OpenRice Index
  
jiaksimipng
This is jiaksimipng .
Member 120 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目37 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2658 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1048 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant131 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲272 Follower(s)
jiaksimipng  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Macau-style Pork Chop Buns! Smile Jan 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers and Sandwiches

New to NEX is Tai Lei Loi Kei, replacing the hardware store that sits in between the mall and the bus interchange previously. Originating from Macau since 1968, Tai Lei Loi Kei specialises in its famed Macau-styled Pork Chop Bun. Other items on the menu include Noodles and Rice with both Pork Chop or Chicken Wings, or Breakfast sets. There is also Sawdust Pudding available; the only dessert that is sold here.

 
My dining partner wanted something light, so she went for the Pork Chop Bun ($4.90). The Pork Chop Bun was pretty no-nonsense, coming with just two slices of bread and quite a huge slab of pork chop in between just like how it would have been served in Macau. The Pork Chop was savoury and was not too dry, grilled and well-marinated, though some might find the marination a bit too salty. It tasted pretty similar to Vietnamese Pork Chops, while the buns were quite similar to a crustier and lighter baguette. While the portion seemed fine for one, I am not sure if its exactly filling or because my dining partner was not too hungry, but she eventually did not finish the bun.

 
I ordered the Pork Chop Rice Set ($7.90), which comes with that similar Pork Chop alongside Rice with egg and curry at the side. Rice was pretty fluffy, and the curry at the side was somewhat similar to Japanese Curry but with a more spicier and sweeter note which was pretty flavourful. Pork Chop was very much the same as the one from the Pork Chop Bun, while the egg was well-executed, with yolk oozing out when burst.

 
When I noticed they sold Sawdust Pudding, it got my mind thinking of Hatter’s Street variant. Thankfully the one from Tai Lei Loi Kei came without the “Smoked” part, but it was generally quite a different dessert. Instead of eggy custards, it was replaced with a thick cream that hinted of light sweetness amidst layers of fine biscuit crumbs. While it was not what I actually expected, it was actually pretty delicious and my dining partner loved it as well.

For more photos and the full review, please visit: https://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/tai-lei-loi-kei-%E6%BE%B3%E9%97%A8%E5%A4%A7%E5%88%A9%E6%9D%A5%E8%AE%B0-nex/

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Uninspiring food, nostalgic vibes Cry Dec 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Café

 
With so many new openings in the cafe scenes lately, it is really interesting to see new entrants such as LJJ Cafe stepping into the competition with a old-school concept while trying to serve a hipster crowd. Probably it’s location spurred such a move, since Circuit Road is an aging estate with an elderly population which makes it necessary to attract the crowd. Menu items revolved around old-school favourites; Kaya Toast, Soup Noodles, Mee Siam and even Ice-Cream in Bread are some of the items that would transport one back to the old days. And while cafés serve Flat White and Long Black these days, expect your familiar cup of Kopi O here.

 
One of the more modern items on the breakfast menu would be the Scrambled Eggs set ($4.80 with Kopi/Teh), where there is a choice of either sausages or ham served alongside Butter Toast with scrambled eggs. The scrambled eggs are runny enough, but could do with a bit of seasoning, while the sausages are tender but a wee bit too salty. We appreciated that the bread used for the toast were actual slices of bread, not the biscuit-like ones we usually get from commercial joints now, which is why its still soft and pillowy despite crusted on the surface. A breakfast that could be replicated at home, but it’s pretty comforting somehow.

 
Cream Cake Set ($3.20 with Kopi/Teh) comes with a choice of two cream cakes and a drink; a decent option when it comes to a tea time treat. The Cream Cakes are somewhat small in size; about half of what you usually would get in neighbourhood bakeries. Both flavours suffered the same issues; tasted a tad artificial, usage of fresh cream instead of buttercream hence lacking on nostalgic flavour and felt quite dry especially at the edges.

 
Coffee is acceptable; both the Kopi and Kopi O were thick enough with adequate sweetness.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/12/15/ljj-cafe-%E6%A2%81%E4%BD%B3%E5%90%89-blk-77-circuit-road/

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $8(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

English Crumpets! Smile Nov 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Brunch

Hyde & Co is the latest addition to the ever-growing cafe scene in the Kampong Glam neighbourhood.

 
Crumpets, which they claim are an English-inspired sponge cake and muffin hybrid, are their specialty, so expect Crumpets served in many ways. One can opt for something more brunch-like, such as having them served with butter and maple syrup, or go for a dessert-like approach like the Apple and Cinnamon. There are also a variety of all-day breakfast items available. For beverages, Hyde & Co has a wide array of teas available, though they also serve coffee as well.

 
We went straight for the Lady Hyde ($12.90), which is Hyde & Co’s take on Croque Madame. They have added their own take to it, where they have added ingredients such as Haebee Hiam for a local fusion. Overall, this dish was pretty light; most of the ingredients had flavours played down, such as the cheese, ham, haebeehiam and pineapple bits so its quite refreshing and not overpowering. We love how the zesty pineapples were able to cleanse the palate after it gets a bit tiring; definitely worked well with the other ingredients.

 
Gula Gula ($12.90) is part of the sweet selection. Its a simple dish; Crumpets drizzled in Gula Melaka and sprinkled with dessicated coconut. It seemed to resemble a crossbreed between a pancake and Malay Kueh, though honestly it was seemingly pricey for its portion size.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/hyde-co-north-bridge-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lady Hyde
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $9(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sinpopo is now revamped! Smile Nov 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Awfully Chocolate had recently given Sinpopo Brand a revamp. From the 1950s theme, they had decided to take on a contemporary approach, serving modern-local cuisine. Much of the previous menu is no longer served, and replaced with new items. Certain items such as the Har Jeong Kai Chicken/Burger are existing items in the menu of their other dining concepts (e.g EwF by Everything with Fries). Prices have gone up by quite a fair bit though; familiar items are about twice the old price now.

 
For a side, we decided to get the Ma Ling Luncheon Crisps ($6). Initially we almost ordered another side, since it sounded very much like typical luncheon meat fries. Wrong; they seemed to be crushed and mashed before deep-frying, thus crispy even though it retains the salty flavour of cured meat.

 
My obsession of Kong Bak Pau eventually led to us ordering the Crispy Pork Belly Sandwich ($16). Deep-fried buns with crispy pork belly strips, wasabi mayonnaise and salsa, every bite comes crisp with the fried pork belly slices and golden-brown fried bun, as well as the refreshing crunch of salsa and a tinge of numbness of the wasabi mayo. This also came with a side of Rojak; pretty decent with its savoury-sweet flavours.

 
We were initially intrigued with the Orange Kaya Pisang Creme Brûlée, but ended up with the Chilled Pandan Soufflé ($9) which seemed a tad more exciting. Glad to have ordered it though; according to the menu it was Pandan set in a “cottony soufflé served with almond streusel and sesame dentelle”. In all honesty, the Pandan soufflé had a consistency pretty near to a chewy ice-cream, and tasted very coconut-y. It also went very well with the salted crumbles, which added a crunch. For me, I loved the Pandan Soufflé, but the sesame dentelle caught more of my attention as it tasted really nostalgic, especially with the fragrance of sesame running through, replicating sesame cookies. The almond streusel did not work well for me though; it was a bit bland and did not seem to go with the other items on the plate.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/21/sinpopo-brand-joo-chiat-road-2/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy Pork Belly Sandwich,Chilled Pandan Souffle,Ma Ling Luncheon Crisps
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

OZ ... bigger and better! Smile Nov 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | French | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
A joint operations between Pacamara Coffee Roasters and the now-defunct OZ Specialty Coffee, Pacamara Boutique Coffee Roasters opened to much hype at Upper Thomson Road roughly a week after OZ Specialty Coffee was closed. 

 
There were three items in the Mains menu; a burger, Chicken Schnitzel and a Miso-Glazed Salmon ($22) even though I had always bore the impression that cafes don’t really execute fish well. How wrong was I; not only the salmon was fresh and flaky, it was also well-seasoned with Miso so it had a nice amount of saltiness. I am glad they had included the Salmon skin in the slab; crisp and smokey it was. Sitting atop an Apple and Fennel salad, it was crunchy and refreshing, along with a fruit puree at the side for a punch. Pretty worth its price.

 
There were a variety of all-day breakfast items available; from pancakes to the full works. We opted for a Truffle Benedict ($18), and it was in fact one of the most memorable Benedict that I ever had. Ridding of the garden salad for wilted spinaches seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper was a wise choice; the vegetables seemed part of the Benedict rather than a side as it complimented beautifully with the main star. Poached eggs were perfect; soft and runny, topped off with a creamy and slight tangy Hollandaise Sauce. Add the two slabs of thick, quality ham, this was sheer luxury for breakfast.

 
Coffee goes by sizes here. The 5 Oz White ($5) is the balance if you want something creamy yet not wanting to sacrifice on tasting the fruity and nutty notes in the signature Roadster blend. They also do Steampunk mod coffee here; the only other place that serves is Dutch Colony Coffee at Frankel Avenue.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/pacamara-boutique-coffee-roasters-upper-thomson-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  5 Oz (White),Truffle Benedict
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $27(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0