OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Original Flavour Smile Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

The Hong Kong Egglet is a kind of egg waffles which has been very popular on the streets of Hong Kong and one of the favourite street snack since the 1950s. I always heard about through variety shows and also from food bloggers but missed the chance upon having it.

Bought the original flavour at $2.20. It was so crispy like you are having crackers and can break it up into one little round egglet for easy consumption. This is indeed a great snack with that crunchy sound in your mouth. I do taste a little spongy within the egglet which is nice to chew on too.

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Impromptus Dinner Smile Nov 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Dim Sum

I'm quite particular with their food quality because hopping to different outlets of Din Tai Fung, there seems to be differences. But for at least, this outlet is one of their saving grace.

Steamed Pork Dumplings

The steamed pork dumplings were good and especially when it comes to the dumpling skin texture, neither thick or thin and it actually brings out the taste of the soup and meat fillings within this tiny dumplings.

Oriental Wontons with Black Vinegar & Chilli Oil

I'm always curious about this dish which I always heard from Taiwanese drama called 红油抄手 and I finally tried it. So it is just wontons in black vinegar and chilli oil with spring onions as garnish. But I'm quite impressed as having vinegar in this dish actually stirs up your appetite. Quite nice as in the filling are fresh, especially the prawns.

Fried Dumplings

It is crispy on the outside while it's hot and the fillings are made up of minced prawns and pork if I'm not wrong. Nice to have if you want some munching.

Noodle with Spicy Sauce

The handmade noodles was good and in fact always better than machine made because the texture can be determined with the skills of the dough master. However it has no unique taste coming from it though it is spicy. A can-have dish if you are craving for some spicy food.

I also actually ordered the Steamed Red Bean Paste Buns (not in the photo). It is quite mini in size, skin texture was just right and also soft, and the paste within has that subtle sweetness which non-sweet lovers can opt for it.

 
Steamed Pork Dumplings

Steamed Pork Dumplings

 
Oriental Wontons with Black Vinegar & Chilli Oil

Oriental Wontons with Black Vinegar & Chilli Oil

 
Fried Dumplings

Fried Dumplings

 
Noodle with Spicy Sauce

Noodle with Spicy Sauce

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oriental Wontons with Black Vinegar & Chilli Oil
 
Date of Visit: Nov 11, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Matcha Chococro OK Nov 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

What attracts me in the first place was the nice crepes display outside their cafe and ended up, I just grab their Chococro for lunch.

Daifuku mean Great Luck in Japanese, also known as a Japanese confection that contains a small sweetened red bean paste mochi. However instead of mochi, I taste two different types of filling stuffed within the croissant of a Matcha Daifuku Chococro, green bean paste, red bean paste along with a mild matcha cream that wasn't very obvious. The croissant was soft but wasn't flaky with the outer layer of the pastry falling off easily with every bite. This is good to go with a cup of coffee.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Double Decker Pizza Smile Nov 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Halal


Thank you Miss Tam Chiak for the invite and we get to have the first taste of Pizza Hut's Christmas Double Decker Pizza, launching on 20 Nov 2013.

Apart from that, we also had criss cross fries that is tasty and crispy, the Christmas platter that has fried prawns (tempura type) which is fresh and crispy, baked potatoes that are well-baked till soft with melted cheese over it and spicy drumlets that is always so nice and tender, followed by Truffle Mushroom Baked Pasta that tastes a little salty yet tasty, the 3 different sparkling drinks from Emerald (Green Apple), Berri (Strawberry) and Summer (Mango) which I don't have much comments as it tastes about the same but just that it has small little cubes of the fruits that each represent plus the colour syrup to differentiate them.

Last but not least is the Double Decker Pizza. We saw the demonstration of how it is made and you can tell from the photo how much of ingredients are used in just one pizza. A very different taste with every bite that stirs your taste bud. Most important, mango sauce is used to add on the flavour. Like it is named, there are 2 layers to this pizza and a wrap was used as a 2nd layer to contain the sauces, wrapped cherry tomatoes and so on. The portion is enough to fill 4 persons' stomach. This is one of their feature this Christmas and you may want to try it with your family and friends.
Criss Cross Fries

Criss Cross Fries

 
Christmas Platter

Christmas Platter

 
Truffle Mushroom Baked Pasta

Truffle Mushroom Baked Pasta

 
Double Decker Pizza

Double Decker Pizza

 
Berri Sparkle Drink

Berri Sparkle Drink

 
Summer and Emerald Sparkle Drink

Summer and Emerald Sparkle Drink

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Curry Tori Katsu Udon Smile Nov 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

The new NUH Medical Centre is opened and is not just F&B outlets available but also upcoming stores like Uniqlo will be opening in Dec 2013.

Umisushi is situated beside Prima Deli and it has seating areas for customers to dine, though small capacity.

I bought Curry Tori Katsu Udon at $5.80 w/o any drinks. The curry neither thick nor thin gravy, striking a balance in between and makes it easy for udon to absorb the taste. The chicken is not the crispy type which will make the crunchy sound but a decent one that taste just as great. Mostly importantly, it doesn't taste or smell like it has just gotten out of the fridge, proper defrozing done.

It could added small amount of carrots or potatoes to add value to its price tag at $5.80 per bowl.

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0