OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Tasty Pork Ribs Noodles Smile May 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Noodles


I had their pork ribs noodles in dry and soup form. Both are awesome. What I'm going to comment is their pork ribs noodles soup.

It is a light and hearty meal if you are not looking for something heavy. The soup is tasty and I am wondering if they use the bones or prawns or both to boil the soup. The soup really taste like prawn noodles soup and it actually blends well with the pork ribs. I choose yellow noodles because I believe that the noodles will absorb the essence of the soup in it and tastes even better. The pork ribs tear easily as you bite. Soft and tender, well-cooked. But lots of fatty parts but it doesn't matter. The noodles and pork ribs given are of decent portion and you will never feel draggy on the tummy.

Price at $1.80/$2.00 so what's more can you ask for especially from a school canteen? Avoid the crowd from 12-2pm during school term.

You can check out my post at http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2012/11/nice-cheap-food-in-nus.html for more reviews from that canteen.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Rib noodles
 
Date of Visit: May 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Colourful Crackers Smile Jun 25, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Food Court

So at a price of $1, you get a quite generous pack of prawn crackers that are of many colours and also a mixture of different crackers which is quite interesting. You can have it as a snack when you are bored or have it along with your food which is from their menu. Mostly I see others buy and have it together with their food . Like when you have nasi briyani, you go with papadam. The crackers are always available but usually they will put like a few packs (about 4-5) at the counter to sell and top it up when it is running low. Even towards the evening, they are still selling. The taste is crunchy and not lack of air-tightness. Do grab one to try.
Colourful Prawn Crackers

Colourful Prawn Crackers

 
A mixture of different crackers

A mixture of different crackers

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lor Mee Smile Jun 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Noodles

One will not get bored when it comes to food and especially nice and cheap food. Introduce another choice in their menu that is Lor Mee ($1.80/$2).

I ordered a $2 bowl of Lor Mee and the ingredients are surprisingly a lot. There are slices of fishcakes, wu xiang (Ngo Hiang), half a braised boiled egg and a fried dumpling. The noodles are generous too. The gravy is a little salty but is still bearable for me. I never asked for vinegar or chilli so you may want to try putting some which will taste differently.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chwee Kueh My All Time Favourite Smile Jun 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre

We have patronised this stall for more than a decade so just imagine how they stood still at this hawker centre for so long and maintaining a reasonable price for their customers despite the price of ingredients are high and rentals might increase.

This stall sells not just chwee kueh but also carrot cake (black or white). The man will handle the wok for carrot cake and the lady will handle the cashiering part plus serving chwee kueh.

I always love their black carrot cake, even till now and also their chwee kueh.

Their chwee kueh itself is not oily but is the chopped sweet turnips that is oily. But the oiliness is just right, unlike the famous one at Tiong Bahru Market. The sweet turnips are crunchy too. The chwee kueh are made from steaming and the taste is actually bland. So that is the purpose why chopped sweet turnips comes in to bring out the good taste of this combination.

At a price of $0.50 for 5 pieces which is $0.10 each, the stall owner is really not caring about profitability which can be seen through their devotion in standing by this stall and continuing the business that might have been passed down by their parents.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Wing Penyet Smile Jun 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Food Court

I was first introduced to this stall by my brother because he finds their Dory set very nice. But then I was tempted to try their chicken wing set which costs $2.80, quite reasonable and the portion is just right to fill one's tummy.

The rice is poured with some of their curry sauce and small amount of chilli. Beware. Their chilli is so powerful that I really can't stand it through out finishing my meal. But for chilli lovers, this is for you. I probably think that the curry sauce is good enough, along side with the wings and fried beancurd.

There are 2 crispy chicken wings lightly spread with some crispy crumbles, 1 fried beancurd that is actually crispy on the outside but bland on the inside which you can dip the chilli to enhance the taste, and lastly a small cherry tomato, a cucumber and cabbage to lessen the guilt of having a nice yet sinful meal.

To add more guilt, you can buy their prawn crackers that is placed at one corner of their counter for only $1. Nice crackers. Please share the guilt with your friends. Enjoy.
Chicken Wing Penyet

Chicken Wing Penyet

 
Chicken Wing - Closeup

Chicken Wing - Closeup

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0