OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Fishball Noodles Soup OK Jun 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Hawker Centre | Noodles

On this terrible weather, the best choice for dinner will be a light meal that does not further add to your frustration.

So since I'm at Clementi with my parents, we decided to head for our dinner at the food centre which is not very cheap but still we got more varieties to choose from and less crowded.

My mum and I just choose to have noodles soup and this stall just come into sight so we ordered Fishball Noodles Soup ($3 each) to fill our stomach. Basically, there is nothing to rave about because I thought since is Teochew Fishball, there is something to look forward to but it is just a slightly bigger fishball that is fresh and springy. There are two types of fishcakes in the bowl which tastes a little strange but still bearable and also lots of beansprouts.

We can't expect much with such a price because sometimes there can be more expensive ones that tastes even more bland and less ingredients. Let's be grateful for such good stall owners who despite price hike, did not increase further the price of their food. The uncle at the stall is quite friendly too.
Fishball Noodles Soup

Fishball Noodles Soup

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwanese Food OK Jun 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Café

At 6 Fortune Village, it is actually a food outlet that sells bubble tea, crispy chicken of various flavours, waffles and breads. In fact when I step in, I wanna try their waffles but ends up, I turn to the crispy chicken rice set. There are various types of crispy chicken like salted crispy chicken, sesame seed crispy chicken and so on. At a price of $5.20 a set which does not include a drink, I go ahead and try their sesame seed crispy chicken rice set.

Whether is take-away or eat-in, they serve their food in a box for take-away. So I choose to eat-in.

The amount of crispy chicken is quite generous, along with half braised egg, salad top with tartar sauce and preserved mustard greens. Do you think is worth from what you see?

First I taste the braised egg. It is a little harden, maybe left outside for awhile. Two mouthfuls and I'm done with that average taste egg. Al I finished is the preserved mustard greens and salad. I ate it together with the rice. Both are tasty plus crunchy. And lastly the crispy chicken. I asked for a light spread of chilli. But the sweetness of the chicken is overwhelming. Nice tender chicken. But I don't get it how this is sesame seed flavour. The taste to me is more like a honey glazed chicken but a deep fried type. Overall, at least the food are warm and pleasing to our taste bud. I can't finish everything. Sometimes we unexpectedly get cold food, which is not very good for our body sometimes.

During a period of unpredictable weather, I suggest we have something like instead of this. Now is school break so the crowd is less. But even during school time, the crowd is not as overwhelming like others. I guess not many people will want to have crispy chicken everyday.
Sesame Seed Crispy Chicken Rice Set $5.20

Sesame Seed Crispy Chicken Rice Set $5.20

 
Braised Egg - Upclose

Braised Egg - Upclose

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Dinner OK Jun 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

For full review, check out my post at http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/06/food-review-itacho-sushi-at-jcube.html

1) Udon with deep fried pork chop in curry soup ($11)

The texture of their udon is just right and springy. My guy kept praising it. The udon did absorb the curry taste. However the curry is a little watery but still it did a good job. There are potatoes and carrots in it. So usually when we have curry, the pork chop is a must to dip into it. I always encourage people to taste their originality first before dipping to compare. This pork chop that we have is crispy on the outside, tender meat on the inside.

2) Deep Fried Shrimp Gyoza with Green Tea Salt ($2.40)

Nothing great. It failed me this round. But instead of the typical way of having it with ginger and vinegar, they used Green Tea Salt. Quite nice.

3) Small Don, Bara Chirashi ($6.80)

Those who went Taiwan before or have Braised Pork Rice before in Singapore, don't you find it familiar? But anyway, those I called it minced meat on top with a small egg, when you mix it with the rice, it tastes okay only. A little spiciness is there. And the rice is a little hard. Don't like this don and regretted it.

4) Top Salmon Belly with Black Pepper ($4.50)

It is totally different from what is shown in their menu even though they have side note to say that what is shown in their menu is for reference. But hey, a little extreme right? The menu never show any sauce it in. It is just like salmon only with sprinkle of black pepper, dry type but what they gave me is this and told me this is what I have ordered. This salmon belly is not fresh and not properly prepared.

5) Shrimp Spring Roll ($3)

This one compensate those lousy food before that. We love this. Crispy outside. The sauce matches it perfectly with a touch of sweetness. Just like having salad fried fritters but they use mayo as the dip.

And then we had some assorted sushi and realized that their sushi are better than their main course. But the sushi size is a little too tiny.

Judge yourself. Go try it.
Udon w Deep Fried Pork Chop in Curry soup $11

Udon w Deep Fried Pork Chop in Curry soup $11

 
Bara Chirashi $6.80 & Gyoza $2.40

Bara Chirashi $6.80 & Gyoza $2.40

 
Top Salmon Belly w Black Pepper $4.50

Top Salmon Belly w Black Pepper $4.50

 
Shrimp Spring Roll $3

Shrimp Spring Roll $3

 
Smoked Salmon w Black Pepper $1.60

Smoked Salmon w Black Pepper $1.60

 
Roasted Fish Dorsal $2.70

Roasted Fish Dorsal $2.70

 
Salmon Lobster Salad Roll $3.60

Salmon Lobster Salad Roll $3.60

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shrimp Spring Roll,Assorted Sushi
 
Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Food Court

So now, I'm gonna introduce another choice in their menu and that is Saba Chicken Teriyaki Set (or call it Set No. 9) that costs you $4, complete with a rice, miso soup and two jellys. The jelly is only meant for set meals so remember to grab it at the counter.

The Saba fish is about half slice portion that is pan fried nicely without being charred. But this is my first and last time having Saba fish because I don't really like it. I'm not sure if that is the taste but the fishy smell can be felt although it is properly cooked. Luckily, there is teriyaki sauce pour over it which actually can cover the smell so that I can finish it all without waste. I can't say that is not fresh but just don't really like the taste.

And on the same plate is the chicken. Actually it is just fried chicken cutlet with teriyaki sauce. Nothing specially about that. It is of course crispy but a little oily plus the fats can be seen too. There is a small amount of plain-looking salad with little amount of mayonnaise on it to reduce the oiliness and it helps somehow.

Overall, with a price of $4 what's more can you ask for when this can actually fill up your stomach for at least the rest of the afternoon till dinner time.
Saba Chicken Teriyaki Set

Saba Chicken Teriyaki Set

 
Saba Chicken Teriyaki Set - Closeup

Saba Chicken Teriyaki Set - Closeup

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tom Yum Ban Mian OK Jun 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Food Court | Chinese Soup | Kids-Friendly

It is another round of tom yum noodles but this time I choose ban mian instead. Ban mian is handmade noodles that is done through cutting it into straight strands using a wooden block as a ruler. Every strands are even in size and texture. So with the combination of the tom yum soup base and the handmade noodles (Ban Mian), it creates an unique way of eating Ban Mian rather than just serving in normal soup base. Tom yum is a typical spicy clear soup from Laos and Thailand. I do try tom yum soup in Thailand before and it is usually clear soup base, not like those found in Singapore which the colour is more orange or red. Gotta try authentic ones in Thailand itself or maybe Golden Mile which is a little Thailand in Singapore.

For this bowl of Tom Yum Ban Mian, the ingredients are the common ones that can be found in normal Ban Mian. There are egg, small amount of minced meat and ikan bilis, and not forgetting vegetables. Nothing special yet again. The noodles is not properly cooked as some stick together and it is hard and thick. I had a terrible time finishing the whole bowl as not to let it waste. The soup base was fine and is spicy. The vegetables are crunchy surprisingly.

It costs me $3.60 for this bowl using Kopitiam Card. Usual price at $4.50. I do need to find a good stall that sells nice Ban Mian rather than those from foodcourts.
Tom Yum Ban Mian

Tom Yum Ban Mian

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0