OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2214 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Egg Fried Rice w Fish Fillet OK Jun 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

It is a small shop located at Basement 1 of The Star Vista. There is limited space for dine in which probably can cater 10 pax but take-away is available too. There are varieties to choose from like snacks, ramen, fried rice and rice bento at price ranging from $4-6 on average.

I choose the Egg Fried Rice with Fish Fillet for lunch at $5.80! After payment, you have to wait for your queue number that is indicated in the receipt so don't lost it. You can either choose to have your meal inside this shop or just right outside their shop where the mall caters a space for diners to have their meals regardless which shop you have purchase from.

The smell of the fish fillet is good. At first I thought I have gotten the wrong order because the outside of the fish fillet is so much like the crispy chicken cutlet. But then I realise it is the fish fillet. The fish fillet is crispy on the outside, with a light spread of chilli powder. It is nice but I feel a little salty. And the good thing is it is not oily, kind of dry. The fish is soft and fresh which melts in your mouth easily.

As for the egg fried rice, the taste is quite average and it is really just egg and taste of condiments like salt and pepper.

I do look forward to having their mee sua soon.
Egg Fried Rice w Fish Fillet

Egg Fried Rice w Fish Fillet

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Nothing Special Dinner OK Jun 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Porridge/Congee | Dim Sum

Whenever there is such restaurant or cafe that named themselves Hong Kong something, I am always looking forward to some nice Hong Kong food even though it is not those authentic ones but at least the taste must be good. Moreover, it is always long queue. So the anticipation is even higher.

So for dinner, we ordered Shrimp Wonton Noodles dry, Prawn Paste Chicken and Sliced Tender Beef with Crispy Noodles. Plus my drink, Lemon Ribena.

First, Prawn Paste Chicken. This is one of the popular one which I think almost every table has a plate. It comes with 3 pieces at a price of $6.80. The aroma of the chicken can be smelt from far. It is crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. With every bite, the smell purge out and along with oil. It is actually quite oily and not juicy. Some may mistaken it as its juiciness but it is not. It actually looks dry on the outside but never know the inside is quite oily.

Next, the crispy noodles that is topped with sliced beef. I love crispy noodles especially when they have sauce that we can mix and blend with the noodles. And the noodles will eventually soften. You still taste the crispiness. But the sauce is a little salty. And I can't deny that the beef are tender but it is not properly cooked. I can taste the bits of rawness. I'm not having steak now so I'm talking about cooked beef and not medium done or medium raw type.

Lastly the shrimp wonton noodles. It comes with a soup that is not very tasty. But the wontons are big and prawns within are nice, fresh and springy. But the taste of the overall is average. Nothing to rave about. As compared to the food centres, it is rather expensive and not worth to have wonton noodles here.

Next time round, I will come for their desserts instead.
Lemon Ribena $2.90

Lemon Ribena $2.90

 
Shrimp Wonton noodles dry $6.50

Shrimp Wonton noodles dry $6.50

 
Prawn Paste Chicken $6.80

Prawn Paste Chicken $6.80

 
Sliced Tender beef w cripsy noodles $8.50

Sliced Tender beef w cripsy noodles $8.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Spicy Seafood Marinara Not Spicy OK May 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Steaks and Grills

At U-Town, there are 2 food courts. One is Koufu and another will be Food Clique. If you can't find any preference at Koufu, just walk down further and Food Clique is there.

And inside Food Clique, majority are the same stalls that you can find in Koufu but Astons Express is there too. So I decided to try it since I haven't get a chance to try their food again since long time ago.

I ordered a Spicy Seafood Marinara at $8.50 that comes with a soup. Was given a wireless paging device upon payment. Quite a good idea because we can go find a seat or order some other stuff from other stalls and not missing our food call!

Waited for about 10 minutes maybe because of lunch time but apparently is not that packed as now is vacation for the students. I was looking forward to it as a long wait might turn out to be good.

First is the soup. Today they have creamy mushroom soup. Quite nice and real creamy. Dip with the garlic bread on the side and is a perfect combination as usual. The garlic bread was crispy and seldom do I had something crispy or fresh for garlic bread. It is usually put for sometime and hardens up. And due to its creamy soup, I did not finish all as this will not allow me to have more space for my main course.

So for the main course, one mouthful and you know is not spicy. Yes maybe a little but totally to fit in the name. The taste of tomato is overwhelming with red and green peppers (or capsicum) and onion in it as a mixture. The spaghetti doesn't absorb enough the taste of that mixture. There are also three small fresh prawns and two mussels. The mussels are fresh and is my first time having mussels because I don't like it, especially when is not properly cooked or raw. Acceptable taste, no fishy or sea stench smell. Plus points for that.

Overall, I think is quite average for their spaghetti so next round will try on others in their menu and the price is not really worth though is already cheaper than outside.
Spicy Seafood Marinara

Spicy Seafood Marinara

 
Soup   Garlic Bread

Soup Garlic Bread

 
Paging device

Paging device

 
 
Date of Visit: May 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Indian Food OK May 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Food Court

After peeping at others on their plate, I decided to give it a try. I have tasted many nasi briyani but not at this stall yet. I was quite looking forward to it.

I order nasi briyani which I see from their menu signboard that costs $2.20, along with meat. I wonder how they calculate but with hashbrown and vegetables, the total adds up to $2.50. I thought it would be quite reasonable as compared to outside.

But although is not pricey but the food itself is important. The vegetables are soft and crunchy but is a little salty and watery. The hashbrown is hard, dry and soggy, guess it has been put there for few hours. It is totally not crispy at all and I have a hard time 'breaking' them into small pieces to go along with the rice. And for the rice, the fragrance smell is not strong enough and it tastes quite bland on some mouthful.

Overall, it is still pleasing to the palate if you are not that particular. For me, I suggest in reducing the saltiness in their dishes.
Briyani with hashbrown and vegetables

Briyani with hashbrown and vegetables

 
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tom Yum Noodles OK May 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Food Court | Noodles

I'm not exactly a spice person but sometimes we really need something to spice up our taste bud which actually can spice up your mood too. So Tom Yum Noodles ($3.30) is one of those in the list that I will choose when I'm in the hot and spicy mood cum taste bud.

To me, actually there is nothing to rave about but what's more important is the soup that complement the overall taste of the noodles. Inside the bowl of noodles, there is vegetable, egg, minced meat and ikan bilis. The portion is quite big and it took me awhile to finish it or maybe also because of the spiciness. The minced meat is too little. I am always looking forward to the minced meat. The meat absorbed the tom yum soup and it tastes juicy and nice. I was kind of surprised when I tasted their noodles. They use Ban Mian type of noodles (handmade noodles) and it is smooth plus absorbing the soup taste, just like the meat. As for the vegetable, is not overcooked and still can taste the crunchiness. Sometimes we do see overcooked ones that darkens and the nutrients in it are gone.

Overall the tom yum noodles that I have tasted at many places are about the same and what really concerns me is the soup base. It must be near to authentic but however most of the time, it is different to suit the Singaporean's taste bud.
Tom Yum Noodles

Tom Yum Noodles

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0