OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Hong Kong Style Dinner OK Sep 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

Although it is not the best but probably is gonna be their dim sum that will bring me back again the next round.

Xin Wang Signature Fried Rice

I simply love silver fish a lot. And there are squids and prawns. So much like a seafood fried rice. But one thing to comment is that vegetable. Yes I know for presentation wise, this may look nicer but for the customer's convenience, how you expect customers to eat that one whole stalk? Probably should chop half but present it like a whole. The fried rice is tasty but salty. Maybe because with silver fish along (already have that salty taste). Just feel rather thirsty after that. Their fresh squids and prawns are commendable.

Xin Wang Signature Fried Noodles

It is topped with silver fish again. This time round the vegetables are in smaller size. The taste is just the same as fried rice. Same ingredients. Bits of oily. Quite boring.

Har Gao and Siew Mai

Okay lah. I don't really hold in high regards of their main courses but their dim sum are sure the saving grace. Fresh ingredients. The har gao skin is just the right texture. Prawns are fresh but I tasted a fresher one than this.

Yuzu Ice Green Tea

This is quite refreshing and not sweet too. The combi of green tea and yuzu is kind of good. After some oily stuff, this is your choice.
XW Signature Fried Rice

XW Signature Fried Rice

 
XW Signature Fried Noodles

XW Signature Fried Noodles

 
Har Gao and Siew Mai

Har Gao and Siew Mai

 
Yuzu Iced Green Tea

Yuzu Iced Green Tea

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Har Gao,Siew Mai
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wantan Noodles OK Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Seafood | Noodles

This stall has been around for more than a decade and since young, my mum brought us there to buy their Wantan noodles when we have craving for it. From $2 to now $3, the price changes over the years. And it has limited variety and mostly Wantan noodles.

The noodles' serving is just right for one to consume, along with wantan, char siew and vegetables. They hand-made the wantan thus fresh and nice. The noodles are cooked in a way which not only going through hot but also cold water. So it tastes a little springy in a way. I find that the sauce given is not enough to mix with the noodles proportionally. That's why you get to taste the bland side of noodles too.

Once awhile, it still good to patronise this old stall for some authentic taste of wantan noodles.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner & Booze OK Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

Went dinner with 4 friends on a Friday night and enjoying their company together with food and drinks.

Ordered their beer, Weizen and Monster Green Lager Beer and found that it actually tastes just like any other beers that I have come across even when they describe it as having a taste of fruity and spicy.

Their Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets are nice, crispy plus a little spicy but there is no 'wow' factor. However it is properly cooked and the meat is fresh and soft with a little bit of fats within.

Their Potato Wedges is the only finger food that we ordered twice but the taste is great. Soft and crispy. Yet again, no 'wow' factor. But I do recommend ordering this to complement with their beer.

The mushroom soup is one that I strongly not recommending because there is a layer of oil on top which worsen the overall taste. It makes you feel nausea.

If you are health-conscious, please do not order the Fish & Chips because every bite is oil and beer purging out. They use beer batter, their own recipe. You might probably like their chips which is sprinkled with paparika.

The sausage platter looks attractive when served up. A mixture of their very own RedDot Beer sausage, spicy Italian and chicken cheese sausage. The serving was big enough to share among 5 persons and also good for going along with beer. A little costly at $32 but worth the try.

Lastly is their thin-crusted BBQ Chicken Pizza. Topped with bbq chicken, mushroom, onions and bell pepper, somehow it doesn't taste fantastic and instead, bland. Compared with other pizza restaurants, it fails to allure you even with the aroma and the attractive appearance.

Their service is not very good, maybe because shortage of staff and crowds is overwhelming on a Friday night. I probably would not come again on Fridays or weekends but some other days with lesser crowd.
Weizer & Monster Green Lager Beer

Weizer & Monster Green Lager Beer

 
Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets

Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets

 
Sausage Platter

Sausage Platter

 
Mushroom Soup

Mushroom Soup

 
Red Dot Fish & Chips

Red Dot Fish & Chips

 
BBQ Chicken Pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza

 
Potato Wedges

Potato Wedges

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Potato Wedges,Sausage Platter,Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets
 
Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pasta  OK Aug 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

This is my first time patronising Marmalade Pantry after hearing much reviews about their food and was quite looking forward to it.

Was given 2 menus, one for main course and one for drinks and desserts. After going through, I settled for Seared Scallop Linguini ($24) and Mango Lassi (Smoothies - $9).

When it was first presented to me, kind of turn off because maybe the sauce colour. There are scallops and prawns which both are nice and fresh. They used tiger prawns. The pasta was al dente, firm but not hard. That is commendable. But I kind of dislike the sauce that is used for cooking. Apart from garlic, I see that they used tiny dry shrimps which really amazed me. It actually makes the taste a little weird. I conclude that I don't like anything that is bisque. But I manage to finish them all so as not to waste.

For the Mango Lassi, I think the yoghurt has overwhelmed the mango taste. The taste is sour. There is no sweetness coming from the mango. Or probably problem lies with the mango itself, the ripeness.

The service is something that I like. Food was served not long after ordering. And the server actually asked if I want to take away my unfinished drink. Yes I love that because minimising food waste. Will come back again for others in near future.

 
Seared Scallop Linguini $24

Seared Scallop Linguini $24

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tapas OK Aug 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

This is my first time having tapas and I come across lots of photos of tapas but don't really know the exact taste of it. So today for lunch, I had tapas or maybe bruschetta at Spinelli at my convenience since I'm on course at the same building.

Chose one that tops with sautéed mushroom, eggs and parsley ($2 for $5.40) and a small cup of hot chocolate ($3.60).

The toast used is not very crispy and having a bit of hard time cutting it and even tearing it. Maybe because put on the display counter for awhile as food are pre-made so they basically just warm it up for customers. But I love the mushroom. The toppings are actually overflowing. The taste stays in your mouth for awhile. Love it. Shall try more of that but quite looking forward to those of canapés because of their bite size.

As for their hot chocolate, I feel it still loses out to those at Starbucks. Probably I don't like too much of foam.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0