OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2197 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 66 to 70 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Tex Wrap Smile Jul 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Halal

It seems like we have more choices to choose from especially for fastfood restaurants. And this is gonna be my first time having Texas Chicken for lunch and hoping it will taste just as good. I came for their wrap instead of their chicken because of sore throat. The set meal that comes with fries, drink and Tex Wrap costs $6.80 and you can also use Nets Flashpay for payment instead of cash.

Fries

I guess other than Long John Silver's fries being in my favourite list for so long, Texas's fries is 2nd in line. lol The fries are almost the same as LJS in terms of taste and size. It is crispy and has that crunchy sound with every bite. It is not salty too. I guess during the frying process, it brings out the taste of the potato. We have to compliment on the oil they used too in order to have that taste. I can't finish it after my wrap so get it pack and takeaway. Reduce food wastage. Play our part.

Tex Wrap

I'm not sure if it is just me but whenever I had wraps, it seems like roti prata taste to me. I guess their wraps are pre-made and basically just toss lightly with every order. Anyway it tastes good although it loses out to KFC's wraps (which doesn't seems to be in their menu anymore). The ingredients are quite frugal, just chicken strip, lettuces, tomato cubes and mayonnaise. It is an enjoyment too as the chicken strip is crispy and soft in texture.
Tex Wrap Meal $6.80

Tex Wrap Meal $6.80

 
Tex Wrap - Closeup

Tex Wrap - Closeup

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffee

When they first introduced this drink, I was resistant against trying it out because of the white chocolate pudding. I am turned off by overly creamy or milky stuff. So I never wanted to try until today. I was quite jaded by my usual choices of either mocha frappuccino and hot chocolate and tried the Dark Mocha White Choco Pudding.

I go without whipped cream all the time. So it doesn't look like how it should normally be. Had a Grande size this time round at $7.30. The taste has no difference from their existing frappuccino choice. Just the additional pudding on the bottom which is soft, like jelly and easy to slurp up with the straw. The combination was somehow good. Quite unbelievable. You can taste the bits of chocolate chips too. You have 2 choices to choose from, Green Tea or Dark Mocha at price of $6 onwards.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hong Kong Style Dinner Cry Jul 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

The decoration inside the restaurant

The decoration inside the restaurant

 


I have patronised this restaurant for many times and every time we choose to have our dinner here is because of convenience and is not very crowded. And of course, the price is considered quite reasonable.

Beside the cashier is the take-away counter on the right

Beside the cashier is the take-away counter on the right

 


They renovated the restaurant and now compared to the previous look, more Hong Kong style restaurant type of ambience. They play Cantonese songs too. Everything looks so retro. Their wall and floor tiles, decorations and even their chopsticks holder.

Food items from takeaway counter

Food items from takeaway counter

 

Takeaway Counter
You can choose to dine in for more variety of food in their menu or there is a takeaway counter where you can grab a bite from a limited selection of fishballs, beancurd skin, pork meat balls and so on. And if you are dining in, you can also pick your choice from the counter and they will serve up to you. We picked a stick of fishball, porkmeat ball and beancurd skin each. The sauce plate contains 4 different types of sauce for you to mix with your food. Chilli, sweet sauce and so on. Price is about $5 for 3 sticks. You can choose any one of the sticks, I guess. This choice of sides is still okay if you are just grab a quick bite. The taste is quite average. I probably think that they should use those steamboat type of fishballs rather than the fried type. The soup base be it curry or some others, it can absorb the taste better.

YinYang Pearl Tea $2.80 & Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

YinYang Pearl Tea $2.80 & Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

 
Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

Hot Ginger Milk Tea $2.00

 

Drinks
I ordered a YinYang Pearl Tea ($2.80) for myself and a hot Ginger Milk Tea ($2.00) for my boyfriend. Actually both the taste are so-so. Nothing to pick on. But I was so into their cup and not their drinks. It is so cute and makes me wonder where I can get them. Snap quite a few shots of their cup.

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90

 

Crispy Duck Meat Rice $6.90
My boyfriend had this and it worsen his mood. The rice is below the egg. Sunny side-up with a light soya sauce on top, a typical food which we can cook at home. Initially I thought is some fried rice but actually is not. Just plain white rice. The duck meat and vegetables are not fresh. The duck meat are harden, taste like those leftover from yesterday. And the looks of those vegetables simply turn you off. The only thing that is fresh will be the sunny sideup and luncheon meat, which of course must be cooked on the spot. Definitely not recommending this.

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00

 
Sichuan DanDan Noodles - Closeup

Sichuan DanDan Noodles - Closeup

 

Sichuan DanDan Noodles $5.00
I had Sichuan Dan Dan Noodles and when they serve up this noodles, first thing that comes to my mind is why the soup so diluted and not red enough? My impression of Sichuan food is spicy and so the soup base should be like red hot chilli in colour. So disappointed. There are only strips of cucumbers and minced meat. And yes the taste is spicy but I don't know why the noodles taste bland. The noodles used should be those for ramen. But really for one thing, the noodles did not absorb that soup taste. Not enough at all. The taste is so separate. Totally nothing to rave about. I'm not gonna recommend this too.

The cute cup closeup

The cute cup closeup

 

Stainless steel chopstick holder

Stainless steel chopstick holder

 


The final bill is $19.66 which is reasonable. However after so many times of patronising this restaurant, the food taste never change or I should say no improvement. Only the restaurant look improved. Maybe it depends on individual because you still see customers flowing in on and off. Had tried some others in their menu previously. Still average taste but I guess this time round, our picks worsen the impression we had for their food. Maybe if you are not picky, go for the simple Noodles with luncheon meat and sunny side-up. Yes we can cook that at home too but if you are lazy and want something light, can choose that. At least it meets my very minimum expectation on noodles.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/07/food-review-central-restaurant-at.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Noodles with luncheon meat and egg
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shredded Chicken Hor Fun Smile Jul 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

I guess I have tried almost all the items in their menu and to date, the taste and portion of their food remains good ever since I started working at NUS. Although I stall-hopped every now and then but when there is short or zero queue at their stall, what first comes to my mind was their Shredded Chicken Hor Fun.

At the price of $2, you get a good amount of hor fun to fill your stomach plus vegetables, shredded chicken and slices of mushroom. Please do not mistaken that this food item has nothing special. Apart from the black soya sauce that was used, they add gravy to the mushroom which also blends into the hor fun itself too for us to mix it well. The hor fun on the other hand is so smooth and actually absorb the gravy into it. You can slurp it up so easily.

The hor fun that we usually had outside are thin but bigger in size and usually have it dry with gravy or just fried hor fun. Here they use a smaller in size kind of hor fun, smaller than kway teow in fishball noodles. It is easier to eat.

I will definitely recommend every single item in their menu. From $1- $2, you can fill your stomach for a good 4-5 hours before your dinner, even without adding additional sides to it.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rendang Beef Burger Meal Smile Jul 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Ice Cream and Gelato | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

My mum has always remind me that beef can keep my body warm especially for us ladies. Ya maybe some granny tales but I heed her advice and everywhere I go, I will look out for any food that is beef related.

Since the latest at Mcdonald's is Rendang Beef Burger as advertised on television, I decided to try it out for lunch.

You can choose between a double or single beef patty. I choose a single patty along with fries and drink that costs me $6.70.

When it comes to such specialty burger from Mcdonald's, what I actually note on especially for this burger will be the sauce. As mentioned on the burger box itself, they use the same beef patty for their Quarter Pounder. Yes the patty is juicy and I have no doubt on that and it is well-cooked. That chewy taste which you can never get enough. For the sauce that is spread over the patty, it is superb nice. The taste is just that sweet with a little spiciness. Just that little. Maybe because of the onions in it. You can see that the sauce is overflowing from the burger. I should say that if a stick of satay is dipped into this sauce, it will be awesome! But not that sort of nutty taste which satay sauce have but almost there.

I would recommend this Rendang Beef Burger for its awesome sauce within.

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Double/Single Rendang Beef Burger
 
Date of Visit: Jul 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0