OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
All about Kuehs OK Aug 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

To me, kuehs are suitable for consumption at any time of the day but most preferably, tea-time. I bought a box of ten (10) at $6.50 which I got the sales staff to mix for me after choosing four (4) different flavours. There are two types of lapis and I was told that one of them uses more coconut milk. Considering that my dad is still coughing away, I got the one with less coconut milk which I think is nonya lapis.

The sizes of the kuehs are big and comes in lots of colour combination. Also after calculating, $0.65 per piece is more worth than those at Bengawan Solo which basically are quite small compared to this and expensive too. The taste is just like normal kuehs you can find anywhere. Sweet and sticky, and I enjoy tearing by layers of the 9-layer kueh. A childhood snack that I will never forget and still enjoying it until now. However, I advise that you buy in lesser quantity to enjoy the freshness. I bought too many and when I fridge them, it turns a little hard and you know what is next if it is left in the fridge for more days.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Meal OK Aug 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fast Food | Halal | Korean Fried Chicken

I was intrigued by the reviews, be it good or bad ones but it never stops me to go and taste it personally at Nene Chicken since is 2 stops away from my workplace.

As I'm not in the mood for spicy stuff, I ordered a Snowing Cheese Meal that comes with fries, a drink, radish and of course the chicken. At the price of $9.90, I find it a little way too expensive than fastfood restaurant like KFC.

As the seating capacity is limited, I asked for a takeaway initially but as I waited for my order, there are seats available as customers went off after finishing. So I decided to dine in. They use the paging device for orders which is good as you don't have to crowd around at their counter when the place is already so small. Got my food and settled down to tuck in.

The fries is simply the curly fries that we used to have at A&W. Exactly the taste. The looks of it tell the whole story but just that it is not in the ring curly form but look just like any other fries in strip form. I like it very much.

And as for the chicken, even before having it, the smell to me is a little nauseous. I mean I have this love-hate affair with cheese. But after eating it, you would smell it. The meat is tender, chewy plus way bits of juicy. Not very dry. The outside is crispy, minus the coated cheese stuff on it.

I can't be that judgmental so I shall give it another try for their spicy choice the next round, having to see that it is kind of 'dirty' job as you have to wear the gloves provided. Quite interesting to me.

 
Paging device at Nene Chicken

Paging device at Nene Chicken

 
Takeaway

Takeaway

 
Snowing Cheese Meal $9.90

Snowing Cheese Meal $9.90

 
Snowing Cheese Chicken

Snowing Cheese Chicken

 
Close-up

Close-up

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fries War OK Aug 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western

I conclude that I have this fetish for fries and I think I have unknowingly went hopping around to have french fries whenever I'm out for meals or just a snack bites. I believe that most of the different types of fries had been tasted by me. I have even google on different types of fries in this world. And here at Megabites, I had what they call the steak fries.

My tips are having it while it is hot and don't wait till it gets cold and soggy because you can't taste the crispiness. And never dip into sauces first. Have it at its original first because deciding if you need any sauce.

The fries here has nothing to be excited about. Very norm but most importantly and surprisingly, it is not oily. And if you love cheese fries, top up a dollar for the cheese. The cheese is good but not too much. You will get a little sick of it later on.

So is not a must-try here but if you want finger food, this can be your choice.

Cheesy Fries - $2.50

Cheesy Fries - $2.50

 
French Fries - $1.50

French Fries - $1.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dim sum  OK Aug 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

What comes to our mind when Ho Kee Pau is mentioned will be their variety of dim sum that they sell. Same goes to me. My mum bought back a box with different items for weekend indulgence. There are Siew Mai, fried beancurd roll and so on. But priced a little high.

All I can comment about their food is the generous amount of fillings and the overall taste of each items has well-controlled in terms of their frying time and the amount of oil and seasoning that are used in the making. But have it when it is hot because when it turns cold, it loses the crispiness and the skin of those fried items will harden up slightly and especially for siew mai, one is just enough for you because another one will make you feel a little sick. And even if you heat it up, the initial taste is lost.

Maybe next round should try on their pau.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Paw Buns OK Aug 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Stall / Kiosk | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
I came to know about Bear Bites in a Taiwanese food variety show called Super Taste and find it quite interesting. And thanks to Instagram, I found out that the first outlet outside Taiwan will be here in Singapore. Great. I don't need to make a trip to Taichung for it.

My friend and I ordered their set meal that includes a paw bun, fries and a bottle of drink that cost us about $8+ per person.

There are 3 steps for ordering our meal. First choose the meat, then the paw bun and lastly the sauce.

I had Karaage Crispy Chicken with Oat Paw Bun, complete with Honey Mustard. And my friend had Oishi Fish Fillet with Squid Ink Paw Bun, complete with Golden Cheese. There are normal or cheese fries to choose from. And if you 'Like' their Facebook page, you can upgrade your fries to Cheese fries for free. If not you have to pay a dollar for that.

Paw Bun
Something commendable about their steamed buns is that even if you have leave it in the open for awhile, the texture still remains soft and although cold but it doesn't harden up.

Oishi Fish Fillet
I don't really like the taste of their fish because there is a smell coming from it which feels like it didn't defroze properly or the frying is not enough. But the cheese sauce was great, acceptable taste and not like some diluted ones.

Karaage Crispy Chicken
As for the crispy chicken, nothing to 'WOW' about because it is just like any other fastfood restaurants' crispy chicken patty. And I bite on some fats.

Fries
Very norm fries. The cheese fries are nice. We finished up everything.

I guess everyone are attracted by the cuteness of their paw bun and so do I. The seating capacity there are limited, probably about 15 pax the most. And if you met inconsiderate customers who just take a chair from another table for their bags or whatever, that's it. Because there is no extra chairs for you even if you asked the staff. And beware of flies flying around if you do not have a candle lamp on your table. Very irritating actually. Luckily we got one as another table's customers doesn't want it.

Let's just give them more time as they just opened up for business last month. I look forward to more variety of their choice and will come back for their Paw Bun Gelato.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0