OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Chinese Dinner Smile Aug 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing

 


Dian Xiao Er has been my favourite restaurant since years back when I first explored here with my boyfriend. After which, I brought my family, my uncles and aunties, and even my friends to other outlets of Dian Xiao Er to enjoy their awesome food during birthdays. Since then, Dian Xiao Er has never failed me on their food and service and I'm very impressed even up till now.

 


Since we have patronized countless times here, a list of must-order items are always in mind already even though at some times, we will try on new ones in their menu. The must-order items are Ten Wonder Duck, Golden Tofu and Prawn Ball with Mayo, which is also recommended by myself to all.

Ten Wonder Duck - $13.60

Ten Wonder Duck - $13.60

 

Ten Wonder Duck - Recommended

They actually have other ducks that is prepared with different ingredients or maybe different methods of cooking but we got hooked with Ten Wonder Duck since the first time when their service staff recommended to us. First the duck meat is tender and a little chewy. And you must really have the sauce underneath to drizzle on your bowl of rice. It is awesome. This way really enhance your appetite. The sauce is not very salty but the herbal taste is just right. Not too strong which sometimes you will resist it. Also dip the duck meat with the sauce too. With every bite, you can feel the sauce bursting from the meat. That shows the meat absorb the sauce real fast. For healthy eating, maybe you can don't take the duck skin. I find it a little fatty but you can have it as a whole if you can find a thinner piece of duck skin.

Golden Tofu - $7.90

Golden Tofu - $7.90

 

Golden Tofu - Recommended

Why do I love this is because of the crispy skin on the outside and the tasty fillings on the inside. You may think it is just a normal fried tofu that is bland but this isn't at all. I can taste a mix of fish and tofu in it. I guess that's what makes it so nice, tasty and soft. But the sauce on that day is quite salty. And I guess is because of ingredients price up, the broccoli were given lesser than before. But nevertheless, it doesn't stop me from having it. The taste has win my heart.


Prawn Ball w Mayo - $17.30

Prawn Ball w Mayo - $17.30

 

Prawn Ball with Mayo - Recommended

Because of my love for prawns and especially fried ones, so that is the reason I recommended this even if there are other choices of prawns available. The prawn balls are so crispy and the prawns are fresh too. I must say that I have a thing for prawns and whether fresh or not, they can't escape my expert taste bud. But I do hope that the mayo can be lesser or maybe put it in a sauce plate and if the customers want to dip with it, they can do so or vice versa. Actually I do want to taste the prawn balls without the mayo. I can confirm it will be very nice. Anyway, it depends on individual preference. After all, both versions are okay for me.

Baby Kai Lan - $9.60

Baby Kai Lan - $9.60

 

Baby Kai Lan

I have got not much to comment for this because we want to balance up our meal with a plate of vegetables. But one thing is that the vegetables are confirmed fresh as it is crunchy with a twist of lime to enhance the taste slightly.

Not forgetting, they have Healthier Choice logo on some dishes so keep a lookout if you wanna have a healthy meal. I think some dishes in Tofu and Vegetable category have the logo. That is very obvious for all of us under the Food Pyramid. Order a bowl of rice or try their fried rice menu which is delicious too. I tried that before.

Do try it and also bring any friends that is visiting Singapore to Dian Xiao Er too.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ten Wonder Duck,Golden Tofu,Prawn Ball with Mayo
 
Date of Visit: Aug 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dim Sum Dinner @ Canton Paradise Smile Jul 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Having tried Canton Paradise many times, the taste never fails me! Canton Paradise is my definite choice for dim sum because of affordable prices and fresh ingredients used in their food.

Sliced Fish Congee - Up Close

Sliced Fish Congee - Up Close

 

Sliced Fish Congee
They have a variety of congee to choose from and to try something new, we had sliced fish congee. I suppose their congee is the best. Smooth and is like drinking congee with every mouthful. One thing good is their sliced fish are fresh. Quite a generous serving for the fish.

Hong Kong way of eating

Hong Kong way of eating

 
Egg Noodles in Superior Soya Sauce - $8

Egg Noodles in Superior Soya Sauce - $8

 

Egg Noodles in Superior Soya Sauce
I wonder why they sprinkle sesame seeds on top on the noodles but this plate of egg noodles is so savoury that I suggested to my boyfriend that we should have it the Hong Kong style as seen in drama where they serve congee and noodles for breakfast. This combination is awesome. Best part, the noodles are not very oily. It makes you feel fuller towards the end.

Cheongfun w Prawn $5.20 & Ha Gao $5.60

Cheongfun w Prawn $5.20 & Ha Gao $5.60

 

Cheongfun with Prawn
The reason why I choose prawn fillings rather than char siew or plain ones is because I can't get enough of their fresh prawn. So fresh and springy. And yes their cheongfun is smooth and you can just slurp in easily. But remember to dip some of the sauce. It further enhances the taste.

Ha Gao - Upclose

Ha Gao - Upclose

 

Prawn Dumpling aka Ha Gao
You see! I just can't have enough of their food that have prawns. The whole peeled prawn is within the thin skin. You definitely enjoy your every bite. So springy. 4 is just not enough.

Xiao Long Bao $4.80

Xiao Long Bao $4.80

 

Xiao Long Bao
What I look for in Xiao Long Bao mostly is on their skin, the fillings within are good enough and of course the soup inside too. But the thickness of the skin is very important. You won't want to have thick skin that taste hard and no matter how good the fillings within are, the first impression or bite spoil everything. But here, they meet my requirement. Texture is just right. So everything is perfect.

Siew Mai
I don't really like it because it tastes weird. My boyfriend said maybe because of the caviar on top but I think is not. The first bite, it tastes a little sour and I had a hard time swallowing the next bite.

Glutinous Rice w Chicken in Lotus Leaf - Upclose

Glutinous Rice w Chicken in Lotus Leaf - Upclose

 

Glutinous Rice with Chicken in Lotus Leaf
I recommend this. Although the chicken within is very minimal but this is definitely one good choice we made. The glutinous rice is so soft that you may have a hard time picking up with your chopsticks. We can't say that it is too watery because it is not. I think it might be the rice they used and the amount of water they used in steaming. But after that, please have more tea for digestion purpose.

Glutinous Rice w Chicken in Lotus Leaf $4.20, Siew Mai $5.60, Prawn Dumpling Soup $8.80

Glutinous Rice w Chicken in Lotus Leaf $4.20, Siew Mai $5.60, Prawn Dumpling Soup $8.80

 

Prawn Dumpling Soup
A bad choice because the skin tastes weird. I guess is sour. Like they have put for days. The fillings are good but the skin spoil everything. Definitely will not choose this again. Had one dumpling and that's it.

Overall this meal we spend about $60++ and because I have joined their membership program previously, I have $13 discount from the bill plus if you are an OCBC cardmember, you can get rebates too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ha Gao (Prawn Dumpling),Glutinous Rice with Chicken in Lotus Leaf
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup Smile Feb 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Desserts and Cakes | Chinese Noodles

There is always long queue at Penang Street especially during lunch hours and despite the fact that they split over two dining areas, it is still not enough to cater for patrons who are looking forward to their food. I like the restaurant theme colour. It is so much like turquoise and it complements the vintage design of their dining table. There is a board that states their Top 10 Dishes and I had their Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup since having that crave.

I must dismiss the statement made by a lady sitting beside that the prawn mee soup isn't nice. On the other hand, it actually suits my taste bud. What makes a prawn mee good in taste is the soup base. The soup is sweet and tasty. It seems like they used up many prawn heads to boil the pot of nice prawn soup. And you can find peeled prawns that are quite fresh, sliced hard-boiled egg, vegetables and fishcake, top with fried garlic. The vermicelli and yellow mee actually soak up the soup taste and it just perfect in overall. The price per bowl wasn't that flattering but worth the try. Also try their Home-Made Barley, choosing between cold or warm to beat the unpredictable weather out there.
Top 10 Dishes

Top 10 Dishes

 
Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup $9.80

Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup $9.80

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkien Prawn Mee Soup
 
Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Signature Chicken Pie Smile Jan 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

Was told that their pies are awesome and so I tried it myself. Had their Signature Chicken Pie for $6 and it is quite a huge portion, considering that I have a small appetite. A little expensive for a pie of such. The pastry itself is very flaky on the outside with a little crispiness and having to cut it in nice pieces takes a little skill. The stuffing within was good and generous. Just like any chicken puff from Delifrance but you get to taste a quarter of a hard-boiled egg together with the stuffing. It is served with aluminium foil which probably helps to maintain the temperature of the pastry. But it gets a little sick because of the big portion. However it definitely can fill your stomach through the next half of the day at work.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Malaysian style dinner Cry Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Chinese Noodles

Nasi Bojari $18.90

The waitress recommended us to try this. The achar was left out but sambal prawns is good and very appetizing. The drumstick is quite a big portion with tender texture of the meat. Love the skin. Tasty. As for the rice, quite norm but fragrance. Like Yang Zhou Fried Rice.

Otak $15.90

This is quite a thick piece in 8 cubes, cut unequally. It's nice and that aroma purges out with every bite. The strong taste of otah stays for awhile in your mouth. But you get a little sick because of the big portion plus the thickness of every cut cube.

Claypot Seafood Beancurd $15.90

The only reason why we ordered this is because we want a good balance of nutrients. Inside, you can find tofu, prawns, beans, cauliflowers, mushrooms and so on. Al I can say is well-cooked and the prawns are fresh. Nothing much to comment for a norm dish on the dining table.

Ipoh Kway Teow Soup $11.90

The minute it was served up to me, I regretted. So plain. Nothing appeals to me. The soup was bland. Prawns was a little overcooked as it tastes a little harden. Although I wanted something light, but I need something that can stir up my appetite. This has totally failed on me.

Overall, it wasn't a good dinner yet pricey.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0