OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Original Soya Drink OK Jul 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

My first try for AmaSoy. Have heard about it from food blogs and wonder what is so special so since I'm there at Clementi, may as well I go for it. They have puddings and milk drinks. I go for the drink to save the hassle.

They don't have Mango Milk Drink today so for a start, I try their Original Soy. The usual 3 steps that bubble tea shops have (Choose your drink, Choose topping and Choose sugar level) is here to apply too. So I added Hokkaido Milk Jelly (extra $0.50) with a 50% sugar level.

I am basically drinking milk. But this milk has a jelly. The jelly given is not much or it melts into the drink after sometimes. With the overwhelming taste of milk, I can't really tell how nice is the jelly. To me is quite usual. Nothing to rave. The milk taste is like condensed milk being diluted. Well... after so much of raving I see online, I think I better go for their pudding instead of milk drinks. Maybe it is the saving grace for their other products.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tempura Udon OK Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Food Court

Sometimes you run out of choices on what to have for lunch. When you have idea on what to have, it is not available. That happens to me today. Actually wanted to have Niku Tama Don (Beef Don) but beef is not available today, and so is pork. So I choose Tempura Udon ($3.50) instead.

As previously I have reviewed on their Dory Udon, the only difference now is just a change from Dory to Tempura (Prawn).

Their so-called tempura isn't those that we have outside at Japanese restaurant which their outside is crispy. Here to me, it is just battered prawns from the looks of it. Don't you agree? Kind of disappointing. As usual, a piece of crabstick tempura can be found in the soup but a little hard. I kind of don't really like soggy stuff especially when the fried food is dipped into it. The crispiness is lost. But their udon is the saviour. Nice, smooth and springy and you can easily slurp up the udon.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Double Chocolate OK Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

I will drop by for a soya milk during lunch if I don't feel like having expensive drinks at Starbucks. Here at the price of $2.90, I get a warm Soya Milk and Double Chocolate pancake. And there are seats available for customers who want to rest their feet but limited to 6 persons only.

At 50% sugar level, the soya milk is warm and nice, won't taste very dry for every sip. As for the double chocolate pancake, the chocolate within is still rather not thick enough and is kind of watery although it bursts out with every bite. The pancake is a little bland although I suppose it is made of chocolate/cocoa powder.

I suggest that they can provide customers with serviettes since they have seat in area and also apart from their pancakes, they sell other stuff like cream puffs, muffins, cakes and etc that is out of their menu.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Everything about Duck OK Jun 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

My first time trying out at this stall and have been craving for duck noodles and so our dinner is settled. There seems like always a queue when I pass by once awhile and I think their food must be good in order for such response.

We ordered a Braised Duck Noodles $3.50 and Braised Duck Rice $3.80. Actually wanted duck noodles soup but end up they gave me dry noodles instead. Also added extra rice at $0.30.

For the duck noodles, the portion of noodles is quite a lot but very small amount of duck meat and also 2 small pieces of fishcake. The sauce that is mixed with the noodles is tasty but towards finishing, it gets a little sick because you will be left with noodles only. Price is still reasonable with that portion of noodles but can improve by having extra amount of duck meat or maybe a half braised egg.

Lastly for the duck rice, it is quite a big packet with extra rice and sides like tau pok, cucumber, soft peanuts and of course duck meat. The rice are not properly cooked as some are harden but still it is quite fragrance. Overall it quite satisfying but it will be good to have chilli to enhance the taste further. But no chilli provided.

Most important will be the duck meat. Their duck meat are quite tasty with soft texture but a little fats on the skin.
Braised Duck Noodles

Braised Duck Noodles

 
Braised Duck Rice

Braised Duck Rice

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

I am probably can't wait to try other choices in their menu so after a day gap, I tried their Chicken Rice option. You can choose to have Crispy Fish Fillet or Grilled Teriyaki Chicken Steak to go along with rice. I can't remember the third one. And with purchase of $4 and above for their food choice, you get a free drink.

First look, it is so appealing. A little smell of that chicken rice aroma. I had my first mouthful of their rice. Actually not very fragrance plus a little bland. They sprinkle some white and black sesame on top of the rice and chicken. Doesn't really make a difference. The chicken is fine but a little harden. It looks to me like there are bones but luckily there isn't. The teriyaki sauce keeps me going. The salad on the side is the same as the one I had previously. I actually have the salad together with the rice and a little of its sauce. Tastes good to me, I don't know about the rest of you. Manage to finish everything. Portion is quite satisfying. The last one I'm gonna try from their menu will be mushroom pot pie.
Grilled Teriyaki Chicken Steak w Chicken Rice

Grilled Teriyaki Chicken Steak w Chicken Rice

 
Close Up

Close Up

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0