OpenRice Index
  
iamstellachen
This is iamstellachen living in Yishun. I work in Buona Vista. I also love Ramen, Sushi/Sashimi, Chinese Noodles.
Member 44 First(s)
No. of Review176 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2196 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos518 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲160 Follower(s)
iamstellachen  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 176 Reviews in Singapore
Chicken Meal OK Aug 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fast Food | Halal | Korean Fried Chicken

I was intrigued by the reviews, be it good or bad ones but it never stops me to go and taste it personally at Nene Chicken since is 2 stops away from my workplace.

As I'm not in the mood for spicy stuff, I ordered a Snowing Cheese Meal that comes with fries, a drink, radish and of course the chicken. At the price of $9.90, I find it a little way too expensive than fastfood restaurant like KFC.

As the seating capacity is limited, I asked for a takeaway initially but as I waited for my order, there are seats available as customers went off after finishing. So I decided to dine in. They use the paging device for orders which is good as you don't have to crowd around at their counter when the place is already so small. Got my food and settled down to tuck in.

The fries is simply the curly fries that we used to have at A&W. Exactly the taste. The looks of it tell the whole story but just that it is not in the ring curly form but look just like any other fries in strip form. I like it very much.

And as for the chicken, even before having it, the smell to me is a little nauseous. I mean I have this love-hate affair with cheese. But after eating it, you would smell it. The meat is tender, chewy plus way bits of juicy. Not very dry. The outside is crispy, minus the coated cheese stuff on it.

I can't be that judgmental so I shall give it another try for their spicy choice the next round, having to see that it is kind of 'dirty' job as you have to wear the gloves provided. Quite interesting to me.

 
Paging device at Nene Chicken

Paging device at Nene Chicken

 
Takeaway

Takeaway

 
Snowing Cheese Meal $9.90

Snowing Cheese Meal $9.90

 
Snowing Cheese Chicken

Snowing Cheese Chicken

 
Close-up

Close-up

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fries War OK Aug 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western

I conclude that I have this fetish for fries and I think I have unknowingly went hopping around to have french fries whenever I'm out for meals or just a snack bites. I believe that most of the different types of fries had been tasted by me. I have even google on different types of fries in this world. And here at Megabites, I had what they call the steak fries.

My tips are having it while it is hot and don't wait till it gets cold and soggy because you can't taste the crispiness. And never dip into sauces first. Have it at its original first because deciding if you need any sauce.

The fries here has nothing to be excited about. Very norm but most importantly and surprisingly, it is not oily. And if you love cheese fries, top up a dollar for the cheese. The cheese is good but not too much. You will get a little sick of it later on.

So is not a must-try here but if you want finger food, this can be your choice.

Cheesy Fries - $2.50

Cheesy Fries - $2.50

 
French Fries - $1.50

French Fries - $1.50

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chinese Dinner Smile Aug 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing

 


Dian Xiao Er has been my favourite restaurant since years back when I first explored here with my boyfriend. After which, I brought my family, my uncles and aunties, and even my friends to other outlets of Dian Xiao Er to enjoy their awesome food during birthdays. Since then, Dian Xiao Er has never failed me on their food and service and I'm very impressed even up till now.

 


Since we have patronized countless times here, a list of must-order items are always in mind already even though at some times, we will try on new ones in their menu. The must-order items are Ten Wonder Duck, Golden Tofu and Prawn Ball with Mayo, which is also recommended by myself to all.

Ten Wonder Duck - $13.60

Ten Wonder Duck - $13.60

 

Ten Wonder Duck - Recommended

They actually have other ducks that is prepared with different ingredients or maybe different methods of cooking but we got hooked with Ten Wonder Duck since the first time when their service staff recommended to us. First the duck meat is tender and a little chewy. And you must really have the sauce underneath to drizzle on your bowl of rice. It is awesome. This way really enhance your appetite. The sauce is not very salty but the herbal taste is just right. Not too strong which sometimes you will resist it. Also dip the duck meat with the sauce too. With every bite, you can feel the sauce bursting from the meat. That shows the meat absorb the sauce real fast. For healthy eating, maybe you can don't take the duck skin. I find it a little fatty but you can have it as a whole if you can find a thinner piece of duck skin.

Golden Tofu - $7.90

Golden Tofu - $7.90

 

Golden Tofu - Recommended

Why do I love this is because of the crispy skin on the outside and the tasty fillings on the inside. You may think it is just a normal fried tofu that is bland but this isn't at all. I can taste a mix of fish and tofu in it. I guess that's what makes it so nice, tasty and soft. But the sauce on that day is quite salty. And I guess is because of ingredients price up, the broccoli were given lesser than before. But nevertheless, it doesn't stop me from having it. The taste has win my heart.


Prawn Ball w Mayo - $17.30

Prawn Ball w Mayo - $17.30

 

Prawn Ball with Mayo - Recommended

Because of my love for prawns and especially fried ones, so that is the reason I recommended this even if there are other choices of prawns available. The prawn balls are so crispy and the prawns are fresh too. I must say that I have a thing for prawns and whether fresh or not, they can't escape my expert taste bud. But I do hope that the mayo can be lesser or maybe put it in a sauce plate and if the customers want to dip with it, they can do so or vice versa. Actually I do want to taste the prawn balls without the mayo. I can confirm it will be very nice. Anyway, it depends on individual preference. After all, both versions are okay for me.

Baby Kai Lan - $9.60

Baby Kai Lan - $9.60

 

Baby Kai Lan

I have got not much to comment for this because we want to balance up our meal with a plate of vegetables. But one thing is that the vegetables are confirmed fresh as it is crunchy with a twist of lime to enhance the taste slightly.

Not forgetting, they have Healthier Choice logo on some dishes so keep a lookout if you wanna have a healthy meal. I think some dishes in Tofu and Vegetable category have the logo. That is very obvious for all of us under the Food Pyramid. Order a bowl of rice or try their fried rice menu which is delicious too. I tried that before.

Do try it and also bring any friends that is visiting Singapore to Dian Xiao Er too.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ten Wonder Duck,Golden Tofu,Prawn Ball with Mayo
 
Date of Visit: Aug 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Donuts Indulgence Smile Aug 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bakery

It has been awhile since I had Dunkin' Donuts. I remember the last time was at the airport before flying off for holiday. Now it is just so near my place, I can have it at my convenience, anytime.

Dunkin' Donuts is another US brand that has many outlets all over the world. Not only for their colourful and delicious donuts, you can also enjoy together with hot piping coffees and other beverages available, and not forgetting sandwiches. From what I see here, mostly are donuts, nice and colourful ones.

I bought a mix of 6 mini donuts or they call it Munchkins. So colourful indeed. I had one with oreo crumps on top, chocolate flakes and pink flakes which I suppose is strawberry flavour. The outside of the Munchkins are kind of rough but the texture is soft with way little chewy feeling.

As for the normal size donuts (Cinnamon and Glazed Mochi), the texture is soft and the outside is smooth. Why is there such a difference between a normal and mini donuts? And of course I love both because it is so chewy. The Glazed Mochi has its sweetness and for Cinnamon, the smell and taste is just right.

Look forward for more varieties soon.
Cinnamon and Glazed Mochi

Cinnamon and Glazed Mochi

 
Munchkins

Munchkins

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mini Croissant Smile Aug 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

At Four Leaves, you have a great variety of cakes and confectioneries to choose from and you can never run out of choices from classic and novelty cakes to buns, breads and brownies. And they have mini ones that add on to our choices. Beverages are available for purchase in their store if you like one.

I happen to pass-by Four Leaves and bought a box of 6 mini croissants-look-alike back home. What comes to our mind about croissants is buttery smell and crispy on the outside. Quite a messy thing when having a croissant, especially for me. Too crispy that the crispy flakes just fall off. But here the taste and texture is different and totally change my mind about croissant. A soft versus crispy croissant.

It has the soft touch on the texture especially. On first bite, the custard flavour one tastes a little plain but shortly, the buttery and custard taste came slightly and if you did not realise it, you miss the taste and judge it as just plain bread. And as for the chocolate flavour one, the taste is much obvious but not very strong.

Overall, this is a good try and I will buy again for breakfast or tea time.

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0