OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Japanese Dinner Again Smile Sep 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

My 2nd time to Sushi Tei and again at Japanese restaurant, we drool for their sushi instead of mains.

Mini Golden Roll

A must-try for everyone. Such a unique combination of tempura and mango. And the tempura taste so nice and crispy.

Assorted Nigiri Sushi

Do try their sushi. Got all the right choice. There is salmon, black caviar, sweet shrimp,whelk clam and squid. All fresh and crunchy especially whelk clam and squid. Black caviar is a must try. Generous amount of caviar with a little sweet taste. Price range from $2.20 onwards.

Kani Ikura

It tastes like any fried rice you can find out there and I think it is because of that fish roe that makes it a little special. Too pricey for a normal fried rice. Taste a little salty but that's what makes it tasty. With some crabstick in it, I won't opt for this next round.

Ika Sugata (Teriyaki)

There is nothing special about this grilled squid except the freshness. Chewy taste. But please dip mildly on their sauce. A little too salty.

Cha Soba

Dipping that cold soba in the sauce, the texture is smooth. No 'WOW' factor.

Will come back again for more of their sushi.

More on my blog at http://mingmingisstella.blogspot.com/2013/09/food-review-sushi-tei.html
Mini Golden Roll $11

Mini Golden Roll $11

 
Assorted Nigiri Sushi

Assorted Nigiri Sushi

 
Kani Ikura $14

Kani Ikura $14

 
Ika Sugata (Teriyaki) $9

Ika Sugata (Teriyaki) $9

 
Cha Soba $9.50

Cha Soba $9.50

 
Amaebi $3.80

Amaebi $3.80

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Caviar Sushi,Mini Golden Roll
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wantan Noodles OK Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Seafood | Chinese Noodles

This stall has been around for more than a decade and since young, my mum brought us there to buy their Wantan noodles when we have craving for it. From $2 to now $3, the price changes over the years. And it has limited variety and mostly Wantan noodles.

The noodles' serving is just right for one to consume, along with wantan, char siew and vegetables. They hand-made the wantan thus fresh and nice. The noodles are cooked in a way which not only going through hot but also cold water. So it tastes a little springy in a way. I find that the sauce given is not enough to mix with the noodles proportionally. That's why you get to taste the bland side of noodles too.

Once awhile, it still good to patronise this old stall for some authentic taste of wantan noodles.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner & Booze OK Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

Went dinner with 4 friends on a Friday night and enjoying their company together with food and drinks.

Ordered their beer, Weizen and Monster Green Lager Beer and found that it actually tastes just like any other beers that I have come across even when they describe it as having a taste of fruity and spicy.

Their Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets are nice, crispy plus a little spicy but there is no 'wow' factor. However it is properly cooked and the meat is fresh and soft with a little bit of fats within.

Their Potato Wedges is the only finger food that we ordered twice but the taste is great. Soft and crispy. Yet again, no 'wow' factor. But I do recommend ordering this to complement with their beer.

The mushroom soup is one that I strongly not recommending because there is a layer of oil on top which worsen the overall taste. It makes you feel nausea.

If you are health-conscious, please do not order the Fish & Chips because every bite is oil and beer purging out. They use beer batter, their own recipe. You might probably like their chips which is sprinkled with paparika.

The sausage platter looks attractive when served up. A mixture of their very own RedDot Beer sausage, spicy Italian and chicken cheese sausage. The serving was big enough to share among 5 persons and also good for going along with beer. A little costly at $32 but worth the try.

Lastly is their thin-crusted BBQ Chicken Pizza. Topped with bbq chicken, mushroom, onions and bell pepper, somehow it doesn't taste fantastic and instead, bland. Compared with other pizza restaurants, it fails to allure you even with the aroma and the attractive appearance.

Their service is not very good, maybe because shortage of staff and crowds is overwhelming on a Friday night. I probably would not come again on Fridays or weekends but some other days with lesser crowd.
Weizer & Monster Green Lager Beer

Weizer & Monster Green Lager Beer

 
Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets

Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets

 
Sausage Platter

Sausage Platter

 
Mushroom Soup

Mushroom Soup

 
Red Dot Fish & Chips

Red Dot Fish & Chips

 
BBQ Chicken Pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza

 
Potato Wedges

Potato Wedges

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Potato Wedges,Sausage Platter,Spicy Zing Wing & Drumlets
 
Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mee Soto Smile Aug 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

This is one of those healthier choice stall in the hawker centre and they even indicate the amount of calories. My choice is Mee Soto which is 350kcal, the lowest of all compared to Mee Rebus (420kcal) and Mee Siam (450kcal). There are other choices like Lontong, Nasi Lemak and so on, which range from $2.50 onwards.

The most important thing about Mee Soto will be their soup. The soup has a taste of chicken broth and maybe their secret recipe which actually makes it is very tasty with a small amount of their chilli to enhance it. They used yellow mee which can easily absorb the soup. This Mee Soto is very simple with not much of ingredients (slices of chicken). That is where you can have the real taste of Mee Soto.
Mee Soto - $2.50

Mee Soto - $2.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pastry Smile Aug 30, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

I would like to say that their pastries are quite commendable too. Their standard will not lose to those big players like Delifrance. Like their slogan 'Fuel for thought', after having their chicken curry puff, I really feel a little more energetic after lunch.

After heating up the puff, the aroma surface out. The skin turns softer and you can actually tear it. However that flakiness of the skin still remains that little bit. The fillings are quite generous and with every bite, it will be filled with those nice potatoes, herbs and spices. Feels the togetherness. Will try out more of their food and beverages soon.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0