OpenRice Index
  
jiaksimipng
This is jiaksimipng .
Member 120 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目37 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2656 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1048 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant131 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲272 Follower(s)
jiaksimipng  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 56 to 60 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Mix & Match Pasta! Smile Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Hawker Centre | Stall / Kiosk | Pasta

Savis Food is a new western stall that had been operating for about a month at Golden Mile Food Centre. One of the specialties here would be the customized pastas, where one can choose between two noodle types and a variety of sauces and other condiments to make the pasta their own. Apart from that, they also do sell Grilled Chicken Chop and other sides as well.

 
Despite the mix-and-match pasta being the focus here, I noticed a number of patrons giving their Grilled Chicken Chop ($6.80) a try too, which I eventually decided to do the same. The Grilled Chicken Chop comes with two fixed sides; sautéed vegetables and truffle fries. For a hawker centre stall, the Grilled Chicken surpassed my expectations in all aspects; not only was it tender and crisp in the skin, the Rosemary seasoning was strong and easily detected as its aroma went through the juicy slab of chicken. Sautéed vegetables was also interesting as the vegetables were crunchy and had strong hints of garlic for flavour. Truffle Fries were disappointing however; we would say that the fries are good if they are normal fries as they were thick, crispy and fluffy. It just had no truffle aroma; not even a whiff, which was pretty strange.

 
For more photod and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/savis-food-golden-mile-food-centre/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Chops
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Specialising in pancakes, Little Pancakes is also one of the only few pancake specialty stores in Singapore to serve dollar pancakes (also known as small pancakes). Its menu ranges from the sweet, the savoury and Asian fusion flavours.

 
I got myself the Mr Bean turns Red ($8.50); pretty cute a name for a pancake. It is an Asian flavour that mixes Japanese tastes into the dollar pancakes by serving Green Tea ice-cream and Azuki beans at the side. The Dollar Pancakes were pretty impressive; thick it might seem but surprisingly light, fluffy and served warm; its just uplifting to have. The Azuki beans were sufficiently sweet, and the Green Tea ice-cream though melted a bit too quickly was thick and rich; packed with bitter Matcha goodness. Combine all of them together and all you get is a harmonious blend of sweetness, bitterness and the fragrance of the batter of freshly-made pancakes; pretty comforting.

 
To think that I had no idea why my dining partner settled on the Simple & Sweet ($6.50) which seemed a tad boring to me that day, but what can be more pleasing to have with your pancakes than butter and maple syrup? Its a classic option that’s not only safe, but works any time, every time.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/little-pancakes-upper-thomson-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mr Bean Turns Red,Simple & Sweet
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $9(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mediocre at best OK Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Halal | Zi Char

Part of the P2E Group, Segar Restaurant which is known for similar tzechar concepts such as West Co’z Cafe and A-Poh Kitchen. Menu revolves around tzechar favourites, and a small selection of desserts as well.

 
First to arrive the table was Sambal Kang Kong. Mediocre at best, the only problem we had with it was the initial saltiness of the dish, but dig in more and the spiciness will eventually start to sink in.

 
Fu Yong Omelette came with crisp edges and a fluffy interior. What left us slightly confused was the runny consistent in the centre; was it left that way deliberately or not cooked through? Apart from that, we also found that they were pretty miserable with the condiments inside as well.

 
Sweet and Sour Fish Slices were also a wee bit miserable in portion. While the sweet and sour sauce was mediocre at best, its worth noting that the fish was fresh and the fried batter was really crispy despite doused in sauce.

 
We love Salted Egg Yolk Prawns, but the gravy was not thick enough as the flavour seemed to stop short somewhere. Also, the gravy was not really mixed onto the prawns, leaving both ingredients very much on their own. Did not find the wetness of the prawns particularly appealing as well.

 
For a sweet end, we went with the Steamed Tapioca. Served chilled, the softened Tapioca pieces absorbed the thick coconut milk, which made it pretty flavourful and appropriate as the sweet treat to end the meal.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/segar-restaurant-chinatown-point/
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

 
Ice Queen is Spizza’s new neighbour, and although it looks like yet another ice-cream parlour it actually is more than that. Its actually Singapore’s fourth Nitro ice-cream brand, and their menu not only offers various flavours of nitro cream but also an interesting mix of fusion flavours.

 
It seems that Chendol fusions seem to strike a particular note with me lately; I knew I had to get the Chendol ($6.50) after seeing the menu online. For their variant, they used Salted Gula Melaka ice-cream and combined it with pandan jelly, sweet red beans and Atap Chee. This is an innovative though safe combination; the Salted Gula Melaka ice-cream strong with its coconut flavour matching with sweet red beans and pandan jelly and Atap Chee, which I am glad is not forgotten with their iteration of this local favourite. Probably just a suggestion: have the sweet red beans done softer so there’s less chew to blend in with the smooth texture of the ice-cream. Its also worth the note that the nitro cream was not only rich, but creamy and sticky as well, which is pretty near to gelato.

 
We also tried the Mango Sticky Rice ($6.50), and we were really blown away when we went for the first scoop. Thai mango lovers would love how the nitro cream turned out to be; sticky, creamy, rich and tangy sweet. Sitting atop sticky rice drenched in coconut milk, this comes really close to having the real deal. And the wow-factor; fried Mung Beans sprinkled atop the ice-cream gave it a crunchy texture and a taste similar to rice krispies. Very innovative indeed!

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/24/ice-queen-tides/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Sticky Rice,Chendol
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $7(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New cafe up north! Smile Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
Victory8 sees yet another cafe opening again. In the same ground as Mootime and Something Sweet Dessert House, RoyceMary Cafe’s opening would make the cafe scene in the north a lot more vibrant and competitive.

 
Wanting to go for something light, I went with a quiche even though the sandwiches seemed a tad tempting. Out of the two quiches available, the Salmon Asparagus Quiche ($5.50) caught my eye. Prior to serving it, the quiche would be heated up. Mine seemed to take quite some time to get served. It came piping hot however, and I was surprised by how it tasted despite coming off from the display shelf. Not only was it fresh, the flaky pastry fell off neatly and was actually sufficiently buttery without feeling any bit greasy. The fillings were indeed savoury; cheesy enough without being too eggy, maintaining a bit of creaminess within. And nothing can ever go wrong with Smoked Salmon. The accompanying garden salad was similarly satisfying; despite its plain looks it had a zingy dressing which makes the fresh leaves even more refreshing to have.

 
I was actually pretty tempted by the Matcha Lava Cake ($8.90) that was served at To-Gather Cafe, so I was actually pretty glad to have found RoyceMary offering the same thing as well. There was an option to add a ice-cream, but I opted out of it as I was pretty much cashless that day. When served, the gooey puddle of Matcha in the centre was just simply eye-candy. Once it was cut, the lava just flowed endlessly. Matcha lava was not only thick, it was also rich. A dollop of cream also came by the side, and it was ingenious. When the cake got too overwhelming, just have a bit of cream and it just neutralises every flavour in the mouth. Simply fantastic.

 
For a drink, I went with my standard Flat White ($5.50). RoyceMary Cafe’s choice of blend is one that uses 100% Arabica Beans from Ethopia. My cuppa came, smooth and creamy, though the body seemed too light as the coffee was rather milky. Maybe a double shot would help.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/roycemary-cafe-victory8/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salmon Asparagus Quiche,Matcha Lava Cake
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend