OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2197 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Meaty Dinner OK Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

At Saboten, there are limited choices to choose from. There is no ramen and udon that I can opt for. It is such a meaty dinner and is pricey too. Since it is not crowded, then it becomes our choice for the day.

Chicken Katsu Curry $17

The curry is not very tasty but yet not watery type. Most importantly, it is not spicy. The breaded chicken cutlet looks crispy on appearance but actually taste not the same. Soft texture inside out.

Chicken Katsudon $18.50

Everything is about the same as mentioned for the above except that it is the sauce and egg that covered the breaded chicken cutlet rather than curry. It tastes a little watery for the layer of egg but still bearable. There are a good amount of onions to complement with the rice and sauce. The chicken cutlet is a little tasteless. Probably the seasoning is not enough.

Green Tea (Matcha) Ice Cream

For those non-sweet tooth people, this is really a good choice. A little icy and creamy. Just nice to end your meal with a happy note.

Our meal comes with free refill of rice, cabbage and pickles plus one time dessert. One thing to comment is their fresh and crunchy cabbage. Love it. Add the sauce provided on the side of the table for taste enhancement.
Chicken Katsu Curry

Chicken Katsu Curry

 
Chicken Katsudon

Chicken Katsudon

 
Green Tea Ice Cream

Green Tea Ice Cream

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sunday Breakfast OK Sep 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Ice Cream and Gelato | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

Once awhile having Mcdonald's breakfast is something awesome, especially on a beautiful Sunday with your loved ones.

Chicken Muffin with Egg meal

Quite looking forward to it after seeing tv ads but actually the overall taste is not very fantastic. The chicken patty probably the same with the one in McChicken but a big round sunny side-up and slice of cheese within, instead of lettuce and mayo. It is like having McChicken for breakfast. A little dry for the patty, probably because there is no sauce used. Their English Muffin is a little harden up which makes it a little hard to tear apart. Overall, no 'WOW' factor.

Sausage McMuffin Meal

At least this is much better than the previous because you will not get it in their lunch and dinner menu. Chewy and a little juicy for the patty and also not very salty. Should opt for the Sausage egg McMuffin. This is a little plain with just cheese and sausage patty.

Their hashbrowns is a must have because it is always so tasty and crispy while it is still piping hot. Opt for their orange juice to make your breakfast a little more healthy than usual.
Mcdonald's Breakfast

Mcdonald's Breakfast

 
Chicken Muffin with Egg meal

Chicken Muffin with Egg meal

 
Sausage Mcmuffin Meal

Sausage Mcmuffin Meal

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Messy Affair with Burger Smile Sep 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

I never know I can get into such messy affair with a burger and that can probably happen at Triple O. I know is coming the moment I unwrap the burger.

I bought The Champ Combo at $8.90 that comes with a tea and hashbrown plus burger. It seems like I'm having some breakfast at fastfood restaurant. Anyway the first look at my set, it looks normal and innocent. The hashbrown is nice and crispy. Surprisingly not oily. Wise choice. With a packet of sugar, I'm done with their English Breakfast Tea. Nice. And here comes the burger. When unwrap, it looks messy and gross (in the photos) but it tastes good! Big in size, with egg, slices of tomato, sauteed mushroom and their Triple O sauce. I can't deal with it. Stickiness all over my hand but it tastes good! The sauce just comes bursting out from within. And so I finish up all without a single trace. Awesome!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hong Kong Style Dinner OK Sep 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

Although it is not the best but probably is gonna be their dim sum that will bring me back again the next round.

Xin Wang Signature Fried Rice

I simply love silver fish a lot. And there are squids and prawns. So much like a seafood fried rice. But one thing to comment is that vegetable. Yes I know for presentation wise, this may look nicer but for the customer's convenience, how you expect customers to eat that one whole stalk? Probably should chop half but present it like a whole. The fried rice is tasty but salty. Maybe because with silver fish along (already have that salty taste). Just feel rather thirsty after that. Their fresh squids and prawns are commendable.

Xin Wang Signature Fried Noodles

It is topped with silver fish again. This time round the vegetables are in smaller size. The taste is just the same as fried rice. Same ingredients. Bits of oily. Quite boring.

Har Gao and Siew Mai

Okay lah. I don't really hold in high regards of their main courses but their dim sum are sure the saving grace. Fresh ingredients. The har gao skin is just the right texture. Prawns are fresh but I tasted a fresher one than this.

Yuzu Ice Green Tea

This is quite refreshing and not sweet too. The combi of green tea and yuzu is kind of good. After some oily stuff, this is your choice.
XW Signature Fried Rice

XW Signature Fried Rice

 
XW Signature Fried Noodles

XW Signature Fried Noodles

 
Har Gao and Siew Mai

Har Gao and Siew Mai

 
Yuzu Iced Green Tea

Yuzu Iced Green Tea

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Har Gao,Siew Mai
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simple Chinese Dinner Smile Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

Guess this is my 2nd time having dinner at Soup Restaurant and this time round, their food have left me wanting to come back for more.

In their menu, they indicate a logo for those dishes that are 'Most Popular Chinatown Heritage Dishes' and I remember there are 2 out of 4 dishes that I ordered have that, which is Sweet and Sour Pork w Pineapple and San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion.

Sweet and Sour Pork w Pineapple

There is no 'Wow' factor because it tastes just as nice as anywhere else. It tastes crispy and the pork meat absorbs the sauce well thus it strikes a balance in between. But a little pricey.

San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion - Recommended

The fish is fresh and tender. The overall taste is not too strong. Must try.

Fried French Bean w Minced Pork - Recommended

Although it is quite common to many, but this is one of those dishes that you must go along with rice. The beans are tasty and crunchy, along with the fair amount of minced pork over it, the overall taste is good. And is not very salty. You can just go one mouthful after another.

Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg - Recommended

This dish has the Mummy's feel. My mum used to cook that at home but without salted egg. This dish has strike a balance on the saltiness level, probably because they added salted egg to it. A slice of meat with small amount of salted egg on top just makes you wanna have more rice to go along. Tasty.

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls

I should have try their other desserts instead. This is too pricey for only 2 miserable riceballs. Apart on that, the sesame fillings within is good and the sweet soup is nice. A very strong ginger taste. But I would rather pay a little more for better desserts than this.

So my overall experience is good, especially their food and service. Drinks are refilled promptly. Chrysanthemum tea is a good choice.
Sweet & Sour Pork w Pineapple $10.90

Sweet & Sour Pork w Pineapple $10.90

 
Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg $8.90

Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg $8.90

 
San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion $10.90

San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion $10.90

 
Fried French Bean w Minced Pork $9.90

Fried French Bean w Minced Pork $9.90

 
Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls $2.00

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls $2.00

 
Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls - Closeup

Reunion Glutinous Rice Balls - Closeup

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steamed Hand Chopped Minced Pork w Salted Egg,Fried French Bean w Minced Pork,San Yu Fish Slices Fried w Ginger & Spring Onion
 
Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0