OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Zi Char OK Jun 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Zi Char

This zi char stall is located in a coffeeshop and since young, we have been to the coffeeshop quite often when we want a change especially eating out.

My dad bought back a pack of dry hor fun beehoon at $5 which is considered quite big a portion and reasonably priced as compared to other coffeeshops in the same area.

I love the taste of hor fun, the darker the better it is. But not too dry. Although the hor fun here is not very dark, but it still taste good. Thus I think the preparation of hor fun is quite important. The proportion of oil and sauce used in cooking the hor fun has to be just the right quasi. This depends on the chef. In my opinion, a nice hor fun will be those having smooth surface and taste slippery in your mouth because of that.

Not much of beehoon and you can see that the beehoon is not properly cooked, probably because they never soak it enough in water to soften it before cooking. And the ingredients are mainly slices of fishcakes, meat and vegetables in small amount.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Sausage Pot Pie Roll OK Jun 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

Taken over the unit from Megabites and now they introduce pot pies to the students and staff. Initially was thinking of trying their chicken rice but end up with their roll which costs $3.50 without any drink. If you were to purchase any food items in their menu that costs $4 and above, you get a free drink.

When I queue up to get my food, first look was quite pathetic because it is just the roll with salad as the side. Quite ideal for those who go for healthier choice. The roll is actually roti prata, roll with plain tasting sausage, tomato and vegetables, complete with the sauces, teriyaki and mayo if I'm not wrong. Roll it up and cut half. The roti prata is kind of harden up and not crispy anymore, which ends up the fillings within came out. So basically you can just eat it separately rather than a roll.

The salad is good though with coleslaw, tomato and vegetables.

Next round I look forward to their chicken rice and pot pie which I saw many people are having.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buns for Supper OK Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

After believing that small bakeries in neighbourhood area can actually sell nice and tasty buns, I decided to try at this Cake History because whenever I pass by there at night time, they are always having offers for all the buns. But for today, I just pop by there earlier after work and bought a few back for my family.

I bought Polo Pudding (Blackberry) $1.40, Curry bun $1.40, Oreo Cookie bun $1.50 and Coffee bun $1.40.

I quite look forward to the curry bun and to my surprise, it tastes good and sometimes you tend to have this type of curry bun with the fillings that taste a little sour but this one is just right. The bun has a soft texture too.

And then the Oreo Cookie bun with generous amount of Oreo Cookie crumble on top. Taste quite average but enjoyable because it is nice munching on every bite with the cookie crumble. Crunchy.

The Coffee bun is quite normal looking like elsewhere you can find. The buttery taste comes from within the bun on your every bite.

Last of all is the Polo Pudding (Blackberry). The supposingly blackberry in the middle is actually the jam, which is on top of the layer of pudding but I actually taste it as the egg tart fillings. Quite nice and sweetness level is just nice.

I realised that most of their buns are quite soft and not dry. Maybe the Coffee and Oreo Cookie bun I guess. The bun texture is a little dry.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dumpling La Myun OK Jun 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Chinese Soup

Braving through the haze with my mask on, I head to U-Town for lunch and settle for Hwang's Korean Restaurant.

It is a semi self-service style where you get your tray, grab a drink if you want, order your food from their menu and be given side dishes or rice and etc, then lastly to the cashier for payment. Grab a seat and your food will be served up to you. At the price of $4, quite reasonable.

I ordered Dumpling La Myun (Ramen). It was served up shortly after I sat down. Very fast. 4 pieces of dumplings and it is nice. The dumpling skin texture is good and thin. The fillings are mainly minced meat and greens. For the side dishes which consist of kimchi and what I call it ikan bilis are average taste, though I finished all up to prevent wastage.

And even so for the noodles and soup. Nothing to 'WOW' about because it seems or it is like those packet of instant ramen we can buy off the shelves of supermarket.

There are some Korean drinks on the chiller which you may want to try. Quite a number of rice sets in their menu so can try if you are into Korean stuff.
Dumpling La Myun

Dumpling La Myun

 
Dumpling - Closeup

Dumpling - Closeup

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kentang Ball Soup w Rice Cubes OK Jun 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Food Court

Kentang is basically potato in English. This Kentang ball is bigger than the usual Begedil kentang, which both are my favourite. The taste of potato mashed so evenly that you feel like a baby being fed solid food for the first time where mummies puree the food for their babies.

There is a hard-boiled egg inside covered by the layer of potato. But when this kentang ball is soaked in the soup (that taste like the soup base for mee soto), it further softens it and actually can melt with the soup. And the soup tastes like potato soup. How nice can that be? And for the rice cubes (which I think by right is Ketupat) taste bland. I thought maybe by dipping it longer in the soup, the rice cubes can absorb the soup taste. But it can't. I also add a little chilli in the soup to enhance the taste a little further.

There are lots of beansprouts in the soup and also vegetables. It is listed as Healthy Choice so I guess that is the reason. At a price of $3.50 ($2.80 for using Kopitiam Card), still worth the price plus healthier way of having this dish without feeling guilty. At least it fills up your tummy to last you up to dinner time, hopefully.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0