OpenRice Index
  
nefta
This is nefta living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Student, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Orchard. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Zi Char, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity543 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos13 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲17 Follower(s)
nefta  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Average lunch at Spruce Cry Mar 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

Went to Spruce for lunch today and we ordered a Tuna Burger and Tagliatelle (pork bolognese sauce).

The environment was pretty, the al fresco dining is much better than the indoors (maybe it was too chilly inside). The service was prompt and staff were friendly. But thats all it has to it, the food was not so impressive as the decor and staff.

Surprising that we could request for the Tuna Burger (Tuna patty) to be cooked medium, rare or well done! Not sure how this is going to affect the taste a lot, but I guess we can choose how juicy we want it to be!

In the end, the Tuna Burger was so-so and the fries were nicer. But too little fries! Didn't feel that it was worth S$20.

The Tagliatelle failed to impress either. The sauce was too salty (like way too salty, had to drink a few cups of water), although it was a generous serving of minced pork.

The pasta 'noodles' were nicer, but a little too hard. It was not cooked al dente (i.e. QQ texture, springy cooked but still retains some hardness in it - wiki says cooked to the bite).

Not a lot of restaurants serve pasta al dente, so all is forgiven.

Would recommend everyone NOT to get the Tagliatelle because it does not offer much on taste.

I visited Spruce at Tanglin and Bukit Timah, both did not impress me a lot and I do not think I will be visiting Spruce any time soon.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bangkok Jam Cry Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

 
Tried PS Bangkok Jam because everywhere else had long queue. Ordered the Green Curry and Rice set.

It tasted mediocre, despite I had a craving for green curry that day. The serving was extremely small, getting full on 1 dish is impossible here.

One saving grace is that the green curry was concentrated, so its pretty yummy. However, I do not think I will be returning here at all due to the relatively hefty price tag due to the small portions given.

The restaurant was very very squeezy and I was seated right next to the escalator. Not the best decor for me.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Horrible Eggs Benedict Cry Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café

 

 
Went for a weekend brunch and I was disappointed in the quality of the eggs. The eggs were not poached and were VERY overdone. I told their waiter about it and he came back with 1 decent poached egg.
The kitchen had ran out of avocado and offered slightly more smoked salmon slices, which tasted mediocre as it had a slight fishy taste.
In comparison to local brunch shops such as Hatched and Riders Cafe, I think Jones the Grocer fares very badly in view of the (heavy) price and poor quality.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Nana's Green Tea OK Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

Tried their signature Matcha Latte with Kuromitsu - very very tasty! I especially liked the combination of matcha, soft serve ice cream and kuromitsu.

Their dishes were not very spectacular and perhaps not worth the money. I one of their hot soup udon and found it so-so.

In terms of getting the staff to serve you, you might be neglected during non-peak hours while seated along the benches as somehow the decor ends up blocking your sight.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Matcha Latte with Kuromitsu
 
Date of Visit: Feb 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

 
Ordered the French Toast Brioche, served with a dollop of Vanilla ice cream, generous serving of caramel, bananas and strawberries.
To start, I wouldn't recommend this dish as lunch as it is VERY sweet (unless that is what you are looking for).
For one person, this dish is impossible to finish. The caramel is very very sweet and makes finishing the bread-soaked caramel impossible to eat.
This is probably good for tea for 2 - 3 persons. For the price tag on 1 person, this dish is not worth it.

Most brunch items on Dean & DeLuca suits sharing between light eaters.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0