OpenRice Index
  
nefta
This is nefta living in Bukit Panjang. I am a Student, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Orchard. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Zi Char, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity543 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos13 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲17 Follower(s)
nefta  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Food for Thought, Botanic Gardens Smile Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

 

 

 
This place is a must-go if you are looking for reasonably priced food around the Botanic Garden or Tanglin area.

I went 2 occasions, once in the evening and late morning. Both occasions I spent around 20+ dollars.

The decor is very very spacious and I truly enjoyed myself there.

Onto the food reviews:
1. Dinner - Pesto Chicken Linguine
I quite liked the combination of pesto and linguine. However, it was a little salty for my taste!

2. Red Velvet Cake
Its a passable rendition of the cake, however FFT's version was not as moist as I hoped it could be.

3. Brunch - Pancakes served with Gula Melaka
This is perhaps the best I have tasted in FFT. Their pancakes are flat and thin - very unlike the American style pancakes. However, we ordered the chocolate pancake, they served with generous amounts of chocolate chips and sauce. When coupled with the gula melaka syrup, the pancake was heavenly!
Recommended dish!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pancake with Gula Melaka syrup
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Kko Kko Na Ra Smile Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Korean Fried Chicken

I have visited this place 2 times before and I haven't gotten sick of it.

If you are looking for Korean fried chicken, this is a possible place to go (other than Woori Nara). Eating lunch time sets here are much cheaper than dinner sets, for the same amount of chicken.

They have 3 flavors of chicken, but I like the original flavor the best. On top of buying the chicken platter, you can add on rice or rice and soup. This comes with a set of Korean side dishes, which are quite tasty on its own as well.

Each table comes with a free-flow of tissues and a bin to discard bones and tissue paper - very very convenient. The shop also has free flow of water.

My only gripe is that the place is a little dim, but I guess it is supposed to be a lunch-dinner-bar all mashed into one. This restaurant can operate till quite late.

 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Plain Vanilla Bakery Smile Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

 
This bakery has been underappreciated - the cupcakes are done to perfection! I love their Red Velvet cupcake as the cupcake is moist and soft, cream cheese frosting is not too sweet or sour-ish. They have other general cataloge flavours, such as chocolate, hazelnut and coffee. On different occasions, the bakery cooks up limited edition flavours, which makes the shop much more interesting than selling the same usual flavours (i.e. Twelve Cupcakes).

They sell cupcakes in sets of 2, 4 or 6. Personally, I think each cupcake is pricey. But if it is for the occasional pampering, I think this is quite worth it.

The entrance to shop is VERY small, but when you enter the shop (its just a shop front with no seating available), you can smell the fresh baking goodness right at the doorstep. The decor is very old-school as well!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Red Velvet
 
Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 

 
Tried their B's burger - beef was very soft and juicy, but overall it tasted average! It was quite surprising. However the real difference was their Truffle Oil Fries, which I felt was much better.

Their dessert "Berry" was extremely delicious, it is made of layers of vanilla ice cream and berries (strawberries mainly) and cornflakes. The end product was very addictive and full of flavour and texture.

Would recommend all to try their dessert "Berry" at least once.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  "Berry"
 
Date of Visit: Jan 26, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Hatched at Holland Village Smile Mar 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Brunch

 
As recommended by Lady Iron Chef, Hatched's berry pancakes are truly delicious. The pancakes were light and fluffy, sprinkled with icing sugar on top. The pancakes were served with lightly mashed berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries) which were done very well and not too sour. Unlike some places, the pancakes came with a "free-flow" of maple syrup so that anyone can enjoy their pancakes however they like. For the price, I think it was a pretty good meal at Hatched!

With regards to the egg menu, I found Burly Benedict NOT worth the money as they served with VERY SALTY corndog (like those canned ones you can find in supermarkets). The salmon alternative was much better, where the salmon didnt smell too fishy. The poached eggs were done very well. What I truly enjoyed was the English muffin served in both dishes.

I recommend anyone to try their salmon egg benedict and their pancakes.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salmon egg benedict,Pancakes
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0