OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Meepok Dry OK May 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Food Court | Noodles

There are varieties of food to choose from at Food Republic. Because not craving for anything, so we had Meepok dry ($4) for 2 from this stall for convenience as there is no queue when we are there at their stall.

At the stall counter, we made our order, the stall helper asked if we want to add fish dumplings. At first I thought is a bowl of fish dumplings soup which costs $4 because he pointed at the menu which is that picture of a bowl of fish dumplings. So we just ordered for one (which we thought is a bowl). Total payment at $9.20.

When we collect our food, is actually just 2 pieces of fish dumplings (min 2 pcs at $1.20).

Anyway there is nothing to rave about for their meepok dry, which I find that those which you can find at hawker centre might be better than theirs, though it is still pleasing to the palate. The fishballs are big, fresh and spring. Not those kept overnight. The soup is not very tasty, quite bland. And their chilli for mixing the meepok is spicy at the right tone plus a little sweet.

As for the fish dumplings which to us is not very worth ($0.60 per piece) is still not bad. Taste nice and the fillings are fresh too. But in future, if you don't really need any additional items for your noodles, just reject politely. I think the stall helper is asking for the sake of it because I heard the back kitchen helper said to him that there is no more left when the next customer placed the order.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

First attempt on Vietnamese food OK May 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

For full review, check out http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/05/pho-stop-your-choice-for-vietnamese.html

I was quite looking forward to this meal with my boyfriend because is our first try.
Grilled Pork Chop Dry Noodles

Grilled Pork Chop Dry Noodles

 
$9.20
It looks nice and tasty especially the pork chop. The little bits of charred makes it look so irresistible. But the taste is bland. The smell of vegetables is very strong. Okay that is a sauce provided and it seems like he should pour into the noodles or for dipping of pork chop. But he said the sauce is salty and just like light soya sauce. On a lighter note, without any sauce, it is quite a healthy choice. Because the taste is not strong like other types of dry noodles with those mixed sauce to enhance the overall taste. Here for this noodles, ladies won't feel guilty after eating. Portion is quite decent. It states in the menu $8.90/$9.20 but we never ask if there is different sizes so they just serve a bigger portion, I guess.
Hanoi Chicken Pho

Hanoi Chicken Pho

 
$7.50
I had this and it tastes quite salty. It is either I'm heaty from within or it really tastes salty. And how come got small bubbles? Inside is mainly shredded chicken, noodles that looks like kway teow to me and spring onion. Basically I am having a expensive kway teow noodles which I probably will get at hawker centre with a price less than that. Not worth.
Vietnamese Fishcakes

Vietnamese Fishcakes

 
$6.60
Probably it looks tempting but from the outside, you can see how oily it is and maybe you can witness the oiliness on their plate. The smell of lemongrass is very strong, salty and oily. But on the bright side, the overall taste is good but hopefully minus away the oiliness and saltiness. Maybe you want to try dipping the chilli sauce.
Deep Fried Spring Rolls

Deep Fried Spring Rolls

 
$5.00
Okay. Is oily on the outside. The same like I mention for fish cakes. But the fillings is good though. Quite suit my palate but still it is salty. *Sigh* The skin is crispy but I feel the skin is kind of like not fresh. When you talk about crispiness, is really crispy and you can even hear the crunchy sound. This one, I don't and is quite hard to bite and tear apart.

So overall, is a good attempt in trying Vietnamese food. But I do find that their food is more of either too bland or too salty. And to suit Singaporean's taste bud, they can probably be in the middle of it. Nevertheless, you may want to try it, especially for those working nearby because like I say, it depends on individual's taste bud. You may find it nice but some may not.
 
Date of Visit: May 21, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Another choice of red tea OK May 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Bubble Tea/ Tea

I broaden my choice of iced red tea aka black tea and settled for Cup Walker for the first time. I always walk past the shop when heading back my boyfriend's house. Never thought of having it but at this very hot weather, I guess I have to get something to chill out.

Even though they have a variety to choose from, I still insist having iced red tea. I guess there is only one size for their drinks which is good, save the hassle. We can choose to have pearls, pudding or assorted can fruits or even just pure tea. So I choose pearls as usual. And I ask for less sugar.

Overall, is good but the pearls are not very chewy and a little harden. But what is more important will be their tea. So it doesn't matter. At $1.60, is reasonably priced.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New York Cheesecake OK May 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffee


Meanwhile redeeming my mini card, I bought a New York Cheesecake takeaway. I'm not a cheese person by the way. But after I tried Cookie Crumble Cheesecake, I decided to try a no frill cheesecake to determine if I can really accept cheese into my life.

First of all, the cheesecake is indeed very cheesy and I actually took just my very first small bite. It is very soft and melts in you mouth with every bite. But I took 2 bites and that's it. It is too cheesy for me, unlike Cooke Crumble Cheesecake which has Oreo crumbles on the outer and inner layer. I think though with the cheesecake taste overwhelmed the oreo crumbles but still bearable than a no frill cheesecake.

I still unable to accept cheese but I can't deny that Cookie Crumble Cheesecake is more for me than New York Cheesecake. Good try for me. And a little pricey at $6+.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Red/Black Tea OK May 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Bubble Tea/ Tea

I have tried many bubble teas, especially red aka black tea, which includes KOI. I always wonder what makes the crowd gather at KOI and what makes them so special as compared to other bubble tea shops. I don't really find a different except for the pricing and their pearls. From $2.10, it recently increased to $2.40 for a small. To me, there's nothing much about a pure black tea as compared to others in their menu which required more ingredients into it. Not very worth. And as for the pearls, they should learn from Tea 12 Reach where they let customers choose the size of pearls they want from mini to normal size.

Overall, I like iced black tea a lot and always only go for that. What KOI stands out a little from others is that a sip of their black tea won't make you feel that dry in your mouth. I wonder if it is because of the sugar level. Usually I will opt for the small size with 50% sugar and pearls. So maybe that's why. But it is good to have such choices in place because nowadays many people are more health-conscious.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0