OpenRice Index
  
jiaksimipng
This is jiaksimipng .
Member 120 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目37 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2658 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1048 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant131 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲272 Follower(s)
jiaksimipng  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

 
New to the Singapore food scene is Tai Parfait, which also opened in the revamped basement of Bugis Junction. A Japanese concept, it combines the iconic Taiyaki (fish-shaped pancake) with different sort of fillings. Other items sold here includes the usual Taiyaki, as well as Frappucino and Milkshakes.

 
Their Taiyaki comes in four flavours; Azuki, Matcha, Custard Cream and Chocolate. There are also a number of fillings to choose from, from soft serve, fruits and cream flavours. I picked the Banana Caramel flavour with Custard Cream filling ($4.20). Fillings are being stuffed in the mouth of an open-mouthed fish, which can seem cute to some. The fresh bananas are just of the right ripeness; not overly soft and mushy but has no traces of being too ripe, and the minimal amount of caramel adds a wee bit of sweetness that does not cover off the rest of its ingredients. Pancake was served hot; a sticky batter that gives a chew yet soft as well and was filled with Custard Cream at the top and the tail; smooth and enough sweetness to taste, but not to overwhelm.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/tai-parfait-bugis-junction/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  e Banana Caramel flavour with Custard Cream filling
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Big portions, confusing tastes Cry Jul 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta

 
Fish Tales takes up a simple shop space as its counter and kitchen, while its seats gets scattered across beside the shopping aisles. Being a fish specialty store, the menu is based on seafood, dividing into Fishhh, Burger, Pasta and sides. For beverages, apart from the usual canned drinks they also serve Italian Sodas, Teas and Coffee.

 
For a side, we went with Calamari ($4.50), which was crispy and well-seasoned though it tasted quite similar to the seasoning used in Calbee Prawn Sticks. There was a choice of dips; Chili, Tartar or Cheese, which we went for the latter. It was rather disappointing though; despite its thickness it was too weak in flavour and did not really had any cheesy factor in it.

 
Since Fish & Chips was the specialty of Fish Tales, I thought it would be good if we went for the Fiery Fish ($9.90). The portion was really generous; a huge slab of fish sitting atop a bed of chips, with the spicy sauce accompanying it by the side. It’s size came quite a bit of an unfortunate thing for us; the fish itself was pretty overcooked as it became rather stiff, and it was marinated in a strange sour sauce which we thought came rather unnecessary as it gave the fish a rather quirky flavour. The spicy sauce was not too spectacular either; it came tasting a wee bit like Chili Beef but seemed a tad weak with a moderate amount of sweetness which seemed pretty odd. Chips were pretty good; crispy skin-on potatoes that were fluffy but came with just a little too much salt. We reckoned that there was so many flavours going in there it became a really confused dish that was mentally draining to have, trying to decipher what was going on in each condiment and was too heavy-tasting that we were having problems just trying to finish it.

 
Glad to say that the Popcorn Fish Pasta ($9.90) was way better; coming with Aglio Olio pasta, the Angel Hair pasta was well tossed in olive oil, capsicums and other herbs and spices that made it simply flavourful and fragrant; though albeit on the greasy side. The Popcorn Fish bites were also fine, though was nothing much to shout about.

 
One of the reasons I wanted to come here so badly was also because of the Instagram photos I had seen about their coffee. Despite being a bistro-style eatery, Fish Tales do serve artisan coffee that comes complete with latte art; a major bonus. Apart from the milkiness however, we could detect a nice chocolate finish to the Latte ($4.50) that we had.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/fish-tales-scape/

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Latte,Popcorn Fish Pasta
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffeeshop-turned-Cafe! Smile Jul 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

The recent trend of using old shop areas significant to a historic estate seems to be on a high with cafes lately. Sin Lee used to be a coffeeshop that seemed to be around as long as the estate itself, and also used to house a rather famous Prawn Noodle stall with it. The coffeeshop was recently sold off, with the noodle stall having no heir to transfer the business to. Recently converted into a cafe, much of the original fittings are no longer around, much of it converted to a rather hipster setup less the signage being retained.

 
The menu generally revolves around western fare, serving dishes much akin to all-day brunch and desserts. Beverages such as coffee, tea and sodas are available, with the coffee blend being Papa Pahelta’s Throwback blend

 
Big B ($18.90) is the big breakfast item at Sin Lee Foods. Coming with bacon, sauteed mushrooms, toast, tomato relish, roasted potatoes, sausage, eggs and salad, this was essentially the package fit for brunch. We loved the crustiness of the toast, crispiness of the skin of the potatoes, creaminess of the cream sauce used for the sauteed mushrooms, crispiness of the bacon fried dry without much oiliness and the runny scrambled eggs, but the real deal for me was the salad. They came in a tangy dressing with shavings of parmesan over the top; a slight combination of sour and saltiness that made it so delectable.

 
Recently after many attempts of trying waffles at new cafes, I hesitated before I decided to order this one as I originally wanted something different. Eventually, we still ordered the Iron Grill Waffles of the Day ($14.90), which comes with fresh fruits and a scoop of Vanilla ice-cream. First bite through came with the “oomph” factor; crispy exterior with a moist interior that really melted in the mouth. Then the next bite comes filled with the fragrance of Buttermilk; and it was really rich and evident throughout. Even the fresh fruits were impressive; they were missing of the usual sourness and were really really sweet especially the mango chunks. The scoop of Vanilla ice-cream was also decently rich, but the texture was a tad rough though still somewhat acceptable.

 
Flat White ($4.50) as mentioned uses Papa Pahelta’s Throwback blend. It’s chocolatey and nutty tones were light, which makes it a relaxing cuppa to soothe the senses.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/sin-lee-foods-jalan-bukit-ho-swee/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Flat White,Big B,Iron Grill Waffle of the Day
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $22(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

 
Unlike the cramped Balmoral Plaza outlet, Oblong's Maju Avenue outlet takes up a shophouse space which means more space for comfort. Besides the usual ice-cream and various waffles they offer, the outlet at Maju Avenue also serves up coffee which are made from blends from Papa Pahelta.

 
Amongst the Buttermilk, Red Velvet and Bamboo Charcoal Waffles, we decided to go for the Red Velvet ($4.70) which is widely raved on Instagram. We also added a scoop of Earl Grey Lavender ice-cream ($3.30), and our choice of drizzle was maple syrup. To replicate Red Velvet Cake, the waffles came with a layer of cream cheese in between apart from its maroon appearance. The waffles were crispy with its eggy, fragrant batter much like any usual waffle, but the cream cheese did add a light flavour that made it feel different from what we are familiar with. Aromatic and refreshing, the Earl Grey Lavender ice-cream was not too milky in order to bring out the fragrant tea flavours, while the maple syrup just adds another dimension of sweetness to the waffle.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/oblong-maju-avenue/

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Red Velvet Waffles with Earl Grey Ice-Cream
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $8(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great food and great vibes! Smile Jul 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
The Lokal is a new cafe situated at Neil Road beside Goethe Institure, which is also affiliated to Telok Ayer cafe, Sarnies. It's menu offers pretty much western grub; featuring burgers and sandwiches, salads and soup with some bakes as well as plated desserts. One of the interesting things The Lokal does is that the chefs here cure their meat, smoke their fish and does the yoghurt from scratch; so expect really fresh, homemade ingredients being served in the dishes here.

 
One of our dining partners were severely late so we decided to share the Roast Chicken Panini ($14.00+) while waiting for him to arrive. Coming in Crispy Pancetta, Tomatoes, Avocado, Cos, Aioli and Bacon, it was served slightly near cold, as though it was meant to be a cold dish. The tomatoes were insanely fresh; sweet with a tangy flavour, matched well with smooth avocado puree that is used in place of butter and bacon which provided a touch of savouriness, while the chicken was tender and lightly roasted for some flavour. Even the bread was impressive; it has some sort of elasticity that gave it a real nice chew. It was easily one of the most memorable chicken sandwiches that I had.

 
When the second dining partner came, we went for the Roast Beef on Rye ($15.90+). If the Roast Chicken Panini was impressive, the Roast Beef on Rye was beyond words; crispy bread coupled with tender and succulent beef that did not taste gamey in any way with a balanced portion of vegetables to beef, it was so well proportioned that it did not feel tiring and we were left craving for more. Did I also mention that the caramalised onions were also really sweet?

 
Our original decision was to get a side but we ended up undecided on which dessert to get instead as we were attracted to both the Sticky Date Pudding and Apple Pineapple Crumble Pie with Ice-Cream ($9.00+). Eventually, we went for the latter; a really sweet-yet-sour combination that was generous on chunks of both fruits and came with a real crunchy crumble and a vanilla ice-cream that was rich in its aroma. One of the dining partners found it too sweet for his liking, but the two of us thought that it was that that made the dessert so good.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/the-lokal-neil-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Apple Pineapple Crumble with Ice-Cream,Roast Beef on Rye,Roast Chicken Panini
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0