OpenRice Index
  
jiaksimipng
This is jiaksimipng .
Member 120 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目37 Editor's Choice
Recommended17 Recommended
Popularity2651 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1048 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant131 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲272 Follower(s)
jiaksimipng  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

 

 

 
Sunday Market takes over the former premises of The Factory, a cafe that used to be known for their fries with artisanal dips and waffles with ice-cream. Unlike its predecessor, Sunday Market takes on a more industrial theme, but still stays relatively clean at it. The menu is also different; taking a more Asian-fusion approach to brunch usuals. Various cakes are also available in the display for an after-meal dessert if you do not fancy the plated desserts they have.

 
We were feeling a bit adventurous, so we decided on getting the Roast Duck with Garlic Hoisin and Crispy Eggs Pancakes ($12.90+). Seemingly a western-asian fusion that involves the concept of Peking Roast Duck, it was an interesting savoury pancake dish. The Roast Duck were infused to the Buttermilk batter of the pancake, creating a somewhat savoury (on the edge of salty) flavour to the fragrant Buttermilk Pancakes. The Crispy Eggs were egg white beaten and fried, creating a crispy and fluffy texture to the dish. The salad presented on the top creates the healthy impression, with it adding a refreshing touch. Garlic Hoisin sauce adds a tinge of savoury-sweet that enhanced the duck’s flavour. The one thing that quite disturbed us about the dish was that we found a bone hiding within the pancake; probably they need to be more careful handling their food.

 
We shared a Thai Dessert ($10.90+) to end off the meal. Described on the menu as “Mango Ice-Cream with Coconut Sago, White Chocolate, Lime Lemon Esquina and Lime Zest”. The mango ice-cream seemed fresh and natural as it had much of the sweetness of the fruit itself without much sugar and dairy added. Chili flakes are added for an interesting hint of spiciness. Mix up the ice-cream with the esquina and it invokes a sweet-sour taste that works well together. Digestive biscuits adds the crunchy touch, while the white chocolate adds the sweet break in between.

 
Sunday Market uses a blend of Robusta and Arabica beans for their coffee. The Flat White ($5.00+) and Long Black ($3.00+) were light-bodied and had a nutty accent.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/sunday-market-lim-tua-tow-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast Duck with Garlic Hoisin and Crispy Eggs,Thai Dessert
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $19(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting Australian concept! Smile Jun 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
The area behind Buona Vista seems to be rather happening for the cafe scene lately, especially with many fanciful concepts opening within walking distance from each other that targets the office workers in the area. Charlyn’s Milk Bar is a two-month old bistro operated by an Australian that shares its space with Palate Sensations Cooking School. The “milk bar” is a term more on the shop itself; a corner space shop that sells food in Australia. The menu items includes main courses, sandwiches, cakes and other bakes as well.

 

 
I was in luck that day when I visited as they were serving a special of Chicken Corden Bleu ($8.00), a favourite dish of mine and we had the last one before they ran out. It came with a choice of sides; potatoes or vegetables which they ran out of the latter as well. The breaded chicken was crispy but a tad dry for the meat, though not really bothersome in any way. They could have been a bit more generous with the amount of cheese however, as only one half that we cut had cheese flowing while the other seemed completely devoid of it. We did appreciate that they had used high quality ham for this dish though. The side of grilled potatoes were wonderful; seasoned with butter and rosemary, it was flavourful, soft but crisp on the exterior.

 
Since it was a milk bar, we decided to try their bakes. Unfortunately, both the recommended Lamington and Tiramisus were not available for the day and we went for the Cinnamon Roll ($3.00). Sticky buns coated with gooey cinnamon on the inside and condensed milk on the outside, the spiced sweetness was not too overwhelming and in fact just nice without that burning sensation to the throat.

 
I asked the cashier if he had any idea on the coffee blend used here, which he had no clue of but assured me that the boss was particular with the beans she use. The Americano ($3.00) was splendid, as it carried a full body that was rather acidic; a signature of Americano. A butter cookie comes at the side, though it was not really much to mention.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/charlyns-milk-bar-biopolis-chromos/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cinnamon Roll
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $14

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet treats, satisfying mains! Smile Jun 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

 
Relatively new to the neighbourhood, Ply Baked Goods hides behind the main Upper Thomson stretch of shophouses, which is a pretty getaway from the crowd being situated within a stretch of automobile workshops. 

 
The main items here are their cakes and tarts, but we were glad to see them serve Quizza (Pizza-styled quiches), Baked Spaghetti and some sides because we missed our lunch. Drinks include tea from 1872 Clipper Tea as well as coffee from Illy.

 
The Ambra ($6.50) is essentially illycrema served with hot chocolate. illycrema is Illy Coffee's latest product; espresso with micro crystals of ice that somewhat resembles Slurpee.  The thick hot chocolate was not too intensively sweet, and the illycrema injects that coffee aroma that makes it similar to Mocha, though the ice slush texture is the novelty of this drink. I could only wish for more!

 
Going on to their bakes, one of my dining partners decided to go for a Lemon Meringue Tart ($5.50). It comes with a layer of chocolate hidden in between the lemon curd and the tart base; all of which a nice tinge of sweetness that helps mediate the tart flavour of the lemon curd with a fluffy and torched meringue layer.

 
My choice was the Earl Grey Tiramisu ($6.50), given my obsession with all things Earl Grey. Tiramisu purists might be disappointed; there ain’t any ladyfinger biscuits nor alcohol, but the white chocolate biscuit pops were an interesting sensation in the mouth, while the vanilla cake went very well with the aromatic Earl Grey flavoured cream. An item truly deserving to its signature status.

 
Hazelnut Dacquoise ($6.50) was a bit of a disappointment though; the thick chocolate layer in between had an overwhelming cocoa sweetness which matched quite fine with the digestive cookie layers but it was just missing on the main point itself; the hazelnut, which was rather non-existent here.

 
Incorporating local flavours into a mousse cake, the Royal Chempedak ($6.50) is a unique flavour we thought we could not miss here. We expected this to be a rather heavy tasting cake as Chempedak is known for its intense sweetness. It blew us away with its lightness eventually; the sweetness was really light with the mousse and the flavour was rather refreshing as the light fruity sweetness was evident within the mousse, removing some of its creaminess. The chunks of Chempedak were also rather light-flavoured, which made it really soothing instead of being sharply sweet.

 
Last to arrive at the table was Spaghetti & Sausage Baked Pasta ($10.00), which we had been told beforehand that it would take 40 minutes to prepare. The reason behind it is because each bowl is being prepared on the spot to preserve its freshness; and it indeed did not disappoint. Portion size was generous; a hungry dining partner who did not ate anything since dinner the previous day had some trouble finishing and we were lucky enough to have more than just a pinch of it. The pasta was cooked al dente, despite having a layer of melted cheese with equally generous amounts of sausage hidden underneath it possibly due to the fact that the tomato-based sauce was tossed dry before being baked to ensure that the pasta did not get soaked in too much sauce. Sweet yet tangy, the sauce makes the pasta addictive to eat despite its huge portions, and while it only had two main ingredients, it was delightful to have without being anywhere tiring even after half a bowl. If you do have the time to sit around and need a main to go along, do give this a try!

For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/ply-baked-goods-soo-chow-walk/

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemon Meringue Tart,Royal Chempedek,Earl Grey Tiramisu,Ambra,Spaghetti & Sausage Baked Pasta
 
Table Wait Time: 40 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $16(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Underwhelming and overhyped OK May 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
Opened to much hype, Carvers & Co is one of the few new eateries to have opened at East Coast Road. Unlike hipster cafes of the late that had been serving brunch items that usually involves eggs, Carvers & Co takes on a different approached by putting roasts on its menu, as well as other mains that are less conventional though some brunch items are still available. The menu is rather creative; all clipped onto a book so you can literally flip it while browsing. Interestingly, Carvers & Co is being run by the former owner of One Man Coffee which is now currently run by a friend of the ex-owner.

 
It had been some time since we had truffle fries, so we were glad to see them serving Communal Truffle Fries ($10.90). While they are all crispy, it seemed that there was a difference between “chips” and “fries” here, with the fries seemingly opened from a freezer pack with truffle oil drizzled over it and served. We could not help but noticed a few over-fried fries in the bowl, and the inconsistency in taste was noticeable as there were some parts which lacked the truffle aroma.

 
Wanting to try a brunch item but not wanting to go for the mainstream Scrambled Eggs, we went for the Farmhouse Frittata ($9.90). It was somewhat like a quiche with cheese and bacon and comes with toast and garden salad on the side. The toasts were crispy and tasted rather spiced, but the garden salad was just uninspiring in its presentation, while the Frittata replicated a thicker Fu Rong Omelette with cheese and bacon inside.

 
Since my dining partner had a brunch item, I went with a main. Stewed Chicken ($18.00) was a dish that involved white wine and dates, and sounded very classy on paper. It was in fact luxurious, with the sauce tasting sweet from the dates and slightly sourish from the white wine; a combination seemingly odd at first but strangely appealing. The chicken was also tender and succulent; the only gripe was its size which seemed a tad small for a guy. The sides were a salad with raw celery and carrot in a certain drizzle; the celery being rather mild tasting so it was not exactly revolting, but still a rather odd combination somehow.

 
While the food were largely disappointing, the Flat White ($4.50) was rather robust with a strong acidity and a earthy tone for the finishing touch. Carvers & Co uses blends from Common Man Coffee Roasters, which assures the quality of its coffee.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/carvers-co-east-coast-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Flat White
 
Table Wait Time: 35 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $24(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ROUSE-d by good food and coffee! Smile May 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Halal | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
Taking over former grounds of an electrical shop, the engraved pillars still stand proudly at the shopfront repainted; something reminiscent of Telok Ayer’s My Awesome Cafe. The interior style is undeniably hipster; peeled walls, large mirrors, bare bulbs and crate tables definitely worked well together.

 
Being a cafe in their soft opening phase, we were glad to find out that they had the full range of brunch items available. They comprise of mostly cafe grub with a unique middle-eastern fusion concept; all of which sounding interesting and daring at the same time. Beverages such as coffee and tea are available, both supplied from the Pasarbella duo; Dutch Colony Coffee and Clipper Tea. Cakes are supplied from Fathis Cakes, a local online baker.

 
We were slightly taken aback by how the Shrooms Shrooms ($11.90) turned out to be, partially because the menu had no categorization of mains and sides. These were mushroom cups with egg white and ricotta cheese filled, topped with cheese and “crumbs”. While it sounded predictable and usual, the fillings created this mushy and foamy texture as well as a neutral flavour to blend into the earthy tasting mushrooms and melted cheese. The “crumbs” were the finishing touch; salty bits made to mimick bacon bits for that extra savouriness.

 
Quinoa Quake ($16.90) was a fusion of a fried Quinoa patty coming together with all-time favourite Eggs Benedict. The couscous-filled patty was well spiced with chili and greens, all fried with a crusty top. Smoked salmon was of reasonable quality, though something we thought was a pity was the poached egg itself, which was a wee bit overcooked with solid white and a not-so-flowy yolk. Nonetheless, it was a great combination with all the ingredients combined, and the garden salad though plain and only had a single variation of green, was well complimented by the Lemon Dill Yoghurt dip by the side which was mildly sour for a refreshing break.

 
As mentioned, ROUSE uses blends from Dutch Colony Coffee for their coffee. The blends they use are uniquely roasted for them, which involves Ethopian and Sumatran beans. This makes for a bright bodied cuppa with a roasty finish that was smokey as demonstrated in the Long Black ($4.00) and Espresso with Milk 8Oz ($5.50); rather unique.

 

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/rouse-dunlop-street/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shroom Shroom,Quinoa Quake,Long Black & Flat White
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend