OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Fusion Food Smile Nov 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel

Attended a photography session organised by Canon and we participants get to learn, practice our photography skills and had a 3 course set meal.

Deep-fried Mushrooms coated in Wasabi mayo w Avocado & Tomato Salad

The mushrooms are likely coated with batter for frying. It is not oily and yet the juiciness accompanied with the wasabi mayo created a unique taste, which keeps you wanted more. The little cubes of avocado mixed in the sauce enhance the bland taste. The overall taste was good.

Wok-fried Japanese Pearl Rice w Squid Ink in XO Chili Sauce accompanied w Seared Hokkaido Scallop

It tastes like I'm having fried rice but the pearl rice gives a little stickiness which differentiate them from others. And it is special when it is cooked in squid ink. It's not salty and a subtle sweetness from the rice, which I guess is because there is some dry scallop used that enhance the taste, and definitely fragrance. The scallop is fresh and blend in well in the chili sauce.

Chilled Lemon Grass Jello w Sweet Thai Mango, Young Coconut and Wolfberries

I have a mixed feeling for this dessert. The taste of lemon grass was strong and every mouthful, you can't get away from it. There are strips of mango and coconut, jello where the lemon grass taste comes from along with raspberry and blueberry. You can taste sweet and sour at the same time and you can't figure out which taste to look forward to. But definitely, the health benefits you get from this dessert is a lot. That's a saving grace.

Quite a good experience having meals in hotel and definitely look forward to more opportunities.
Salad - Appetizer

Salad - Appetizer

 
Wok-fried Japanese Pearl Rice

Wok-fried Japanese Pearl Rice

 
Chilled Lemon Grass Jello - Dessert

Chilled Lemon Grass Jello - Dessert

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Truffle + Crab OK Nov 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café

Found a place for truffle fries. To me, not many cafes served that awesome fries.

I was fascinated by the pink water while waiting to be seated. End up, it is just some plain drinking water with colourings or sort.

Truffle Fries

This one makes me feel like I'm having normal fries at Mcdonald's, except that the oil used is different. Still prefer a thicker fries version. But nevertheless, the whole bowl was wiped out by us. Just love the crispy cum crunchy sound coming out from our mouth. Love!

Soft-shelled crab salad

Other than the soft-shelled crab, I love the salad underneath. The former is indeed soft but a little cold, which is not crispy but not very oily too. The latter was good. I love spinach. The dressing blends in well. Tastes the sweetness. It also helps strike a balance for our diet.

Shall come back for their main course one day.

 
Truffle Fries

Truffle Fries

 
Soft-shelled crab salad

Soft-shelled crab salad

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Confectionery Affairs Smile Nov 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

To enjoy a tea and cakes with the ladies, you got to choose Lady M. But we did the reverse. Instead of afternoon tea, we had it for dinner.

Checkers Cake

This is nice. The outer layer of chocolate and the spongy cake within melts right in your mouth. The sweetness level suits our palate.

Signature Mille Crêpes - Recommended

It is totally not like any ordinary cakes from the many layers within, definitely a must try in the menu. That lightly sweet taste that stays in your mouth. Not very creamy too. Every layer is in a good proportion between cream and crepes.

Tarte aux Fruits

The tart was so-so, like those you can find at Fruit Paradise. Not really worth the money though I love those fresh fruits on top of it.

Mont Blanc

I finally know the existence of two elements in Mont Blanc: cream and chestnut puree. As you go along, it gets sweeter which both me and my girlfriend don't really like but was okay with the chestnut puree. Subtle sweetness.

To conclude, the Mille Crepes is still worth the try.
Mont Blanc

Mont Blanc

 
Tarte aux Fruits

Tarte aux Fruits

 
Signature Mille Cr�pes

Signature Mille Cr�pes

 
Checkers Cake

Checkers Cake

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Signature Mille Crêpes
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai BBQ Smile Nov 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Mookata

This is my 2nd visit and I brought along my friend to try it out here at Tom YUm Kungfu. In mind, I already know what is a must-order items in their menu.

Mookata - Thai BBQ $38

Our purpose is to have mookata so definite order. The portion of raw items are enough to fill 3 ladies up. They actually did a very good job in marinating those meat especially. The chicken and pork meat taste juicy and chewy.

Fried Kangkong - Recommended

They fried the kangkong in a tempura style. Crispy and crunchy. Sauce is provided for you to dip with but the originality is still better. You can find prawns and dory fish underneath the pile of fried kang kong. Very fresh ingredients.

Pomelo Salad - Recommended

Nice and refreshing. Boost your appetite. Very nutty taste as there are cashew nuts in it.

Fried Chicken Wing

Tender meat and juicy. Crispiness on the outside, crunching sound can be heard in your mouth.

Definitely one of the place to recommend for mookata. A good variety of side dishes to choose from. You can also have normal steamboat if you want.

 

 
Fried Kang Kong

Fried Kang Kong

 
Pomelo Salad

Pomelo Salad

 
Fried Chicken Wing

Fried Chicken Wing

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Kang Kong,Pomelo Salad
 
Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Look-alike Char Siew Bao Smile Nov 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Finally I get my hands on this Baked Honey Pork Bun after many times a miss and bought 6 buns in a go.

The taste is just like Char Siew Bao but the difference between these two will be the skin. Here, the bun is sort of flaky and rough kind of texture, unlike the normal Char Siew Bao that is smooth. The bun has its bottom cooked a little longer to be seen like it is slightly burnt but it tastes good. A little crispy like biscuits which is love. So nice a combination. The fillings within are nice and you can really taste the pork meat in strips. And it is sweet. Worth the money.

 
Baked Honey Pork Bun

Baked Honey Pork Bun

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0