OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Beef Noodles OK Aug 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

I probably have been attracted to their restaurant because of beef noodles. So I pop in and settled my Tuesday lunch at Lee's Taiwanese.

Ordered a Taiwanese Beef Noodles ($14) which was like their favourite in store. I'm quite looking forward to it. When it is served up the bowl of noodles was covered with big slices of beef. They can probably slice it a little smaller for easy consumption. It tastes bland, maybe the marination or braising part is not enough. But the texture is soft and also chewy. Apart from that, there is just noodles, Kai-lan and sauerkraut. The noodles are well-cooked and blends well with the soup base. I think the soup base tastes slightly sour, probably because of the sauerkraut. Overall, I'm still okay with it but not gonna try it again. I still prefer beef noodles in herbal soup base.

And ordered a drink from their menu, Mango Red Tea ($4.80). I'm gonna be diabetic soon because of this. Too sweet. Some sort like bubble tea, using all those flavour syrup to pull it over. I do suggest that they can give customers options to choose the sugar level like those bubble tea shops. This is too sweet and I never finish it sadly. Even with so much ice to dilute the sweetness, it doesn't help at all.
Taiwanese Beef Noodles

Taiwanese Beef Noodles

 
Noodles - Upclose

Noodles - Upclose

 
Beef - Upclose

Beef - Upclose

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Indulgence OK Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

I have gotten my craving for ice cream waffle satisfied at Gelare. I'm not sure if there is the best place for waffle but since there is no single soul in the cafe, I decided to patronize them.

Chose a Chocolate Chip waffle with Raspberry Sorbet and Cookie & Cream ice cream plus Chocolate syrup over the waffle. That costs me $17.15, which is quite expensive to me. This is the price I had at Baskin Robbins for two persons in total. Well... it is two different things.

First of all I'm on chocolate intoxication. The chocolate chip waffle is drizzled with chocolate syrup. Sweetness overload. The waffle itself smell good even from far before serving up to me. It is soft and crisp on the outside. As for the ice cream, the Cookie & Cream adds on to the sweetness, with the cookie crumps from within. And so is the Raspberry Sorbet. So icy and sweetness. I think I'm gonna get diabetic soon.

I will come back again if I have the craving for waffle and shall only take one scoop of ice cream. That shall be sorbet of any flavours.
Ice Cream Waffle

Ice Cream Waffle

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ramen  OK Jul 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

To satisfy the craving for ramen, you just gotta head here for the wide variety they have. I took their Kamo Sauce Ramen Set that comes with gyoza (I chose that) and iced lemon tea for $13.90++. I think it should be enough for me alone.

At Botejyu, their gyoza is the type that I want. Pan-fried with a little charred plus crispy. You can't avoid the oiliness but you can't deny that it is juicy too.

As for their ramen, I'm quite curious as to what is Kamo sauce. After mixing the ramen with the sauce, it tastes salty yet there is a bits of sweetness within. The ramen is well-cooked and you can find half a hard-boiled egg, beansprouts and duck meat. Overall quite tasty but just that is a little way salty.
Ice Lemon Tea and Gyoza

Ice Lemon Tea and Gyoza

 
Gyoza - Upclose

Gyoza - Upclose

 
Kamo Sauce Ramen

Kamo Sauce Ramen

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Gyoza
 
Date of Visit: Jul 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mixed Tako Balls OK Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

I was surprised that my dad bought back two boxes of mixed Tako balls. I probably guess he never tried before and I did not have for as long as anyone knew. Because the price increased as expected over the years from 3 for $2 to now 4 for $3. And you can find it even in pasar malam now which once used to be rare in Singapore.

Nothing much to be excited over the tako balls. Probably the standard dropped a little. It doesn't taste as good. Too soft and the fillings inside (octopus, prawns and bacon) are quite small a portion that I actually taste more of the tako balls or batter than having the octopus, prawns or bacon to accompany with. Not worth having this anymore unless you run out of option.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffee

When they first introduced this drink, I was resistant against trying it out because of the white chocolate pudding. I am turned off by overly creamy or milky stuff. So I never wanted to try until today. I was quite jaded by my usual choices of either mocha frappuccino and hot chocolate and tried the Dark Mocha White Choco Pudding.

I go without whipped cream all the time. So it doesn't look like how it should normally be. Had a Grande size this time round at $7.30. The taste has no difference from their existing frappuccino choice. Just the additional pudding on the bottom which is soft, like jelly and easy to slurp up with the straw. The combination was somehow good. Quite unbelievable. You can taste the bits of chocolate chips too. You have 2 choices to choose from, Green Tea or Dark Mocha at price of $6 onwards.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0