OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2197 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Pasta  OK Aug 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

This is my first time patronising Marmalade Pantry after hearing much reviews about their food and was quite looking forward to it.

Was given 2 menus, one for main course and one for drinks and desserts. After going through, I settled for Seared Scallop Linguini ($24) and Mango Lassi (Smoothies - $9).

When it was first presented to me, kind of turn off because maybe the sauce colour. There are scallops and prawns which both are nice and fresh. They used tiger prawns. The pasta was al dente, firm but not hard. That is commendable. But I kind of dislike the sauce that is used for cooking. Apart from garlic, I see that they used tiny dry shrimps which really amazed me. It actually makes the taste a little weird. I conclude that I don't like anything that is bisque. But I manage to finish them all so as not to waste.

For the Mango Lassi, I think the yoghurt has overwhelmed the mango taste. The taste is sour. There is no sweetness coming from the mango. Or probably problem lies with the mango itself, the ripeness.

The service is something that I like. Food was served not long after ordering. And the server actually asked if I want to take away my unfinished drink. Yes I love that because minimising food waste. Will come back again for others in near future.

 
Seared Scallop Linguini $24

Seared Scallop Linguini $24

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

After a good run in the evening, you will always look forward to a good and appetizing meal to reward yourself. And thank god, I was introduced to this stall by my running friends and for the first time, I can fall in love with food instantly.

This stall has quite a lot of patrons and when I was there, there is quite a lot of people queuing. This means some nice food are awaiting for us. Ordered a $5 Fishball Mee Pok Dry. You can choose from $3 - $5. When it is served up, the fried onion aroma is alluring.

First of all is the soup. It has 8 fishballs and about 3 fish dumplings. This is considered a lot. The soup is tasty. And one thing commendable is that their fishballs are hand-made and so is fresh. You can see it from the shape which is uneven and not really round. It is not salty and from there, you get the real fish taste. That shows how much the stall owner cares about the quality of their fishballs.

The noodles given is quite a big portion and I had like a little too much. I think the portion can be shared by 2 persons. It is not over-cooked and the texture is just right. The spiciness of the sauce which has chilli in it was just right and not too overwhelming. From the photo it might seems to be very spicy because of the redness but it is not. So suitable for non-spice taker.

I think this is the nicest fishball mee pok I ever had and truly an authentic fishball noodles. The taste has made me wanna head back again.
Mee Pok Dry

Mee Pok Dry

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tapas OK Aug 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

This is my first time having tapas and I come across lots of photos of tapas but don't really know the exact taste of it. So today for lunch, I had tapas or maybe bruschetta at Spinelli at my convenience since I'm on course at the same building.

Chose one that tops with sautéed mushroom, eggs and parsley ($2 for $5.40) and a small cup of hot chocolate ($3.60).

The toast used is not very crispy and having a bit of hard time cutting it and even tearing it. Maybe because put on the display counter for awhile as food are pre-made so they basically just warm it up for customers. But I love the mushroom. The toppings are actually overflowing. The taste stays in your mouth for awhile. Love it. Shall try more of that but quite looking forward to those of canapés because of their bite size.

As for their hot chocolate, I feel it still loses out to those at Starbucks. Probably I don't like too much of foam.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

All about Kuehs OK Aug 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

To me, kuehs are suitable for consumption at any time of the day but most preferably, tea-time. I bought a box of ten (10) at $6.50 which I got the sales staff to mix for me after choosing four (4) different flavours. There are two types of lapis and I was told that one of them uses more coconut milk. Considering that my dad is still coughing away, I got the one with less coconut milk which I think is nonya lapis.

The sizes of the kuehs are big and comes in lots of colour combination. Also after calculating, $0.65 per piece is more worth than those at Bengawan Solo which basically are quite small compared to this and expensive too. The taste is just like normal kuehs you can find anywhere. Sweet and sticky, and I enjoy tearing by layers of the 9-layer kueh. A childhood snack that I will never forget and still enjoying it until now. However, I advise that you buy in lesser quantity to enjoy the freshness. I bought too many and when I fridge them, it turns a little hard and you know what is next if it is left in the fridge for more days.

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Claypot Dinner Smile Aug 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Zi Char

This restaurant is still open for business and have been wanting to try out their food. What attracts me is their interior which is so nostalgia on first look. The most interesting will be their menu as it comes in a form of newspaper. I think basically think is quite creative. The whole concept of their restaurant seems like bringing you back to the 50s to 70s of Singapore with those big advertisement boards, old posters and so on.

There is no service charge here at Potluck, which means you pay at the cashier first to get your one-time utensils, then get your drinks, rice and condiments then sit back and wait for your main course to be served. It is a free flow of drinks and rice but you have to pay for $1.50 per pax for rice and $2.80 per pax for drinks. This is a little pricey and if you are calculative like me, it is actually not free flow anymore. I don't like this idea. To me, their service charge has been somehow priced through this free flow thing. I doubt anyone will be having more than 3 bowls of rice and the selection of their drinks are so limited to sugarcane, calamansi, coffee and water.

Aside from the negative facts, their food are commendable. They are served in claypot and there is this thing that is meant to hold the claypot rather than those which you see at food courts or food centres where they used those conventional straw kind of holder for claypot.

Sesame Oil Chicken - Recommended ($7.90)

Even before you tuck in, the smell is so alluring when it is served. I must say that the chicken has been properly braised with the absorption of the sauce. The texture is soft and tender that the meat can be tear apart easily. And somehow with every bite, the sauce will burst out from it. I just can't stop eating because it is so appetizing with the sauce drizzled on the rice. One mouthful after another, the whole pot is finished up to the bottom.

Sambal Sotong & Black Pepper Sotong ($9.90)

Due to my blurness, I ordered two sotong dishes of different flavours. Supposed to get Sambal prawns. But nevertheless, it is hot! The spicy level of sambal sotong is just right. It is actually the one that opens up my appetite for the night. I can't say that the black pepper one is not spicy enough but the spiciness actually comes from the pepper used. So is kind of different. The sotong (both sambal and black pepper) are tender and chewy. By the way, I'm a sotong lover. I cannot resist the temptation of sotong, be it fried, grilled and so on. It is a night of sotong intoxication.

There are lots more variety of claypots and we have already picked our choice and Sesame Oil Chicken is like a must to eat even for our next visit. Just a suggestion. I probably think that this is a place which you can actually bring your folks for meals because is all about claypot and not those fanciful stuff which they might not know how to eat. And because of the design, they might be able to tell you more stories about the old Singapore they have seen.

 

 

 
Meant to hold the claypot

Meant to hold the claypot

 

 

 
Menu

Menu

 

 
Black Pepper Sotong - Recommended

Black Pepper Sotong - Recommended

 
Sesame Oil Chicken

Sesame Oil Chicken

 
Sambal Sotong

Sambal Sotong

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sesame Oil Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0