OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
All about Noodles Smile Aug 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Food Court | Chinese Noodles

I'm a noodles lover, be it yellow noodles, vermicelli, hand-made noodles and so on. Here at this stall, it has all the range of noodles. You name it, you get it. They even sell gyoza set that comes with noodles at $4. There is Zha Jiang Mian too. Please note on the student and public price. Usually the price range from $2.70 to $4 for students and staff. Can't complain much because you will get much expensive outside. And long queue during lunch and dinner time so avoid it or be early.

I patronise them for their Yee Mian, especially with Tom Yum soup base. It may not be the spiciest Tom Yum soup but it met the minimum criteria. I probably think they use chicken broth because when I had normal Yee Mian, it tastes very nice. Saltiness level was just right. I think that is also why Tom Yum soup is so tasty. The standard food items you can find in your bowl will be vegetables, egg, crabstick and top with ikan bilis and fried onions. As for their Ban Mian, I guess is factory-made. A little hard in texture. You can tell from the taste. But I still love it. So I conclude that is the normal and Tom Yum soup base that attracts me to them like everyday when I have lessons.
Yee Mian

Yee Mian

 
Tom Yum Ban Mian

Tom Yum Ban Mian

 
Tom Yum Yee Mian

Tom Yum Yee Mian

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Birthday Meal Smile Aug 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Zi Char

Previously I have reviewed on their Ngoh Hiang Hei Zho (Fried Prawn Roll) which is the must-order dish and also recommended by variety show, today I'm gonna reviewed another two more dishes mainly Sweet and Sour Pork, and Oyster Omelette.

This time is our first ever trying out their Oyster Omelette. We can't compared the overall taste with those in Taiwan but one similar thing will be the big oysters which is quite a generous amount, considering that we ordered a small size. The oyster omelette actually tastes watery. Probably because of the oysters dispersing water out while cooking. I like omelette that is a little dry because I want that egg taste. We can't finish the dish thus packing it home. And we decided to fry it further to let it taste a little more authentic.

As for their Sweet and Sour Pork, it is a regular dish that my family ordered. As we know, the batter coated on pork meat and the sauce used in cooking this dish are important factors. Here, they manage to do it well. The size of pork meat used are quite proportion and the coating are not that thick so you get the real taste of the pork even though is mixed with the sauce during frying. They manage the frying part well thus the texture is just right with the meat texture at its acceptable range.

Shall be more adventurous the next round for their other choices in the menu.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Prawn Roll
 
Date of Visit: Aug 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Catered Food Smile Aug 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean

When you are on course, you look forward to tea breaks because of the catered food that is provided. Although it might not be a lot but it is a form of energy for you to continue up to lunch time.

This is first time having KG Catering food and I think I'm rather impressed because they really prepare and make the food with their heart. I had their mini Chocolate Croissant and it tastes just like those in Delifrance. Flaky skin and the chocolate fillings within is nice and sweet. The mini cream puff is soft with a not too overwhelming buttery taste. The mini crystal dumplings has the standard of a dim-sum restaurant. The skin is not thick and the fillings have that crunchy taste. The mini curry puffs are norm. The Ham Chim Peng (Chinese doughnut) is half-sized and tastes like those at popular hawker centre stall. Soft and just slightly salty which is quite acceptable. It doesn't make you feel thirsty after that. The slice of sponge cake is nice and soft.

I will give KG Catering a try for my upcoming house warming. They really have restaurant standards.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ugly Puff? Not really. Smile Aug 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffee

At Starbucks, is either a cup of hot chocolate or a ice-blended mocha. So for 2 consecutive days, I had the same combination which is a tall Hot Chocolate and Ugly Curry Chicken Puff. It doesn't need much explanation why I went again especially for the puff.

They heat up the puff for you upon ordering and I love it when it doesn't get burnt on the outside. And the fillings inside is hot so be careful. The skin is so flaky and soft along with the hot piping fillings which nearly fall out on my plate. Quite satisfying as the proportion of the skin size and amount of fillings is almost even. The fillings are just like those in small curry puffs but the taste is nicer, probably the herb and spices used in the making is a little different from normal ones.

At a price of $4.30, it is rather pricey as compared but definitely worth the try.
Ugly Curry Chicken Puff $4.30

Ugly Curry Chicken Puff $4.30

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Teabreak Choice Smile Aug 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

Immediately after collecting my Coffeebean card from Openrice Office, I started utilising the card for coffee fix. Thank you Openrice. I'm quite a regular Starbucks patron but because they do not have Black Forest, thus Coffee Bean became my saviour for Black Forest.

Ordered a small Black Forest ($6.50) and a slice of Tiramisu ($6.00) to accompany me for the afternoon while cracking my brain on assignment.

The reason for loving their Black Forest is because other than in blended form, it has a little sweet taste even if it tastes nothing special like any ice-blended coffee. And there is a cherry in it to end with. Perfectly sweet. It seems to give you the feeling of having a slice of black forest cake in blended form. But one minus point is a little watery.

It might be the first time I had a slice of Tiramisu on my own and I'm loving it. It is soft and makes me wanna finish it at one go because every mouthful that melts in mouth is full of the cocoa flavoured cake. It is really a pick-me up dessert on a hot sunny Friday. Once awhile, is nice to have the perfect combination I have gotten myself.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0