OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Prawn Noodles Smile Aug 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese Noodles

Supposedly we should have the famous roti prata along the stretch of shophouses at Jalan Kayu but since the majority wanted prawn noodles, I shall come again next round for the prata which is actually just beside the prawn noodles shop.

It was crowded at 12 noon and everyone are heading here for their lunch. We manage to grab seats for 3 of us and settled with our food. Just beside the stall is another stall selling Wu Xiang Guan Chang. Saw most of the tables ordering it but we skip that. Ordered Pork Ribs Prawn Noodles and Jumbo Prawn Noodles. The price is at $4.50 each.

Pork Ribs Prawn Noodles
The pork ribs are small pieces and nothing to 'wow' about. Because of what it is named, the prawns given is basically one but they slice it in to half to let it look like two. The soup is tasty and little sweetness from it. I believe they have boiled for hours with lots of ingredients.

Jumbo Prawn Noodles
Not exactly jumbo. Just the same prawns like the above mentioned but a total of 2 prawns, slice into half and looks like you are having 4 of them.

We had yellow mee and beehoon. Surprisingly, their beehoon is not the usual ones that we had. It is much thicker and nicer. I think I had been eating the usual beehoon too much that I'm bored about it. This beehoon they use here is a new thing to me and I like it a lot.

Will come back again for their prawn noodles together with some Wu Xiang Guan Chang.
Pork Ribs Prawn Noodles

Pork Ribs Prawn Noodles

 
Jumbo Prawn Noodles

Jumbo Prawn Noodles

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Jumbo Prawn Noodles
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Desserts Time Smile Aug 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes

We were attracted by the Desserts Bento because it is like a combination of different types of desserts from ice cream, cake, panna cotta, soft candies and even glutinous rice balls.

The Macha Ice Cream in the bento is nice but the macha taste is not strong enough. For the Panna Cotta, I think both my friend and I don't really fancy that one or maybe it tastes more like a even harden type of beancurd desserts which the milky taste is a little too strong or too much gluten. Beancurd desserts are much better and lighter. The carrot cake is commendable. The smell can be felt with every mouthful but still, it isn't my type of cakes that I like though I don't condemn it. The glutinous rice balls in the bento taste harder on the skin, as compared to the ones in the stone pot.

For the ones in the stone pot, the rice balls tends to be softer in texture because it is soaked in the sweet soup and you actually don't feel the hard texture. I think that differentiate it. I love the white fungus and red dates, accompany with the rice balls. The soup is not exactly very sweet but is great. And white fungus are good for skin so I finish it every bits.

Will come back for their breakfast menu as their main course is lacked of varieties. At least for me.
Dessert Bento

Dessert Bento

 

 
Upclose of Glutinous Rice balls

Upclose of Glutinous Rice balls

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh Otahs Smile Aug 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : BBQ

Went for a road trip and happen to pass by Jalan Kayu and stop for lunch. Heard from my parents that their otahs are freshly made so bought 20 sticks of otahs both spicy and non-spicy at $0.50 per piece, to my dad is kind of pricey. But once awhile is a great enjoyment.

There is a long queue and so you know how popular is this shop. The smell can be felt even from a distance of their shop. The taste is good and you know it is real fresh. Every mouthful of their otah stays in our mouth and the texture is soft. Even when it is cold, the smell and taste remains. Worth the buy. Shall come back for more next round.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Paw Buns OK Aug 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Chinese | Café | Stall / Kiosk | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
I came to know about Bear Bites in a Taiwanese food variety show called Super Taste and find it quite interesting. And thanks to Instagram, I found out that the first outlet outside Taiwan will be here in Singapore. Great. I don't need to make a trip to Taichung for it.

My friend and I ordered their set meal that includes a paw bun, fries and a bottle of drink that cost us about $8+ per person.

There are 3 steps for ordering our meal. First choose the meat, then the paw bun and lastly the sauce.

I had Karaage Crispy Chicken with Oat Paw Bun, complete with Honey Mustard. And my friend had Oishi Fish Fillet with Squid Ink Paw Bun, complete with Golden Cheese. There are normal or cheese fries to choose from. And if you 'Like' their Facebook page, you can upgrade your fries to Cheese fries for free. If not you have to pay a dollar for that.

Paw Bun
Something commendable about their steamed buns is that even if you have leave it in the open for awhile, the texture still remains soft and although cold but it doesn't harden up.

Oishi Fish Fillet
I don't really like the taste of their fish because there is a smell coming from it which feels like it didn't defroze properly or the frying is not enough. But the cheese sauce was great, acceptable taste and not like some diluted ones.

Karaage Crispy Chicken
As for the crispy chicken, nothing to 'WOW' about because it is just like any other fastfood restaurants' crispy chicken patty. And I bite on some fats.

Fries
Very norm fries. The cheese fries are nice. We finished up everything.

I guess everyone are attracted by the cuteness of their paw bun and so do I. The seating capacity there are limited, probably about 15 pax the most. And if you met inconsiderate customers who just take a chair from another table for their bags or whatever, that's it. Because there is no extra chairs for you even if you asked the staff. And beware of flies flying around if you do not have a candle lamp on your table. Very irritating actually. Luckily we got one as another table's customers doesn't want it.

Let's just give them more time as they just opened up for business last month. I look forward to more variety of their choice and will come back for their Paw Bun Gelato.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Beef Noodles OK Aug 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

I probably have been attracted to their restaurant because of beef noodles. So I pop in and settled my Tuesday lunch at Lee's Taiwanese.

Ordered a Taiwanese Beef Noodles ($14) which was like their favourite in store. I'm quite looking forward to it. When it is served up the bowl of noodles was covered with big slices of beef. They can probably slice it a little smaller for easy consumption. It tastes bland, maybe the marination or braising part is not enough. But the texture is soft and also chewy. Apart from that, there is just noodles, Kai-lan and sauerkraut. The noodles are well-cooked and blends well with the soup base. I think the soup base tastes slightly sour, probably because of the sauerkraut. Overall, I'm still okay with it but not gonna try it again. I still prefer beef noodles in herbal soup base.

And ordered a drink from their menu, Mango Red Tea ($4.80). I'm gonna be diabetic soon because of this. Too sweet. Some sort like bubble tea, using all those flavour syrup to pull it over. I do suggest that they can give customers options to choose the sugar level like those bubble tea shops. This is too sweet and I never finish it sadly. Even with so much ice to dilute the sweetness, it doesn't help at all.
Taiwanese Beef Noodles

Taiwanese Beef Noodles

 
Noodles - Upclose

Noodles - Upclose

 
Beef - Upclose

Beef - Upclose

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0