!! Anyway the lucky thing is their fish is still fresh and properly thaw.

And as for that nachos thingy, it seems to me more like tapioca than nachos. Not fresh and crunchy at all. Probably put in their container for quite some times.

I don't mind coming back for their pasta.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prawn Noodles OK Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

What makes a bowl of prawn noodles taste good lies on the soup base that allows the noodles or beehoon to absorb the essence from it. Most of the time, the prawn heads are one of the many ingredients in the soup that contributes to the sweetness.

Here at Guang Tai, it did met the expectation on the soup with a little greasy but the prawns failed to impress as they are not fresh and also overcooked. But with slices of fishcakes and vegetables, is a plus point. This stall is one of the oldest since this food centre opened more than a decade ago and the price has since increased from $2.00 to $3.00.

They sell only Lor Mee (Braised noodles) and Prawn noodles only.

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Matcha Chococro OK Nov 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

What attracts me in the first place was the nice crepes display outside their cafe and ended up, I just grab their Chococro for lunch.

Daifuku mean Great Luck in Japanese, also known as a Japanese confection that contains a small sweetened red bean paste mochi. However instead of mochi, I taste two different types of filling stuffed within the croissant of a Matcha Daifuku Chococro, green bean paste, red bean paste along with a mild matcha cream that wasn't very obvious. The croissant was soft but wasn't flaky with the outer layer of the pastry falling off easily with every bite. This is good to go with a cup of coffee.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0