OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2197 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Ramen  OK Jul 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

To satisfy the craving for ramen, you just gotta head here for the wide variety they have. I took their Kamo Sauce Ramen Set that comes with gyoza (I chose that) and iced lemon tea for $13.90++. I think it should be enough for me alone.

At Botejyu, their gyoza is the type that I want. Pan-fried with a little charred plus crispy. You can't avoid the oiliness but you can't deny that it is juicy too.

As for their ramen, I'm quite curious as to what is Kamo sauce. After mixing the ramen with the sauce, it tastes salty yet there is a bits of sweetness within. The ramen is well-cooked and you can find half a hard-boiled egg, beansprouts and duck meat. Overall quite tasty but just that is a little way salty.
Ice Lemon Tea and Gyoza

Ice Lemon Tea and Gyoza

 
Gyoza - Upclose

Gyoza - Upclose

 
Kamo Sauce Ramen

Kamo Sauce Ramen

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Gyoza
 
Date of Visit: Jul 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Dinner Smile Jul 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

From my experience, Watami's food and service never fail to please us. Going back for more of their variety of food is certainly the thing to do as showing support to them.

And to save the hassle, we choose their Special Set menu at $59 for 2 persons rather than being so indecisive in ordering.

Caesars Salad Half w Hot Spring Egg Half

First thought, it was a normal bowl of salad that has hard-boiled eggs. But here, they used soft-boiled egg instead. I can't figure out if they put salad sauce or is the effect of the egg that makes the overall taste just like any other Caesars Salad. Can you imagine when you can't differentiate if it is sauce or soft-boiled egg that is blend/mix with the salad? This is definitely awesome. Everything is good for this bowl of salad, fresh ingredients. What's more can you ask for?

Salmon Sashimi

It is never enough when it comes to fresh salmon sashimi. 6 slices for 2 persons. I need about 10 slices on my own. Dipped in the light soya sauce, it is just so perfect.

Agetate Atsuage (Deep Fried Tofu)

I still don't understand why they top it with Katsuobushi (or okaka) but anyway as usual like any other Japanese restaurants, this deep fried tofu is crispy on the outside, soft and tender on the inside. But it tastes bland. So what I do is dipped with the soup base of Kankoku Butechige hotpot. The way I have it is just like I'm having Malay food called Lontong. But at least in this way, it tastes a little better than just bland. Try it. Or maybe you can invent another way of eating instead of mine.

Ebi Tempura Maki - Main Dish

It is simply just shrimp tempura roll. Nothing to rave about. But for certain, this is just to satisfy our craving for sushi as it has been long since we had it. Okay maybe I should say that the shrimp has a little sweetness on every bite. The shells are kind of soft.

Kankoku Butechige - Hotpot

Here comes the hotpot. In their menu, it says that it is some Korean style of army hotpot that serves with pork in it. It comes with a bowl of Japanese rice too. And this is the soup base that I used to dip my fried tofu. You can find 2 types of mushrooms, pork belly, carrot, potato, mini sausage, small amount of kimchi, tofu, beansprouts, instant noodles, cabbage and one special thing and that is Ddeokbokki aka Korean Stir Fried Rice cake. Amazing right? Can you imagine when the soup is boiled, a variety of flavours come bursting in your mouth? The ingredient that made up this hotpot are nice and tasty. Most importantly, fresh!

Hotate Butter Yaki - Side Dish

Because being too judgmental, I thought I'm cheated again when it was served up. Small or shrinked scallops. But it tastes good unexpectedly. We never sprinkle with lemon and just have it at its original. The taste is juicy and chewy. The scallops are probably dip in butter batter before pan-frying or just glazing over it with butter. The buttery taste is there.

And we end our meal with a Hot Jasmine Green Tea. Definitely worth the price for this Special Set and you don't have to be indecisive on what to choose. Portion wise is certainly enough for 2 persons. As it all depends on individual taste buds, my verdict may not be convincing but you can try it personally to prove me wrong.

For a full review, check out http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/07/food-review-watami-singapore.html
Kankoku Butechige

Kankoku Butechige

 
Kankoku Butechige - Soup is boiled

Kankoku Butechige - Soup is boiled

 
Ebi Tempura Maki

Ebi Tempura Maki

 
Ebi Tempura Maki - Upclose

Ebi Tempura Maki - Upclose

 
Salmon Sashimi

Salmon Sashimi

 
Salmon Sashimi - Upclose

Salmon Sashimi - Upclose

 
Caesars Salad Half

Caesars Salad Half

 
Hot Jasmine Green Tea

Hot Jasmine Green Tea

 
Agetate Atsuage

Agetate Atsuage

 
Agetate Atsuage - Lontong way of having it

Agetate Atsuage - Lontong way of having it

 
Hotate Butter Yaki

Hotate Butter Yaki

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hotate Butter Yaki,Kankoku Butechige hot pot
 
Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches

Once awhile having lunch at Carl's Junior can be a great experience. Although is much expensive than other fastfood restaurants but then it is their varieties that stands out from others.

So I grab myself a Honey Mustard Chicken Tender Sandwich Combo at $8.90 that comes with a small fries and drink. Upon payment, the cashier will pass on a cup for your drinks. There is a self-service corner where you get your drinks on your own and also the condiments that you need. A mini salad bar can be found there too.

The food is served up to us on our table. I tried their fries first. And is awesome. It strongly brings out the strong taste of potato. It is just as good as Texas Chicken's fries. You can never get enough of it. Although the size is smaller like those in Mcdonald's but definitely more like having fries from real potato than eating oil.

As for the sandwich, the chicken tender is as good as it is named. The chicken patty has that soft texture but somehow dry, not juicy at all. But that doesn't really matter. The whole sandwich is simple with just tomato, lettuce and honey mustard sauce.

Heard that their bread is hand-made but it tastes nothing special. Maybe the texture is soft, just like the chicken patty.

 

 
Upclose of sandwich

Upclose of sandwich

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mixed Tako Balls OK Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

I was surprised that my dad bought back two boxes of mixed Tako balls. I probably guess he never tried before and I did not have for as long as anyone knew. Because the price increased as expected over the years from 3 for $2 to now 4 for $3. And you can find it even in pasar malam now which once used to be rare in Singapore.

Nothing much to be excited over the tako balls. Probably the standard dropped a little. It doesn't taste as good. Too soft and the fillings inside (octopus, prawns and bacon) are quite small a portion that I actually taste more of the tako balls or batter than having the octopus, prawns or bacon to accompany with. Not worth having this anymore unless you run out of option.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nasi Goreng Smile Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Food Court

Most of the time, this stall has long queue. Always wonder what attracts customers to their stall so decided to try on their Nasi Goreng.

The taste of this pack of Nasi Goreng was great, especially for those spicy takers. It tastes like beef fried rice because there are good amount of beef that are soft and chewy. There are some potatoes in there so it makes the overall taste good plus spicy. The rice is has that fragrance which smells good when you open up the packet.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0