OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2733 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Simple Chinese Dinner Smile Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

Guess this is my 2nd time having dinner at Soup Restaurant and this time round, their food have left me wanting to come back for more.

In their menu, they indicate a logo for those dishes that are 'Most Popular Chinatown Heritage Dishes' and I remember there are 2 out of 4 dishes that I ordered have that, which is Sweet and Sour Pork w Pineapple and San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion.

Sweet and Sour Pork w Pineapple

There is no 'Wow' factor because it tastes just as nice as anywhere else. It tastes crispy and the pork meat absorbs the sauce well thus it strikes a balance in between. But a little pricey.

San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion - Recommended

The fish is fresh and tender. The overall taste is not too strong. Must try.

Fried French Bean w Minced Pork - Recommended

Although it is quite common to many, but this is one of those dishes that you must go along with rice. The beans are tasty and crunchy, along with the fair amount of minced pork over it, the overall taste is good. And is not very salty. You can just go one mouthful after another.

Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg - Recommended

This dish has the Mummy's feel. My mum used to cook that at home but without salted egg. This dish has strike a balance on the saltiness level, probably because they added salted egg to it. A slice of meat with small amount of salted egg on top just makes you wanna have more rice to go along. Tasty.

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls

I should have try their other desserts instead. This is too pricey for only 2 miserable riceballs. Apart on that, the sesame fillings within is good and the sweet soup is nice. A very strong ginger taste. But I would rather pay a little more for better desserts than this.

So my overall experience is good, especially their food and service. Drinks are refilled promptly. Chrysanthemum tea is a good choice.
Sweet & Sour Pork w Pineapple $10.90

Sweet & Sour Pork w Pineapple $10.90

 
Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg $8.90

Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg $8.90

 
San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion $10.90

San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion $10.90

 
Fried French Bean w Minced Pork $9.90

Fried French Bean w Minced Pork $9.90

 
Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls $2.00

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls $2.00

 
Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls - Closeup

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls - Closeup

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg,Fried French Bean w Minced Pork,San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion
 
Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Dinner Again Smile Sep 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

My 2nd time to Sushi Tei and again at Japanese restaurant, we drool for their sushi instead of mains.

Mini Golden Roll

A must-try for everyone. Such a unique combination of tempura and mango. And the tempura taste so nice and crispy.

Assorted Nigiri Sushi

Do try their sushi. Got all the right choice. There is salmon, black caviar, sweet shrimp,whelk clam and squid. All fresh and crunchy especially whelk clam and squid. Black caviar is a must try. Generous amount of caviar with a little sweet taste. Price range from $2.20 onwards.

Kani Ikura

It tastes like any fried rice you can find out there and I think it is because of that fish roe that makes it a little special. Too pricey for a normal fried rice. Taste a little salty but that's what makes it tasty. With some crabstick in it, I won't opt for this next round.

Ika Sugata (Teriyaki)

There is nothing special about this grilled squid except the freshness. Chewy taste. But please dip mildly on their sauce. A little too salty.

Cha Soba

Dipping that cold soba in the sauce, the texture is smooth. No 'WOW' factor.

Will come back again for more of their sushi.

More on my blog at http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/09/food-review-sushi-tei.html
Mini Golden Roll $11

Mini Golden Roll $11

 
Assorted Nigiri Sushi

Assorted Nigiri Sushi

 
Kani Ikura $14

Kani Ikura $14

 
Ika Sugata (Teriyaki) $9

Ika Sugata (Teriyaki) $9

 
Cha Soba $9.50

Cha Soba $9.50

 
Amaebi $3.80

Amaebi $3.80

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Caviar Sushi,Mini Golden Roll
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mee Soto Smile Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

This is one of those healthier choice stall in the hawker centre and they even indicate the amount of calories. My choice is Mee Soto which is 350kcal, the lowest of all compared to Mee Rebus (420kcal) and Mee Siam (450kcal). There are other choices like Lontong, Nasi Lemak and so on, which range from $2.50 onwards.

The most important thing about Mee Soto will be their soup. The soup has a taste of chicken broth and maybe their secret recipe which actually makes it is very tasty with a small amount of their chilli to enhance it. They used yellow mee which can easily absorb the soup. This Mee Soto is very simple with not much of ingredients (slices of chicken). That is where you can have the real taste of Mee Soto.
Mee Soto - $2.50

Mee Soto - $2.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pastry Smile Aug 30, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

I would like to say that their pastries are quite commendable too. Their standard will not lose to those big players like Delifrance. Like their slogan 'Fuel for thought', after having their chicken curry puff, I really feel a little more energetic after lunch.

After heating up the puff, the aroma surface out. The skin turns softer and you can actually tear it. However that flakiness of the skin still remains that little bit. The fillings are quite generous and with every bite, it will be filled with those nice potatoes, herbs and spices. Feels the togetherness. Will try out more of their food and beverages soon.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

All about Noodles Smile Aug 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Food Court | Noodles

I'm a noodles lover, be it yellow noodles, vermicelli, hand-made noodles and so on. Here at this stall, it has all the range of noodles. You name it, you get it. They even sell gyoza set that comes with noodles at $4. There is Zha Jiang Mian too. Please note on the student and public price. Usually the price range from $2.70 to $4 for students and staff. Can't complain much because you will get much expensive outside. And long queue during lunch and dinner time so avoid it or be early.

I patronise them for their Yee Mian, especially with Tom Yum soup base. It may not be the spiciest Tom Yum soup but it met the minimum criteria. I probably think they use chicken broth because when I had normal Yee Mian, it tastes very nice. Saltiness level was just right. I think that is also why Tom Yum soup is so tasty. The standard food items you can find in your bowl will be vegetables, egg, crabstick and top with ikan bilis and fried onions. As for their Ban Mian, I guess is factory-made. A little hard in texture. You can tell from the taste. But I still love it. So I conclude that is the normal and Tom Yum soup base that attracts me to them like everyday when I have lessons.
Yee Mian

Yee Mian

 
Tom Yum Ban Mian

Tom Yum Ban Mian

 
Tom Yum Yee Mian

Tom Yum Yee Mian

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0